We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but good location”
Review of Hotel Subur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Subur
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The day Before arriving to Hotel Subur, we were staying in Barcelona, I emailed the Hotel as I realised the room I had booked was a standard double (nothing higher was available through agent) and asked if there was a possibility of an upgrade (I wasn't looking for a free upgrade) unfortunately I didn't get a response. It is easy to get to the hotel from Barcelona by train, any R2 renfe train stops at sitges and takes only 45 minutes. The walk to the hotel from sitges train station is a short distance approx 10 minutes or less. The hotel is situated on a corner street in the hustle and bustle of the town. The beach is directly opposite, it is a busy area for traffic and people so some noise is obviously expected although we havent noticed much noise other than the adorable monk parakeets and other birds. Originally the room we were given was way too small for the amount of time we are staying here (we don't leave until Sunday) I am not at all fussy about most things, cheap cheerful and basic but i was claustrophobic, for a 2 week stay? no. When I asked at the desk if it would be possible to upgrade, there was no availability. The safe is a key safe and not code and has to be rented at a pricey €3 per day. The shower has a mind of its own, it will scald you at some time or other so don't get directly under it. This review is rewritten after asking trip advisor to remove the last one as some issues were resolved after posting my last review. We were moved to a larger room which suits for the length of stay (the shower will still scald you)Some of the rooms apparently have fridges, both the rooms we stayed in didn't which can be a pain when trying to keep minerals and stuff cool, I just keep asking for buckets of ice which is not ideal so maybe request at time of booking. The cleaners are very polite and the rooms are done daily if you wish. The hotel location is very good, close to many bars, restaurants shops. Close to the train station which is great for trips to places like Barcelona zoo - 45mins, Salou - 1hr. The bar belonging to the hotel is a sports bar, the food is reasonable in price and although I wasn't impressed, due to the reheated rubber fries,my husband enjoyed his dish and the chicken wings were good. There is wi-fi in all of the rooms although the further down the corridor you are the weaker the signal. Would I stay here again? I'm not sure.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chriswild31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsubur, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Chriswild31,

Thank you for share your opinion about your recent stay with us. I’m very pleased to know the main problems were resolved after your first review. Your feedback is very important to us and we value it. By telling us what you liked and how we can improve, you're helping us to offer a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We'll take note about your comments regarding the temperature of the water in order to offer best experiences to our guests in the future and improve our facilities.

Thank you again for taking the time to write in Tripadvisor. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager Hotel Subur 3* Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

The actual hotel, the price you pay and the room you get are good. Hotel staff are friendly and the location is ideal being right on the beach.

Whats not ideal is:-

The single glaze windows
The people in the bar below
The staff putting chairs and tables away at end of night
The road sweepers
The drunk people
The bin men

Watch the showers in the bathroom and co-ordinate water usage with your room neighbors. One false move and your burnt alive or frozen to death.

Other than the above the rooms we all had were clean, fridge, tv and comfy beds.

Room Tip: as far back from the main road as possible and the highest floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsubur, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear MarkEsq,

On behalf of our entire team, we would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We’ll take note about every one of commented points in order to take measures to solve the incidences.

Again, If we can provide you any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail.

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager Hotel Subur 3* Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Located a short (~45 min) and convenient train ride (~10 minute walk from hotel to station) from Las Ramblas in Barcelona. The hotel is directly on the boulevard (Passeig Ribera) which runs along the beach so you are just a few steps away from relaxing on the sand. My wife and I stayed in a room which was not facing the beach and on the 4th floor. The room was relatively quiet, clean and spacious with a double bed, sitting chair, desk/TV, and closet. The bathroom was adequate and, most importantly, clean. The furnishings were adequate and functional (i.e., plastic sitting chair). All comments are relative to the price paid. In the end, yes I would certainly stay here again. I felt it was a very good value, good location, good accommodations and very friendly staff.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsubur, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Tim N,

Thank you for write your opinion about your recent stay at our Hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we value your comments. By telling us what you liked and how we can improve, you're helping us to offer a better experience for you and other guests in the future. Thank you for your nice comments regarding the room, cleanliness and our Staff.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you will enjoy again in your next stay in Sitges with us.

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager Hotel Subur 3* Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend at the end of April. Good quality rooms and facilities for the price charged, really impressed by maid service and reception staff - very good standard of service. Only down side of review would be the noise insulation of some of the rooms - top tip is to try and avoid being allocated a room that opens onto the stairway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift/stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cjayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsubur, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Dear Cjayn,

Thank you for write your opinion about your stay at our Hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we value your comments. By telling us what you liked and how we can improve, you're helping us to offer a better experience for you and other guests in the future. Thank you for your nice comments about our Maid service and Frontdesk Staff. We'll take note about your tips regarding noise insulation in order to offer best experiences to our guests in the future and improve our facilities.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you will enjoy again in your next stay in Sitges with us.

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager Hotel Subur Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great location and value for money... Hotel recently had a new lick of paint so all clean and of a good standard... Definitely will stay here again.... Friendly staff.... Sports bar located below the hotel with good food for a good price... Is not too expensive.... Rooms cleaned daily with towel changes.... Great all round stay in a stunning town...

Room Tip: Its worth paying the extra for the superior room... With 3 patio doors for all views....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krismac73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsubur, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Dear Krismac73,

Thank you for share your experience about your stay at our Hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we value your comments. By telling us what you liked and how we can improve, you're helping us to offer a better experience for you and other guests in the future. Thank you for your nice comments about our Staff and Sports BAR.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you will enjoy again in your next stay in Sitges with us.

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager Hotel Subur Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Great staff. Lovely clean hotel. Great breakfast. Trendy modern rooms. Free wifi. Light air con rooms with balconies. No pool. But great location. Would definitely stay there again. Twin room though. My mate had a large double though. Street at side was noisy only on the Friday night.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brightonfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsubur, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Dear Brightonfella,

Thank you for write your comments about your stay at our Hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we value your opinions. By telling us what you liked and how we can improve, you're helping us to offer a better experience for you and other guests in the future. Thank you for your nice comments about our Staff, cleanliness and breakfast.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you will enjoy again in your next stay in Sitges with us.

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager Hotel Subur Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Just returned from a 3 day stay at this excellent hotel in the centre of Sitges overlooking the beach. Great view from the terrace (stayed in a penthouse room at the top) clean and tastefully decorated. The bed was comfortable, I slept well and not aware of any noise from the street cleaners but maybe it was because we were at the front. The terrace was great - the sunbeds and general condition of the tiles and walls could do with some tender loving care but this didn't spoil my experience. The hotel could spend money on new balcony furniture and refurbishment and it would be really "wow" but then they would be able to charge much more for the room and I would not be able to stay there for the price I paid! If you want a good hotel in a great location near all the nightlife, restaurants and beach this is great value. If you don't expect the Ritz you will not be disappointed - if you expect a 3 star hotel (which is what you are paying for) you will be very impressed!
Another plus point - it is an easy 10 minute walk from the train station!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are probably quieter as I was not aware of any noise - worth paying extra for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsubur, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Keith T,

Thank you for write your opinion about your recent stay at our Hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we value your opinions. By telling us what you liked and how we can improve, you're helping us to offer a better experience for you and other guests in the future. Thanks for your nice comments about our Penthouse Rooms, we’ll take note about your opinion regarding furniture and refurbishment in the balconies.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you will enjoy again in your next stay in Sitges with us.

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager Hotel Subur Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Subur Maritim
Hotel Subur Maritim
#9 of 40 in Sitges
712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
1,885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 40 in Sitges
794 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#6 of 40 in Sitges
2,758 reviews
0.4 mi away
Urh Sitges Playa Hotel
Urh Sitges Playa Hotel
#21 of 40 in Sitges
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Subur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Subur

Address: Passeig de la Ribera s/n, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
Price Range: £45 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Subur 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the hearth of town, the Hotel Subur in Sitges offers an unbeatable location, comfort, service and atmosphere. Next to the famous "Calle del Pecador", in the historic and commercial center, waterfront parallel to the main beaches, participating in the character and charm of the people of Sitges, this is the privileged place where you can find the Hotel Subur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Subur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Subur Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing