We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient modern hotel, but probably over-priced.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Calipolis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Calipolis
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
197 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Convenient modern hotel, but probably over-priced.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Nice modern hotel with simple and stylish rooms with a sea view along part of the promenade (rooms on the left have a restricted view). Convenient - only 5 min from the night life of Sitges and many beachfront restaurants. The penalty for the sea view and a balcony is the noise, including the hotel's own bar in the early hours of the morning. Comfortable single beds, efficient air-conditioning and a nice bathroom. No tea or coffee-making facilities, but some room in mini-bar fridge. Bearing in mind the cost it is probably over-priced - you pay a lot for the view. A room on the back may be a better deal, but these do not have a balcony. Free wi-fi, but like so many hotels the signal was weak to non-existent in most of my room - I had to stand next to the door.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiptoptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    324
    136
    35
    20
See reviews for
60
301
43
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here many times but yet to review it
Stayed twice in September in a normal sea view and junior suite
Both large and spacious great bathrooms beds very comfortable
Staff are excellent
Don't normally eat here but was at a buffet reception for Sitges Bears and the food was excellent
We will return

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodmad20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

We have had a wonderful stay in The Calipolis . The staff were very friendly and helpful We had problem with our tv and rang down to respetion within. Couple of mins a member of staff came and sorted it out for us. The staff were so helpful. Friendly and happy cleaning staff who always say hello. The room was very moden with mini bar and tv free wifi and free safe and very very clean We didnt have sea view but the view right across Sitges was stuning looking at the old church. The pool was on the small side but you had the gay beach right on your door step Hotel give you beach towel at €10 deposit . We would def stay here again when we come back to Sitges 10out 10 Chris & Roy

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cj1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
171 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

The Hotel has one of the best positions in town, right on the sea front and close enough for all the action Sitges has to offer.
We stayed in a Junior Suite which had a huge balcony on the corner of the hotel, this was equipped with two sun loungers and a table & two chairs, so ideal for enjoying a drink on the balcony after coming of the beach, but it can be noisy from the traffic turning from off the sea front. The room was large but pretty basic, with a wall mounted TV, two leather chairs, mini bar and a work area, there are plenty of areas to stow suitcases, good blackouts, and we found the air con to be very quiet and efficient, however the king size bed was very firm and not that comfortable, the pillows are also not very soft. The bathroom was large, twin basins, shower over the bath, bidet, bathrobes and slippers, plenty of towels and good toiletries.

As the hotel was built some years ago sound proofing is not the best and you can hear noises from other rooms/ floors, but the corridors are carpeted. The suite benefits from a sort of entrance/ dressing hall with two double wardrobes, so plenty of hanging space, and this does tend to reduce the noise from people coming back late at night. One of the wardrobes also contained the free safe.

There is free wi-fi thoughout the hotel, which is great however just remember to activate it as soon as you check in. Beach towels are provided if you leave a 10 Euro deposit.

Breakfast is served up to 11.00 am and is of good quality, plenty of fresh fruit, cereals, cheeses, ham, yogurts, fruit juices, cava, eggs, freshly fried or scrambled, crispy bacon, sausages, potatoes, tomatoes and peppers and a selection of breads and cakes.

The swimming pool on the terrace is very small but given the hotels location and the great beaches in Sitges this wasn’t really on issue for us.

The hotel does not provide any free changing facilities if you are on a late flight, your only options are to shower by the pool and then go & change in the toilets downstairs or pay 50 Euros for the use a room at the back of the hotel. The hotel was not full and given this is supposed to be a 4 star hotel, I do not feel this is good enough, as I have stayed at many other hotels who provide a free changing facilities for guests who are checking out late in the day.

Some of the staff at the hotel can have a bit of an attitude, perhaps a little more customer service training wouldn't go amiss.

Room Tip: Book a room with a front sea view, rooms on the side of the hotel overlook adjacent hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MidlandsTravelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Located across the street from the beach the hotel is in a great location, however during the summer months it can get very noisy and too noisy to sleep.
Rooms are basic with basically no decor and the hallways are narrow and feel a bit like you are in a hospital.
This is not an escape hotel, it's more a city/party hotel which has a nightclub in the basement. With a good and very busy breakfast again it feels busy and a bit like staying in a city hotel.
Staff are great and the manager is very good. Would I stay here again....not sure is the answer. But then again I prefer escape hotels where I can sleep if I want to!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikingtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at the Calipolis once before and keep coming back as it really is the best place to stay in Sitges. Room and bed are large and comfortable. It is the sea view and terrace, as well as fabulous service and breakfast which make this place stand out. I stayed 4 nights arriving on Thursday of Fiesta Mayor and it was one of the best fireworks shows I've ever seen, with my own private view and terrace on my 5th floor Sea View room. Towel service for the beach is also very handy. I won't hesitate to book Calipolis again for my next trip to Sitges.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnLondon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

The Calipolis is listed as a 4 Star but I'd say it is a 3*+.
Very clean, good location and friendly staff. Good hot shower despite what other reviewers said. Good Air Conditioning. Stayed 2 Adults and 2 kids in a Triple Room. Pricey at €230 a night but it was August, so height of season.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocketdog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 41 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#4 of 41 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 41 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calipolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calipolis

Property: Hotel Calipolis
Address: Avenida Sofia 2-6 | Paseo Martimo s/n, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#4 Business Hotel in Sitges
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#7 Family Hotel in Sitges
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Calipolis 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a stunning part of the Mediterranean, the Calipolis hotel boasts the best location in Sitges, with a full guarantee of quality and service. The Calipolis Hotel offers a total of 170 large, comfortable and well-lit rooms.All of them are equipped with air conditioning, heating, a desk, satellite television, mini bar, free safety deposit box, bathroom with hair dryer and toiletries, and FREE WI-FI. Rooms with a sea view, right on the beachfront, have a large private terrace with views of the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Calipolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calipolis Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing