We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel El Cid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Cid
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Sitges
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Brilliant place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is the third time I've stayed at the El Cid. It's a really super place and offers amazing quality for a very reasonable price. The location is great, the breakfast buffet really good and the pool area very nice. The beds very comfortable. They seem to make improvements every year - really good signal wi-fi now throughout the hotel. Tony and his team can be very proud of the job they are doing.

Room Tip: The poolside rooms with a balcony are great - very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for the most wonderful review, its hosting people like yourselves, and indeed the vast majority of our guests, that make our job worthwhile!
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    300
    75
    23
    6
See reviews for
46
311
173
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinner
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Good location (genuinely close to rail station and easy walk to beaches). Very helpful and friendly staff with - as stated elsewhere - excellent spread at breakfast and very good value supper (€10) in linked Hotel Galeon We had a core bedroom at lower rate, little cramped with two beds but OK; airconditioning fitted and a small fridge due shortly. Always plenty of hot water and room cleaned well

Room Tip: You get what you pay for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinnerboyPinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

stayed here many times and every time the hotel has improved.The breakfast restaurant has a much larger buffet including hot english breakfast,several pastries,meats,bread,cheese,yoghurts and fruit.I had a poolview room with flat screen tv,refrigerator,very comfortable bed.Some sound proofing has been fitted to the walls and makes a big difference.Some people have said its a noisy hotel but i slept well all 10 nights.The cleaners do an excellent job and staff are very friendly all times and reception is superb.Toni will usually greet you on check in and is always a very warm welcome.The rooms all have free wifi.
enjoy

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrybrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you, for the lovely things you said.
I guess the highest compliment we can be paid as accommodation providers, is to have guests return and enjoy their stay for another time, thank you for that and for your company. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Back again to the El Cid for the first of many visits in 2014. Once again we have seen more improvements at the hotel. This time around they are in the process of sound proofing the bedrooms. We also welcomed the addition of some new power sockets in the room. Perfect for travellers these days that have too many gadgets to keep charged.

There were also some improvements with the selection at the Breakfast buffet.

Overall the hotel hits the right balance for a budget traveller with the facilities it offers. The staff are always welcoming and its great to see familiar faces working there again this year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you, for the lovely things you said.
I guess the highest compliment we can be paid as accommodation providers, is to have guests return and enjoy their stay for another time, thank you for that and for your company. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Not expecting to much I was pleasantly surprised . The rooms though not luxurious are adequate and very clean the bed very comfortable . What makes the hotel are the wonderful team who without exception were first class . The breakfast was more than adequate and the breakfast waiter Genuine and helpfull

Without doubt I would return to this hotel when visiting sitges

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review and kind comments.
We are very pleased that we exceeded your expectations as that is our aim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel may only be a 1 star but it is always clean, staff are always courteous.

It's located a short distance from the train station - a 4 euro journey from the airport and is centrally placed for the beach and all the bars, clubs, shops.

Don't book through booking.com - they charge a fortune, you can generally get a room here for 40 quid a night

Room Tip: Balconies overlooking the pool get more sun than the street ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjds1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for posting a review, it's really appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I chose this hotel solely based on the trip advisor reviews. I know that Spanish hotels have a weird system where perfectly respectable hotels have only one star because the lack of, parking or of a restaurant or in-room telephones (all true of El Cid), so this didn't bother me at all.

Most of the things the other reviewers said are completely true. The hotel is well situated in central Sitges, near the railway station, restaurants and nightlife and the beach.
The staff were very friendly and usually quite helpful. The young guy who works in the breakfast buffet, which is of a good overall standard, is particularly friendly, smiley and welcoming.

My problem as a solo traveller came from the room – perhaps other rooms in the hotel don’t have the problems I encountered. Room 102 is quite small, but for the low price I paid I can accept that, as well as the hideously outdated furniture. It was clean, with a bathroom and TV. My only problem however was a big one – lying in bed felt like being on the floor of the bathroom next door, the wall is so thin. I could hear everything and when the people showered I honestly expected to get out of bed wet!

The other noise problem came from a continuous background noise of music. The first night I assumed that there must be a bar nearby, but I soon realised that this was the music playing in the reception of the hotel. All night!

The furniture can be bad; you don’t choose a hotel for the furniture. The room can be small; you spend most of your time out. But if you can’t sleep, then I’m sorry, the hotel isn’t doing what you are paying it to do, provide a bed for the night and some decent shut eye. So I was very disappointed that, for once, Trip Advisor and its reviewers let me down badly. But I do now know the word for earplugs in Spanish as I had to buy some (tapones para los oidos).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank williamdfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
What a bad luck we have had, because the most important improvement done this year at the hotel was the soundproofing of rooms, and due your comment it seems we did not make a good job. I really appreciate your opinión and indeed you have also mentioned the good things that the hotel have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 41 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 41 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#6 of 41 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 41 in Sitges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#4 of 41 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cid

Property: Hotel El Cid
Address: C/ San Jose 39, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#5 Family Hotel in Sitges
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel El Cid 1*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing