We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be ware of room types!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Sebastian Playa Hotel
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Sitges
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Be ware of room types!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We arrived from Barcelona at lunchtime with lots of luggage - as well as a young baby. We were first told the room was not ready but eventually were allowed to go in early. Except that the room stank of cigarette- and I mean really badly. So I went down to complain and was told all rooms are non smoking but people smoke and they can do nothing about it. After much arguing on my part I was told I could have another room but would have to wait until it was ready. When we went to the new room (bearing in mind nobody at any point offered to help with the luggage) I noticed the view was nothing like the one I'd seen on the website for a deluxe room. Off I went again to be told that was the room I'd booked (it wasn't) and that they had no other option. I had to show them my reservation details with a photo for them to agree I was not in the room I'd booked. The manager agreed to give me a discount for the room and move us to the right room after 2 nights as it was not available then. We were finally in the right room - and the views are indeed breathtaking- but once again the smell of cigarette was almost unbearable.
Breakfast is quite poor for a 4 star hotel and if you arrive towards the end you will not find a hot buffet or great variety of breads.
Depending on which room you stay in you will hear the noise of running water every time someone flushes the toilet or uses the shower! That with a baby is a nightmare.
Overall I was highly disappointed with the whole thing and believe its a pretentious and overpriced hotel with unhelpful staff and smelly rooms.

Room Tip: If you choose to upgrade make sure you know exactly what you have paid for or you might end up in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lolgennari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Miguel T, Gerente at San Sebastian Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest, I'm very sorry to read what you mention that you and your family have experienced upon arrival to our hotel. We must double check the room type description on the web page where you booked your stay since there are some discrepancies. It is forbiden by law to smoke in the guestrooms but unfortunately, some guests smoke in the balcony and tabacco smell remains in the room. Due to your request to have the room ready earlier than the standard check-in time which is 15:00 hours we failed giving you a room without being properly ventilated and I apologies for that. I have checked with the breakfast staff and they said they have been preparring your breakfast at your taste every morning and they will remain doing so until your departure on the next coming days.If you need any help with your luggage upon check out, you will find a luggage trolly available in the Reception area. I hope you have a very pleasent stay during your remaining stay in our hotel, if there is any thing we can help you with, please, do not hesitate to contact us. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    155
    85
    28
    18
See reviews for
56
205
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Excellent location that couldn't be closer to the beach. The hotel is at the quieter end of Sitges and the beach is family oriented. The reception staff were very good although the lady in charge of the breakfast buffet didn't exactly have a welcoming smile. The buffet was good, although the hot items were not kept on a hot plate, so one morning I ended up eating cold scrambled egg. The fabulous sea views from the table sort of made up for it. The room was good with a very spacious bathroom and effective air conditioning. The hotel worked well for us, being right on the beach for my daughter and with trains every 15 minutes to Barcelona for my wife! The hotel organised a pick up service from Barcelona Airport which was very handy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stellaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanSebastian, Gerente at San Sebastian Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your stay in Hotel San Sebastian and for the comments you wrote. I'll go deeply into every single one of them to take all measurements needed. Best regards from Sitges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

While it took us 3 rooms before we got settled, the room we ended up in overlooking the pool was large and comfortable. All 3 rooms seemed to have very loud running water noises.
The breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold items and was great to start the day.
The hotel is right across from the beach which is great but did require a bit of a walk into the maze that is the town. That is why we found all the nearest beach side restaurants to be very expensive - especially as it was shoulder season and most were pretty well empty of patrons. Perhaps a great special price for people staying in town could be an incentive? Otherwise it is a short walk into the town to find many more reasonably priced eateries.
We would definitely stay here again on a longer return visit.
Beware the taxi charges - not that you have a choice. I paid more for taxi costs here than I did
for most of my rides to hotels in the previous 4 stops in Spain. YOU are a captive audience and the taxi drivers will charge for this.

Room Tip: Only a very few rooms was have any view of the beach. Overlooking the pool nice and quiet in the sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dive_ability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanSebastian, Gerente at San Sebastian Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your stay in Hotel San Sebastian and for the comments you wrote. I'll go deeply into every single one of them to take all measurements needed. Best regards from Sitges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The location is perfect. The hotel has all the amenities you would expect from a four star hotel although when we stayed in September you felt it was getting to the end of the season and the rooms needed a bit of TLC. Lovely to be able to have breakfast out on the terrace overlooking the beach. The dinner we had on our first evening was excellent so it was a surprise when we were given a really bad lunch (paella) the following day. The only thing that really let the hotel down was the staff both at the Reception and the restaurant who were not friendly at all. Such a pity, it costs nothing to smile and say good morning.
I felt very sorry for the girl doing the breakfasts; she was alone and it was an impossible task to take care of a whole buffet for so many guests. It should not be so in a four star establishment, not fair to the member of staff and not fair to the guests either.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aemstelhuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanSebastian, Gerente at San Sebastian Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying in our Hotel San Sebastian last Septembre. I'm very sorry for the points you mentioned, I'll handle them with the head department in charge. We hope to have the pleasure to host you again in the near future. Best regards from Sitges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed a week in this hotel as a family party with one child and one teenager, at the height of the season. Rooms were clean and fresh and nicely decorated, overlooking the pool (which was well-used but never crowded) or the side-street leading off the promenade, so although the hotel is on a busy sea-front lined with bars and restaurants we did not suffer any noise disruption.
The location is superb, the beach is a few feet away, the views from the terrace where we breakfasted every day were lovely, food was good and staff were very helpful and friendly. We specially enjoyed swimming in the sea in the evenings followed by ice-cream or dessert and drinks on the large cushioned lounge chairs along the side of the building where we were able to enjoy the atmosphere yet still be a little bit sheltered from the bustle of the sea-front.
A bag of laundry got left behind at reception when we checked out and the hotel staff were very patient and helpful in getting it repatriated.
We would definitely go back, Sitges is a very pretty town, only 40 minutes to Barcelona by frequent train service, and the San Sebastian Playa is an ideal place to enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swallowB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanSebastian, Gerente at San Sebastian Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying in our Hotel San Sebastian and for the very kind comment about your experience. We hope to have the pleasure to host you again in the near future. Best regards from Sitges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Couldn't ask for anything more, right on the beach, close to everything, very helpful staff. We loved it. Book early for the best price. We arrived in the middle of a local festival, fireworks going off, lots of cute kids in traditional dress walking around town. Terrific experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpartanFan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanSebastian, Gerente at San Sebastian Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying in our Hotel San Sebastian and for the very kind comment about your experience. We hope to have the pleasure to host you again in the near future. Best regards from Sitges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

In terms of its location close to the old town and right on a good, safe, small beach this would be hard to better. In essence this is a great small very clean hotel, with good size rooms, which are well fitted out and very comfortable beds. However, the side sea view rooms are not really worth the extra money as the further back from the beach you are, the more restricted the view from the very small balconies becomes, and you are also directly facing an apartment block which leads to a lack of privacy. Better to choose the option of a room facing the small pool, which will also give you better sunlight. Reception staff were excellent, but with one or two exceptions the restaurant staff were pretty uncommunicative. Breakfasts great, but dinner menu a bit unimaginative. The hotel lacked a residents' lounge or a space where you could sit and have a coffee in the evening when returning from dining out elsewhere. Also there were no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms. If staying in Sitges, be prepared for an extremely high level of 'gay couple' activity.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSanSebastian, Gerente at San Sebastian Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments about your stay last summer in Hotel San Sebastian. I'm very sorry if we did not fulfil your expectations in some items and areas of the hotel. We hope to see you again in the future. Best regards from Sitges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 38 in Sitges
1,794 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 38 in Sitges
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#4 of 38 in Sitges
2,379 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel MIM Sitges
Hotel MIM Sitges
#10 of 38 in Sitges
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 38 in Sitges
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Sebastian Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Sebastian Playa Hotel

Property: San Sebastian Playa Hotel
Address: Port Alegre 53, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Sebastian Playa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your San Sebastian Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Sebastian Playa Sitges
Hotel San Sebastian Playa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing