We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with character”
Review of Hotel El Cid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Cid
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel with character”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I can't believe this hotel only rates one star. Good position on the edge of the old town, lots of character. Nice clean comfortable room with air con, a fantastic breakfast buffet and friendly staff. I loved my stay and would thoroughly recommend the El Cid. No parking is a problem, but this is a common problem in Sitges old town. I was travelling by motorbike which I chained to a tree right by the night porter, so fealt safe.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.
Thank you for your company and we would love to see you return sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    308
    76
    25
    7
See reviews for
47
327
179
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

El Cid is within easy walking distance or bars, restaurants and supermarkets. Never had any issues with noise. Rooms were clean and breakfast was a good set up for the day. Rooms are small, but I didn't spend a huge amount of time in there other than sleeping.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank KieranM_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for posting a review, it's really appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

First time at El Cid and had a great time. While the rooms are basic they are kept clean by the wonderful housekeeping team. Safe in room and wifi that worked throughout. Had a room at the rear over the very noisy street but the soundproofing worked well and the aircon kept things cool. Good breakfast, available to noon. Beach towels available (deposit required) and also parasols if you ask. Did not use the bar here but make use of the terrace bar at sister hotel Platjador on the sea front (you also get a complimentary drink first visit). Considering the very reasonable price had to give 5 stars. Book early though; very popular.

Room Tip: If you want to sit on your balcony rooms at rear far too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslingtonLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your great review and for taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor, it's certainly appreciated! We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is a low cost hotel which is clean, comfortable and very centrally located. Can walk from the train station there in 5 minutes. I was on the first floor and had good internet access and a restricted pool view. The room was adequate with a giant king size bed and small shower room. Everything was clean and worked. Would come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank caoimhinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for posting a review, it's really appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

All I can say is that if you are staying in Sitges then here is where you must stay...
Absolutely tremendous staff who would bend over backwards to please and make your stay truly a home from home...
Situated in central Sitges it is in a prime location and a stone throw away from all the bustle of this beautiful town whether you prefer daytime seaside rendezvous or night time fun...

Room Tip: I would recommend the roof terraces on the top floor and the sun hits them mid afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helgabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, it's really appreciated.
We're very flattered that you ' highly recommended ' us, thank you. We seem to have really terrific people stay here and you are no exception! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

a group of us stayed here on a sports tour to Barcelona. The hotel were very accommodating and the staff excellent! A much better experience than you would expect from a 1 star. Would definitely stay here again if i returned

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank middx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Heathrow, Uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My two night stay was very enjoyable. Good location, good staff.. always helpful and friendly and good price. Great pre arrival email exchange sorted out two separate bookings to match up as same room. Late breakfast was ample and had a good selection of fresh hot and cold options. Nice secluded pool. Chilled juice cordial in reception was a nice touch and most of rooms now have free wifi access. Don't be put off by it's location near main road and station.. soundproofing was excellent. Rooms were clean and comfortable if a little classic in style and decoration. Definitely due a return visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarkeb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for posting a review, it's really appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 38 in Sitges
1,233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 38 in Sitges
1,791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 38 in Sitges
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#5 of 38 in Sitges
2,365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 38 in Sitges
731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cid

Property: Hotel El Cid
Address: C/ San Jose 39, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#5 Family Hotel in Sitges
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel El Cid 1*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing