We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Top Class Reviews Say It All!!!!”
Review of Hotel Platjador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Platjador
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“The Top Class Reviews Say It All!!!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed ten nights in Sitges end of June/early July....first 5 nite at Galeon (seperate review) and 2nd 5 nite at my usual stay Platjador....5th yr runnning!
Superb as ever! Fresh lemonade served all thru day (as it is at El Cid & Galeon though!) and cakes pastries served on roof bar late afternoon (Galeon do same). The addition of snacks served midnite/early hours is a master stroke! My room (looking over pool as requested) had a HUGE bed, similar to one I had 2 yrs ago. Nice size rooms with large TV/DVD (play yer i-pod thru the tele via this) and internet thru tele too with seperate remote. Wifi is very good throughout hotel even by pool. Stunning views from roof top bar make this the jewel in the crown! Free safe and plentiflul toiletries. 2 slight negatives - the decking area to the side view of hotel needs looking at! There is a board which flips up i saw several folk go flying! Please fix before someone is harmed. If I was being very picky I would say the Galeon breakfast slighty has the edge over here...and that's saying something. Several mornings the mushrooms/egg/beans only luke warm. But am not going to deduct anything for that! Finally the real star quality of this hotel are the staff. I cannot praise them enough! they always remember returning customers, nothing is any trouble whatsoever. Great advice if you travelling to Barcelona or any other resort. Def be back next year and thankyou for a superb time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for your great review and for taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor, it's certainly appreciated!
We consider ourselves very fortunate for the fact that our guests are invariably very nice people, who deserve to be properly treated, it is very rewarding for us to have guests, such as yourselves, post such lovely opinions of their stay. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,358
    379
    65
    23
    18
See reviews for
139
1,032
139
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

r

This was our 19th stay at the Platjador hotel over the past 25 years of going to beautiful Catalonia and its jewel, Sitges. We kept ourselves up-to-date with the reviews on this hotel from trip advisor. Mostly they were excellent and those that were derogatory were very minor complaints. We dismissed these and headed to the hotel with perhaps a little anticipation in our hearts. After day one of our 21 night stay, we dismissed with immediate effect the petty complaints of those who had come prior to our visit.

Someone once said that their work involved being within a 1000 of an inch and the other person replied that they get their work exact. That is how this hotel works.

Just as you thought there was nothing on this earth that could be added to the excellent service they provide, along comes lemonade at 5:30pm and also for the late night party people a small buffet from 2am to 6 am.

I am sorry to say that in 2015 we will be returning to this hotel twice in one year. The first will be for Sitges Pride in June and the second will be for the height of the season in August. Our one and only disappointment was that Carmen was no longer serving at the Terrace bar do to an unfortunate accident earlier this year. We wish her and her family all the very best.
Our greatest thanks go to the team at that Platjador from the chambermaids to the head waiters of whom we never get to know their names.
Eva, as always was so welcoming and happy to assist any problem, deserves a special Thank you.
Paco at breakfast is amasing too, just ask for fried eggs or an omelette and a fresh coffee or perhaps a Bucks fizz or Cava breakfast, nothing is too much trouble.

Well done yet again!!!!!!

Room 303 Barry & John

Room Tip: Sea front rooms have amazing views and we didn't find them too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Wow !!!!!, thank you for your review and wonderful comments we're very appreciative. Many thanks for your appreciation to the result of the efforts of workers in the Hotel, they worry that everything is to your liking and have a memorable stay in Sitges. Its hosting people like yourselves, and indeed the vast majority of our guests, that make our job worthwhile!
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just back from the Platjador and we very much enjoyed our stay. The situation of the Hotel is second to none just across the road from the beach.
Rooms of a good size and well equiped, Good wardrobe space and drawers for storage free wifi and safe. Balcony of a good size and well equiped. The bathroom was very well fitted with a very high tech shower.

Breakfast was very good you could eat in or outside.had every thing you could want, If you are after an English breakfast ask the staff to cook you eggs time you have toasted some bread they come back perfect. The breakfast is International and you should find something to your taste. Nearly all omelettes were sent back as under cooked a microwave was available for those that like their food a little hotter. Evening meal cost 19 euros which we did not use but heard from other guests that it was very good.
Tea and cakes were available in the lounge bar from 17.30 and has panoramic views of the coast. Also available on this floor is an open terrace again with stunning 180 deg views of the coast.
Staff were very helpful and dealt with any problems quickly with a smile.
The small pool has been turned into a spa which has good number of comfortable loungers
available.
Just a few negatives. The fridges are very poor and I heard a few people complaining, The hand rail into the spa was very loose and potentially dangerous as was the top terrace floor which needs some attention.
All in we enjoyed our stay and would return.







.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view as high as possible it costs but is worth it . Avoid first floor at the back very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much for posting such lovely comments, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us! We enjoyed your company very much and would love to see you return in the future, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

we spent christmas in this hotel 2013 , great location , roof bar is lovely staff very friendly and helpful , they had mulled wine in the reception every day and afternoon tea in the bar upstairs the room was very nice , modern and spotless we will be back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for posting such lovely comments, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us! We enjoyed your company very much and would love to see you return in the future, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A nice hotel in a good location and where everything seems to work well. Remember it's an inexpensive 3 star hotel where the rooms are not enormous. the beds are, however, very comfortable and high quality, bathrooms are excellent and supplied with plenty of toiletries. Compare and contrast with the hotel 200 metres west on the corner (you'll know the one I mean) where for almost double the price you'll get inferior beds little in the way of service but bigger rooms.
The staff was unfailingly polite, friendly and helpful.
The breakfasts are excellent for the type of hotel - in other words pretty much self service. They have mastered the art of producing scrambled eggs that are soft and not over cooked. They will also serve you good coffee and you can eat your food inside or on the terrace.
Not flor nothing are they at the top of the tree for Sitges.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view and a terrace you will pay a little extra and you will have to book w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeDaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.
Thank you for your company and we would love to see you return sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I sincerely feel guilty only giving Hotel Platjador 3 stars...But it is a 3 star hotel and it really does warrant that but no more!!! This was my second visit and my friends I went with, it was their fourth. We had a lovely holiday and the location of the Platjador is simply perfect and the beds are the most comfortable ever.

However...What a disappointment the breakfast was compared to previous visits if you fancied a hot English breakfast you are in for a shock...Not even luke warm everything, everyday was slap cold!!! There is a microwave oven at the side of the so called hot breakfast treats, but who wants a warmed up microwaved breakfast each morning? Fried eggs were no longer on show but you can order them {maybe they would be warm???} Dining area is spacious and it is great with a choice to either eat in or outdoors and I have to say the cold continental breakfasts are vast and very nice.

Rooms are good and this time had a pool view which was quiet and I enjoyed sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine looking out over the rooftops onto the most beautiful Sitges town.

The view from the bar terrace makes this hotel very special it is just perfect and the bar staff are the most helpful,efficient and friendly guys possible. BUT...HEALTH AND SAFETY...The decking area is " TREACHEROUS " every single night of having pre dinner drinks on the terrace we saw somebody trip on the decking!!! There is a plank that predominantly sticks up as you approach the terrace it is absolutely lethal. This is an area that " MUST BE FIXED" We did ask about a barmaid (Carmel) that we all hoped to see again on this trip she was just lovely but we heard she was on sick leave due to tripping on the decking causing her to break her knee!!! PLEASE PLATJADOR FIX THIS!!!

I do like this hotel... The refreshing lemonade at reception is a welcomed asset after a hard day on the beach, the added tea time tea and cakes is a nice gesture... But I wish the laundry could be put somewhere else rather than in glass cabinets on the corridors that you pass going to your rooms...Not nice... when so much more could be done with that space. Tables? lamps? maybe? Something that makes you feel as if you are heading to your room via a touch of tranquility and not the laundry quarters.

Sitges is a beautiful part of the world to visit and the Platjador's location is spot on but there are so many hotels in Sitges and next time we will be staying elsewhere. This is a 3 star hotel and justified... I am sorry for this review but the flaws were a touch too much for a returned stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beekell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
it's a pleasure that you have found a time to review our hotel. For us it's so sad that you decided not to come back to our hotel again, and we will work to solve the flaws you found it this time.
We have improved this year the breakfast with the restaurant service in order that the food arrives to the guest as hot as posible, we are sorry if we couldn't get your expectatives and we will check where the problema is. About the bar we are looking for the definitive solution for fixing the decking área, but we want to explain that Carmen Has an accident is the bar with an ice, not on the decking área.
Finally, about the laundry imagine, we are a very small hotel and as you have proved we have so many different kind of beds with so many different sheet mesures, that requires a big place to storage them, and unfortunately we couldn't find any other place in the building which eases the diary job.
We hope that in the future we can count with your confidence again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the sister hotel Galeon but had drinks at the 360 rooftop bar a couple of times. The view is quite wonderful overlooking the old town and sea. Service is efficient. The surroundings are modern and comfortable. Drinks are very well priced. Great choice for an evening drink.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kiangarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 38 in Sitges
1,259 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#5 of 38 in Sitges
2,585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 38 in Sitges
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#12 of 38 in Sitges
1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Cid
Hotel El Cid
#4 of 38 in Sitges
928 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Platjador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Platjador

Property: Hotel Platjador
Address: Passeo de la Ribera 35, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#1 Family Hotel in Sitges
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#3 Business Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Platjador 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Platjador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platjador Hotel Sitges
Platjador Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing