We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hotel that could be a museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“The hotel that could be a museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I spent a week at the Estela, and cannot rave enough about the loveliness of its paintings and sculptures, which appoint the lobby, hotel halls and guest rooms. The art on display is of high and moving quality, and I learned that the hotel owner knows the artists whose work is shown.The hotel is a convenient distance from downtown Barcelona (but is not in an urban location), and situated right on a Balearic beach with a most impressive view. My room had a lovely balcony view of the ocean. The room was large, clean, comfortable, with an excellent and modern bathroom. The hotel is quite affordably priced. I selected this hotel based on an internet search and so was not sure what I would be getting, but was really thrilled upon arriving and seeing the modernissma lobby. The staff were excellent, and I knew I had made a most excellent choice. I rested marvelously here. While you might wonder if the hotel is haughty and recondite given its elitest art and decorations, I can promise that it isn't. The staff and the atmosphere are warm, inviting, jocular, and the place begins to feel like home very quickly.

This hotel reminds me of the trendy Hotel Art Siru in Brussels, but is far nicer, and with much better art.

I would stay here again with no hesitation, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karmaswimswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    158
    42
    19
    9
See reviews for
71
151
10
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

When we researched this hotel, we saw pictures on the internet, we read the reviews but, I must say, we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. This hotel is filled with art work, both sculptures and paintings alike, from artists like Josep Subirachs, Josep Puigmartie, and Lorenzo Quinn, to name a few. All of which are friends of the hotel's owner. We saw Mr Puigmartie on 2 different occasions in the hotel. The hotel's atrium is commanded by a Subirachs waterfall within the main staircase. As I write this I realize It all sounds snotty and elitist but, this is not the case, the hotel is warm and inviting, not cold or impersonal.
The hotel is very clean and well run by all appearances. The entire staff we friendly and helpful, including and above all, Erika the hotel art director.
Our room was facing the pool area, from where you could see the beach. The room was large with a big bathroom. The mattress was a little hard and, probably due to be changed. Our room could have used a little decor update from 1996.
Breakfast was complete and excellent, which included Champagne with your orange juice.
Situated right next to the Sitges marina entrance, along the waterfront you will find a vast selection of restaurants. A good beach is just across the road, where you can rent chairs and parasols, you can also eat in the snack bar.
A 20 minute walk along the seafront will get you into "Old" Sitges... Fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband & I spent 3 nights here & really enjoyed our stay. Hotel is ideally located beside a very nice beach. Also the port is right beside hotel & has a row of really nice restaurants & bars. There is a very nice pool area too. The rooms were v large with a nice balcony. Although they are a little dated they were perfect. The staff were v friendly although the breakfast was very disorganised with not a huge selection of fruit, breads or cereals. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankieCDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

While the hotel is full of art and welcoming upon entrance, the rooms were dull and in bad shape. The walls paper thin to the extent of hearing everyone in the hotel, even a pin drop!!! Otherwise the staff were very friendly and helpful. Amazing sea view from Hotel Estela and enjoyed having coffee and delicious dessert.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on a high floor to avoid all the noise!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American in Cambridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed for 6 nights. The staff are very friendly, the rooms are very clean and comfortable.
The location is great. The pool are is very nice, with sea view, but we spent most of the time at the lovely beach that is just across the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarnyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed for a week here in August, during the Sitges festival, and couldn't have had a nicer time. The room was a bit bonkers, with all the art on the walls and ceilings, but that was part of what made it special and memorable. The staff were helpful, the food - breakfast - was varied and included as much as you could want to eat, with lots of fresh fruit amongst the usual stuff you would expect.

The hotel itself was in a nice, quiet location, only 20 minutes stroll from Sitges along a coast walk, and also had a nice pool area, with pools for kids and grown ups. The nearby beach was also good and never overly crowded.

The nearby marina had some lovely bars and restaurants and was not overly expensive.

Would we go back? We certainly would, and would recommend it to anyone who fancies a stay in a good 4 star hotel in a beautiful resort.

Room Tip: If you don't like 'in your face' art, make sure you request a non-art room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hj L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 11 nights with my husband and 7 year old daughter and have to say that this is one of the nicest hotels we've stayed at as a family. The staff are extremely good - a good standard of English is spoken by all bar a few restaurant waiters. Food at the hotel is excellent - we had one of the best lobster paella's ever one evening. The room (artist suite 212 - Grau Garriga) was extremely spacious with a king size bed (which all 3 of us slept in without knowing the others were there!) a large wardrobe area, huge bathroom and living area including Samsung flat screen TV, sofa and dining table and chairs. And also a fridge which was great.
The patio area was big with a small table and 2 comfortable chairs. The room was decorated by the artist Grau Garriga and was beautifully unusual. The pool was fabulous - the kids one particularly was perfect. Never too cold and plenty of Sunbeds. The cafe area was lovely too. Shaded and with good food. There's a lovely lady at the hotel who gives tours of all of the amazing art at the hotel which is really interesting and worth the 30mins or so out of your day. The hotel is directly opposite a lovely family beach with a beach bar and whilst its busy, it's clean and you can usually find space. Right - on the down side...breakfast is average, the air conditioning could be better (we asked for a fan for the bedroom which was great) and its fairly noisy at nights outside. However, that wasn't a problem with the noise of the fan! I had to ask for another mattress topper as the bed was so hard, but the pillows were comfortable. We would definitely return and were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donny34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#8 of 40 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#3 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Subur Maritim
Hotel Subur Maritim
#10 of 40 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte

Property: Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte
Address: Avda Port d'Aiguadolc 8, 08870 Sitges, Spain (Formerly Hotel Estela)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the seafront, in one of the most attractive and relaxing corners from Sitges, the Port of Aiguadolç.Hotel Estela is a 4 star hotel that offers 65 spacious rooms, all of them with terraces. This Hotel has taken great effort, feeling and passion for culture. Not only in the work of artists through the frescoes, paintings and sculptures that can be admired throughout its facilities, but also by the affable and courteous treatment given to customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estela Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing