We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfull place ... Wonderfull vacations ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mediterraneo Sitges Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Sitges
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Wonderfull place ... Wonderfull vacations ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

It's the second time that we stays in the Mediterraneo hotel in Sitges ! It's still the same and good feeling ... Very nice location, wonderfull appartement, lot of space, wonderfull balcony where you can catch the sun and have a lunch ... My favorite moment, breakfast with vieuw on the see and the little church of Sitges . Yes, some details needs to be fixed ... But don't forget you are in Spain and for the expensive side .... You are in Sitges !!! (secure place + friendly staff) ...

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank belgianbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    45
    28
    15
    12
See reviews for
22
53
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed here many times. I always go for the apartments, not the rooms. The desk staff are very friendly and helpful. All speak good English (thanks). Apartments are large and very clean. Air con in living room and bedroom. TV's in both too. The bed is two bed pushed together. This might be an issue for some, as they can slide apart easily. Balcony was big with a lovely view of the med. Noise can be an issue as they are building another hotel across the street, but you can't hear the work when the balcony door is shut. The work looks very near to completion, and it wasn't constant noise, just a bit hear and there.

HUGE plus point is the very fast and FREE wi-fi. Others should follow there lead instead of gouging guests at every opportunity!

Cleaning staff were great and unobtrusive. I didn't eat at the breakfast place below the hotel, so I can't tell you what it's like. (I'm not a morning person)

The location is as good as it gets. Right on the beach and 1 block away from all the night-life/bars/shops etc...

Look forward to staying there again later in the year!

Room Tip: Pick a high room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adam1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

The hotel Mediterraneo is in a brilliant location just metres from the beach with superb views of the sea and promenade. We arrived in Sitges having booked a villa for a special occasion, being a family of 6 with a small baby. We had to leave the villa as it was dirty and unsuitable and had to look last minute for alternative accommodation. The Mediterraneo fulfilled our needs in that it provides apartments with a small, modern, adequately equipped kitchen, a living room with dining area and a separate bedroom. We took two apartments for the family. The apartments are a little old fashioned, in a sort of late 80s style and a little tired looking with cheap units, but they have everything you need really. The bathrooms are fine, though again, a little tired. On the plus side, the apartments are cleaned well and are well maintained. The living areas are spacious enough. The balconies and sea views are lovely. On the negative side: windows and walls not especially well sound insulated - you could hear the neighbours quite clearly. We stayed in April so it wasn't especially busy either inside or out so we didn't suffer too much from this. The air conditioning unit was old, noisy, leaky and rusty. We didn't need to use it so it didn't bother us, but it may have done in the summer season. Maids/cleaners very friendly and did a good job. We were overall quite happy with our stay, though it is probably a 3 star, average, basic experience rather than 4 star comfort/luxury.

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher up in the hotel - as noise from the side road could be an issue. Also ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We rented a 1-bedroom apt. in this hotel for about the same as a double room in a hotel. This gave us more space, a kitchen with larger fridge, washing machine, living/dining room and a good size balcony with a view of the Mediterranean Sea! Although the finishes are dated, it was a relaxing way to spend the last three days of a 2-week touring holiday in Spain.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the property is right across from the beach. Although there was a pool and a sun deck at our disposal, we preferred the beach and sea. The hotel "sells" beach/pool towels for 8.00 EU.
If you are flying out of Barcelona there are easy train connections directly to the airport. The Tourist Information office at the train station can assist with the train schedule. If not, we were told that a taxi to the airport would cost 60-70 EU.
This was a good choice.

Room Tip: Request a Sea View unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymondjames8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed in a 7th floor “superior” apartment overlooking the pools.

We have stayed before when booking a private apartment through a local agent, but this was the first time we booked directly.

FIRST TIP – scour their website for special offers, as the person you speak to on the phone might not be aware of them and will quote you the full price.

We book an apartment (any apartment) because we like to be able to make our own tea and coffee and morning cereal without having to get up by a certain time and then look for what we want in an unfamiliar dining room. We also like to be able to wash clothes and beach towels occasionally. The Mediterraneo supplies cups, saucers, spoons and even a saucepan, but no kettle and no coffee maker. When we asked were told “ we have a coffee shop”. Then why bother with the cups and saucers? We were also never supplied with dish towels or towels to dry things with.

SECOND TIP – walk up to the main road leading from the rail station and go into one of the cheap bazaar type stores and buy a cheap coffee maker and some cloths to wipe up the cups with. The coffee maker we bought cost less than €7.

The washing machine was fine, although being on holiday we used it as little as possible. The fridge in the kitchen was actually a sort of mini-bar / fridge, containing a selection of drinks that you might find in any hotel mini-bar. Not really what we look for in an apartment.

For location the place is hard to fault, providing you are NOT on the street side. It’s close to beaches and night life and a relatively easy walk to the station or airport bus if you are not into taxis.

The apartment we had was comfortable and clean. Our towels were changed daily but the bed sheet changing seemed to have no pattern – sometimes every day for a few days and then we’d have a break for a couple of days.

The bed was king size and fairly comfortable with a decent pillow. It was not a sumptuous thick mattress so if that’s what you like you won’t find it here.

There was air-con in the bedroom and the living room and they worked perfectly.

There was a small TV in the bedroom, which we never turned on, and a slightly larger flat-screen one in the living room that we turned on once just to see what channels were available. In English we found just CNN and BBC World News. There were a few other non Spanish / Catalan channels, too – German and French.

Overall we thought this place was fine and we would stay again, but not if there were no deals at the time as, in our opinion, their full prices are not worth it.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay on the street side. Get a floor as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Disjoncteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

This complex is primarily holiday apartments with a few dedicated as a hotel. The rooms are quite basic and functional at best. The overall decor reminds me of a seaside holiday resort from the 80's. We chose this hotel due to its proximity to the beach and the pool (which is nice).

However, BE WARNED. Our room as well as the guests next door were broken into and robbed. There was no sign of forced entry suggesting that it was an inside job. It is highly unlikely that guests from two rooms would leave doors unlocked. The hotel has no security cameras to trace what happened. The staff on duty in the evening were extremely helpful calling the local police and ensuring that we were able to get a full report for our insurance. After a lengthy discussion with the hotel manager we got the night of the burglary for free which was as good as he could do.

We will probably visit Sitges again however not this overpriced, outdated and pretty ordinary hotel!

Room Tip: Do not stay in a room accessible from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nathayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sitges hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Ok so this was a last minute booking - unadvisable in Sitges - however, this hotel charges outrageous rates for a basic, two-star room. We stayed in an apartment - basic and 1970s apart from the odd Ikea vase. Worst bed/mattress I have experienced - I had to sleep on the sofa. The bathroom was prawn-pink or rather 1970s beige. Exposed electrical cables on the floor - you get the picture... Only positives would be the location ( our sea-view balcony overlooked the opposite hotel and that looked rather lovely - and we could see the sea if we tried hard enough). Everything is old and in need of investment - even the doors..my partner was locked innthe bathroom at one point and we had to call reception to free him. Basically - shamefully overpriced, don't give them your business - book earlier and get a great apartment in town (for less money!)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobstersDads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#6 of 41 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges
0.0 mi away
Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Subur Maritim
Hotel Subur Maritim
#9 of 41 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Nina Hotel
La Nina Hotel
#18 of 41 in Sitges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Santa Maria
Hotel La Santa Maria
#20 of 41 in Sitges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterraneo Sitges Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterraneo Sitges Hotel & Apartments

Property: Mediterraneo Sitges Hotel & Apartments
Address: Av. Sofia, 3, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterraneo Sitges Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterraneo Sitges · Hotel & Apartments is located at the sea front, between the suburbs and the heart of the old town. The aparthotel provides with rooms and apartments, Italian and Japanese restaurants, bar-cocktail, beauty and well-being centre with multiple services, beach in front of the building, solarium, private garden of 4.000 m2 with 3 swimming pools, free internet corner and WIFI, lounges for banquets and conventions.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mediterraneo Sitges Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Sitges Hotel And Apartments
Mediterraneo Aparthotel Sitges
Mediterraneo Aparthotel Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing