We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9 out of 10”
Review of Hotel Calipolis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Calipolis
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in August 2014.

On check-in, staff were very friendly and accommodated, without fuss, our on-the-spot decision to stay an extra night. To our pleasant surprise, the lovely lady who checked us in upgraded our seafront room to a seafront suite.

Hotel Calipolis is in a prime Sitges location, directly opposite the beach and promenade and a string of restaurants is close by. It's also an easy walk to the town centre and Sitges' delightful narrow streets.

The Hotel has a free beach towel service. There's a 10EUR refundable deposit per towel. Our room, on level 1, had free WiFi but it was extremely slow.

We caught a RENFE train from Barcelona city to Sitges (transport Zone 1-3, which costs 4,10EUR), a trip that takes about 35mins. We then caught a taxi to Hotel Calipolis from the train station at a cost of 6,45EUR, but the Hotel is within an easy walking distance of the station.

The rate for our room was not cheap, but we did stay during peak season.

Our only criticism of our suite was that it had no cups or teaspoons for coffee or tea. We have stayed in many hotels and even basic ones have such inclusions. While our stay at the Hotel was short, not once was a room cleaning service offered or given.

These criticisms, however, do not detract from the fact that Hotel Calipolis is a quality hotel. We would highly recommend it to those who are lucky enough to visit beautiful Sitges.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JasonNeuendorff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

In July 2014, my wife and I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for two nights. The location can't be beat. Steps to the beach and a very short walk to a number of bars and restaurants. Our room was a very good size with a great balcony overlooking the beach. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mountee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Calipolis hotel mid July for 5 days and had a great stay. The location of the hotel was perfect, right on the beach. The view was stunning. The room was spacious and nice. Breakfast had more than you could dream of, including sweets and wines. Very friendly and helpful staff which made our stay a very pleasant one. We would surely like to come back.

Room Tip: Get a room with a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Berit2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Ok this may not be your quaint little Spanish boutique inn, but it's a lovely seaside hotel with modern appointments and a stunning view! The room was really quite large, and at least on the 6th floor, there wasn't too much street noise. (I didn't notice the walls being particularly thin, as some other reviewers mentioned.) The room was simply decorated but had everything I needed. But really, the star of this hotel is the large balcony and the unbelievable views! Ok, and it's true what everyone is saying about the hallways smelling wretched. But surely that's just a temporary problem, and pretty much the second you step into the room and see the view, all putrid smells in the corridor are forgotten. The hotel is located across from the largest of the beaches on the main strip there (surely there's a proper name for that-- la strip mayor?) The staff was helpful, but not particularly amazing, but in all fairness I didn't need them to be. The big surprise was how great the restaurant was! Had lunch there the first day out of convenience, and it turned out to be the best meal of Sitges. And the wait staff WAS amazing! Funny and charming and great suggestions! My trip to Spain was pretty close to perfect, but if I was going to make one change, it would've been to stay longer in Sitges! I could've stayed there forever!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank packacards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Incredible views. We had room 427. Very spacious. Bed was comfortable and a very big terrace were you could contemplate the seaw view for hours and relax. The duty manager Jordi Batet was very helpful and took care for our anniversary that took place in the Hotel with my couple Mireia.
Edgar Labadia help me to prepare all details for the reservation and amenities. It is a " must " to go to Hotel Clipolis if you go to Sitges.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marc742014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have stayed at many hotels in Sitges and none have been bad, but for location and facilities, the Calipolis tops our chart. Yes, it is more expensive but the sea view is worth it, especially with the large balcony. The rooms are a good size as are the bathrooms and all is kept very clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a good selection of food at the breakfast which is open to 11am. It is true that the rooms are not very soundproof but this didn't cause us any issues. A very enjoyable 9 nights and we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The room was nice, the bed was okay... almost too firm and very springy (you could hear the springs in the mattress). The walls were kind of thin as we could hear people in the adjoining rooms. Otherwise, great shower, spacious room, well functioning air conditioning.

Breakfast was impressive; a huge spread of meats, cheeses, yogurts, wine, beer (yes... alcohol for breakfast), juices, coffee, eggs, etc... it was almost overwhelming.

Driving in the main area of Sitges was not fun. Trying to park at this hotel was even less fun. The hotel's main parking was full upon our arrival but we were directed to the public parking lot on the same block. Traffic made getting out of the full hotel lot and into the public parking very difficult. If you need to park, call ahead for guidance.

My only real negative point to this hotel was the smell. Upon arrival, the hallways outside the rooms smelled of rotting melons. Later in the night, dog poop. The next morning... I can't describe the smell, but it was nauseating.

Overall, good hotel with a great breakfast. The staff just needs to identify and remove the odor.

Room Tip: Get a room not on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
1.7 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#6 of 40 in Sitges
2,810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel MIM Sitges
Hotel MIM Sitges
#8 of 40 in Sitges
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Subur Maritim
Hotel Subur Maritim
#9 of 40 in Sitges
729 reviews
0.6 mi away
Urh Sitges Playa Hotel
Urh Sitges Playa Hotel
#18 of 40 in Sitges
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calipolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calipolis

Address: Avenida Sofia 2-6 | Paseo Martimo s/n, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#4 Business Hotel in Sitges
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#7 Family Hotel in Sitges
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range: £87 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Calipolis 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a stunning part of the Mediterranean, the Calipolis hotel boasts the best location in Sitges, with a full guarantee of quality and service. The Calipolis Hotel offers a total of 170 large, comfortable and well-lit rooms.All of them are equipped with air conditioning, heating, a desk, satellite television, mini bar, free safety deposit box, bathroom with hair dryer and toiletries, and FREE WI-FI. Rooms with a sea view, right on the beachfront, have a large private terrace with views of the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Calipolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calipolis Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing