We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and definitely will go back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Cid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel El Cid
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Saltaire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great hotel and definitely will go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

Ideal hotel situated close to town centre and great bars. Great value meals available at either of the two sister hotels in the town. Pool is clean and great for sun bathing or chilling out in the shade. Always have enough sunbeds. Staff are really friendly and exceptionally helpful. Rooms are clean and just what you need for a base in Sitges. Will definitely go back to El Cid.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltaireSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Thank you for posting a review, it's really appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    299
    74
    23
    6
See reviews for
45
305
173
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

I have some mixed feelings about El CID. We stayed for four nights June 7th til the 11th..

The Positives:
1. Value for money, cheap, adequate accommodation, older rustic feel. Don't expect 5 stars, but you certainly get value for what you have paid
2. Amazing central location
3. Good breakfast
4. Helpful staff
5. Generally very clean

My only real negative is that our first morning I was awoken by water pouring out of the light fitting in the bathroom and running down the sides of the bedroom wall onto our cases. The bathroom was flooded. It was caused by the room above having a shower and a broken drainage pipe.
I used all our towels to quickly try and mop up the mess before then reporting it to reception.

However I know accidents do happen and was pleased that reception immediately got their maintenance guy to fix the problem, which he did.

However our room needed a good clean after the incident and despite asking reception several times the room wasn't cleaned until late the next day and the removal of the soggy smelling towels. I feel the hotel could have acted a lot quicker on this occasion to rectify the problem.

But don't be put off, all in all it's a good hotel and I'll definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonydowsett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for posting a review, we will have all things mentioned in mind. We are sorry for all the inconvenience you had in your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I have read so many good reviews but I felt very dissapointed when I saw my room.
The room was dirty, I spoke with a cleaner who understood English but she´ve never cleaned the floor, the next days the smily young lady spent a long time cleaning the bathroom and the rest of the room.
I talked to the manager and we was very busy to help me, carrying bread from outside and talking with the handsome boys who checked out requesting them a "good comment on internet". They gave us a paper to fill in with our comments ....of course I am sure that nobody read the bad review I fill...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loverbearboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Many thanks to find the time to review our hotel.I read all the comments that people gave in reception either the bad or good reviews, and we specially pay the attention to the bad comments to change this points and improve our service .
Thank you for your impresions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

just got back from 8 days staying at el cid. 10th - 18th june 2012. the whole experience as usual was a complete pleasure. the staff at the hotel are fantastic, friendly, and ensure you have a wonderful holiday. the manager behind the reception desk is great. as usual the room was basic but comfortable with a good balcony, great air con, and constant hot water. cleaning staff were very good. the restaurant serves a good basic breakfast with plenty of cereals, fresh fruit, breads,cold meats, yoghurts and cava if you want it. wonderful place to stay we will be back.

Room Tip: great pool view rooms at a small supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grahambrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Very friendly hotel, helpful and efficient manager with some great staff. Overall good value for money. Central location but not noisy, very convenient for restaurants, shops, bars, beach, railway station, and airport connecting trains. Dated furniture and decoration but clean and air conditioning in bedrooms. Adequate buffet breakfast until mid-day. Free Wifi in lounge. Safety deposit box not free, but available at 3 euros a day. Already booked my next stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Thank you for posting a review, it's really appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Just leaving Sitges and found the hotel and staff wonderful as always.

The rooms are comfortable, Breakfast is great and it really does make for an enjoyable stay.

Dont listen to reviews who have people moan. Its a cheap hotel that everyone can afford. Whether you want a pool view or a street view. My room was over the main street as requested and above the main entrance of the hotel which mean I got wifi :-)

Search different websites as the rates do very.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidAshton1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
It was a pleasure to be able to host you and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here in Sitges.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor, it's certainly much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

This hotel is situated 5 min walk from station and bang in the centre of everything but retains an old rustic charm. The hotel staff can’t be faulted they go out of there way to make sure your stay with them runs smoothly even opening up the breakfast room for me and my friends early so we could have breakfast before we left for the airport. The rooms are spotless with towels changed daily and free toiletries so all you need is toothpaste and brush. It is fantastic value for money will definitely be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: All rooms spotless and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephenuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#12 of 40 in Sitges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#8 of 40 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#3 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Los Globos
Hotel Los Globos
#11 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cid

Property: Hotel El Cid
Address: C/ San Jose 39, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#5 Family Hotel in Sitges
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel El Cid 1*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing