We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Management Help.....Edgar Labadia”
Review of Hotel Calipolis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Calipolis
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great Management Help.....Edgar Labadia”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I have recently stayed at the Hotel Calipolis and am writing to speak to the excellent attention and administrative effort from the Director de Alojamiento, Edgar Labadia. This fine gentleman was truly thorough and fair with a business matter from my recent stay in Sitges. I would highly recommend the Hotel Calioplis for many reasons and would state that all the guests are better served by the attention to detail and business prowess of Edgar. His attention to the customer needs is beyond reproach.

Thank you for all your help,

James B, Toronto ON

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    339
    137
    36
    21
See reviews for
64
311
43
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Great location and awesome views of ocean and great restaurants only second from hotel. Room is very uncomfortable, bed is like a rock and room is not very clean. Bed cover has stains on it....really gross. This is definitely not a 4-star!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugalex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I just spent a 5-day break in Sitges at the Calipolis, where I've stayed twice before and even gave an excellent review last year. Unfortunately, my stay here this third time will be my last owing to the fact that I splurged for a suite and was given a room that distinctly smelled of sewage (627). The hotel clerks were aware of the problem ("It's because of the rain," they explained). I was shocked that they knowingly put guests in a room with a sewage problem, which wasn't the case in all rooms, including a friend's suite on another floor. I had put up with the smell until I lost patience, at which time they offered me a suite on a lower floor that reeked of smoke! ("Yes, it does" admitted one of the desk attendants who came to show us the room. Third try, we were put in a second floor suite with limited views. No problems here, though with partial beach views, it wasn't what I paid for.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have stayed at this hotel yearly for 10 years now. It has undergone major renovation and extensive modernisation over the years. It occupies the best location in Sitges opposite the beach, promenade and on the same street as some of the best restaurants facing the sea in Sitges like La Ninja, Santa Maria and my fave Fragata. We always spend a little extra and book a sea facing room and sometimes a junior suite. The hotel staff, have always been extremely friendly, polite and professional. However I believe as this is the best and the most expensive hotel in Sitges - the service should be impeccable and not just excellent. They did demonstrate this as we accidentally left our iPod Nano in the hotel room safe. The next day when we were in London they called us to say they found it and would mail it back. It's little touches like that this that we have come to appreciate about the Calipolis. The rooms are big but don't book room 425 as it's smaller than the others. We always need a double sink - there is nothing more fun than two people getting ready in the bathroom together before hitting Sitges town for the evening. The hotel bar is really relaxing. There is a dipping pool - which I have never used as the beach is across the street. The new Hotel Gym also looked good if you want to get a workout in. We have never stayed at any other hotel in Sitges apart from Calipolis. However I do believe they need to take their service up a notch as the other hotels are catching up. Sitges is a great little holiday destination. It has kept the charm of the old town – the church is beautiful. There are numerous restaurants, bars and cafes for different wallet sizes. The gay nightlife is excellent. The skybar at the Hotel Sofia next to the Calipolis is a must go to destination. Sitges Beach and the promenade are excellent. You can jog, walk, cycle or rollerblade along it. Most importantly Barcelona is a 30min air-conditioned train ride away. The shopping is OK – shops with tat, beach goods and designer stores like Antonio. The Calipolis always calls us to Sitges - it is where my partner proposed to me and so it is a very special place. Thanks for another amazing holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms 425, 525 etc are smaller than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hiyaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I really don't think this hotel can be beaten on location. You just have to cross the street to be on the finest bit of beach that Sitges has to offer. It's also excellently placed for lots of restaurants and bars for day and night-time. We had a side seaview room but apart from the view there was nothing special about it. The whole place felt a little spartan and lacked those little extras one expects from a four-star property. Breakfast was good if a little pedestrian but certainly didn't leave you feeling hungry. I would stay here again if visiting Sitges because for a beach holiday it was great. But if you're after a romantic setting I'm not sure this is the best place to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captainmerky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Very convenient to all amenities, including beach, restaurants and night life. Rooms are light, spacious and of a high standard, and are cleaned regularly. Superb breakfast. The outdoor bar is very pleasant in the evening, with ambient lighting and excellent service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krzystof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

What really disappointed me was how quickly our holiday seemed to go. As someone who usually fixates on the negatives when it comes to hotels this is a very good sign.

The staff were nice, even if not 100% on the ball (we booked a double, got a twin and then had to ask reception to move three mornings in a row). Had they been totally on it I would have given this hotel a full rating of five.

Breakfast was delicious and was made even more so by the brilliant vistas from the second floor windows. The bar was damn near perfect with another great view, the perfect place to relax over a beer.

I would strongly recommend booking a room with a balcony as all of them get sun. If you can afford it then the suite is lovely and, whilst not huge, is worth the money for the extra balcony space alone.

Great holiday made great by a great hotel. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyingbutterwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
1.7 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#4 of 38 in Sitges
2,389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 38 in Sitges
1,796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel MIM Sitges
Hotel MIM Sitges
#10 of 38 in Sitges
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 38 in Sitges
1,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 38 in Sitges
908 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calipolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calipolis

Property: Hotel Calipolis
Address: Avenida Sofia 2-6 | Paseo Martimo s/n, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#4 Business Hotel in Sitges
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#7 Family Hotel in Sitges
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Calipolis 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a stunning part of the Mediterranean, the Calipolis hotel boasts the best location in Sitges, with a full guarantee of quality and service. The Calipolis Hotel offers a total of 170 large, comfortable and well-lit rooms.All of them are equipped with air conditioning, heating, a desk, satellite television, mini bar, free safety deposit box, bathroom with hair dryer and toiletries, and FREE WI-FI. Rooms with a sea view, right on the beachfront, have a large private terrace with views of the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Calipolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calipolis Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing