We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”
Review of Hotel El Cid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Cid
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

a group of us stayed here on a sports tour to Barcelona. The hotel were very accommodating and the staff excellent! A much better experience than you would expect from a 1 star. Would definitely stay here again if i returned

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank middx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

My two night stay was very enjoyable. Good location, good staff.. always helpful and friendly and good price. Great pre arrival email exchange sorted out two separate bookings to match up as same room. Late breakfast was ample and had a good selection of fresh hot and cold options. Nice secluded pool. Chilled juice cordial in reception was a nice touch and most of rooms now have free wifi access. Don't be put off by it's location near main road and station.. soundproofing was excellent. Rooms were clean and comfortable if a little classic in style and decoration. Definitely due a return visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarkeb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for posting a review, it's really appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I went on my first holiday for 6 years and stayed at El Cid, Staff are really polite and helpful, the breakfast is excellent and the rooms are great value for somewhere that's minutes walk from the centre of the gay bars. Definitely going again!

Room Tip: If you're single, get a room at the front so you can sit on the balcony and watch the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.
Thank you for your company and we would love to see you return sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed with my Partner in October and requested a new room when booking. For a one star we were really pleasantly surprised. The staff could not have been more helpful, especially the cute guy on the reception. Even night staff were incredibly friendly and gave a warm welcome every night when stumbling in from the clubs. Great central location, huge thanks to all, we will definitely be back

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cbeard001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your great review and for taking the time to post it on TripAdvisor, it's certainly appreciated! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope we can welcome you back a next time!
Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

If you're not expecting lots of luxuries but a clean and comfortable hotel next to the historical downtown and the city beaches, hotel El Cid is a very good option. The staff is also very nice and really helpful. Finally the breakfast buffet is fair for the prize.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Turetes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review and kind remarks, it's really appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Again I stayed at the El Cid in Sitges for the second time. The staff is fabulous and exceptionally helpful. Tony the manager, goes out of his way to help, and nothing is too much trouble. What a difference it makes to have nice staff.
The room I had was great. I booked a single but gave me a double with a balcony looking onto the road. The noise was minimal and not a problem as there is only daytime traffic....and the double glazed doors pretty much keeps all noise out anyway.
The rooms and hotel in general are clean and well maintained, with wifi and internet free in the community area. The pool is large and also very clean, with plenty of deck chairs provided.
I particularly liked the breakfast room which was spacious and not cramped...plenty of room for everyone. Breakfast finished at 12 noon, so even the party goers could manage to stagger in at some stage and get some much needed blotting paper! And of course how civilised to have a bottle of champers (caver), in the ice bucket for breakfast. Breakfast was good, with mostly cold cuts of meat, cheeses, all sorts of breads...or toasted, with tea, coffee, juices and yogurt. You could also have a hot breakfast of scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages.
I will certainly be recommending the El Cid to my friends.

Room Tip: It`s worth paying a little extra (still very cheap) for the larger rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mozStanthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you for posting a review, it's really appreciated. It´s great to see at guests again, we will work as hard as we can, to see you next year keeping up with the effort and illusion for making your stay in SITGES unforgettable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

From Sitges train station this hotel is only 5 minutes away and very easy to find with pleasant helpful staff . The decor and furniture looked tired and dated as were the rooms but they were cleaned every day with fresh towels. The room and bathroom was adequate and the shower was superb. Breakfast was of a reasonable choice and the location of the hotel was good for shops and the promenade. Its a cheap and cheerful budget hotel and one I will be returning to again without doubt.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philliboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for posting a review, it's really appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 40 in Sitges
1,285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
1,879 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#6 of 40 in Sitges
2,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#12 of 40 in Sitges
1,099 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Capri
Hotel Capri
#5 of 40 in Sitges
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cid

Address: C/ San Jose 39, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#5 Family Hotel in Sitges
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range: £42 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel El Cid 1*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel El Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing