We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time here and it's even better!”
Review of Hotel El Cid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Cid
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

For a 1* it's perfect. It's more like a 3* plus. Very clean throughout hotel and pool area. Staff are absolutely lovely and very friendly. Perfect location, 5 minutes from train station, 5-10 minutes from sea front.
They advised us of improvements for this year and they have! New doors and sound proofing, fresh paint and the best thing is wi-fi throughout even around pool.
Breakfast buffet has everything you need, and a great selection of bread and crumpets!!
Definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rey1695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you, for the lovely things you said.
I guess the highest compliment we can be paid as accommodation providers, is to have guests return and enjoy their stay for another time, thank you for that and for your company. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Everything you need, it's very clean, staff are lovely, pool is great, cava with breakfast is fab and it's until 12noon, makes it even better. For 1 star the EL CID has everything some 5 star places don't. I would choose the EL CID over a 5 star any day, it's central to everything and it offers everything you could need or want, perfect every time and at a great price!

Room Tip: Pool view is great, street view is good for people watching over a cerveza on the balcony on a warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

WOW, thank you, high praise indeed!
So glad you enjoyed your stay here, and a big thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We would love to have you stay with us again, sometime in the future.
In the meantime, take care of yourselves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is the third time I've stayed at the El Cid. It's a really super place and offers amazing quality for a very reasonable price. The location is great, the breakfast buffet really good and the pool area very nice. The beds very comfortable. They seem to make improvements every year - really good signal wi-fi now throughout the hotel. Tony and his team can be very proud of the job they are doing.

Room Tip: The poolside rooms with a balcony are great - very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philipoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for the most wonderful review, its hosting people like yourselves, and indeed the vast majority of our guests, that make our job worthwhile!
Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Good location (genuinely close to rail station and easy walk to beaches). Very helpful and friendly staff with - as stated elsewhere - excellent spread at breakfast and very good value supper (€10) in linked Hotel Galeon We had a core bedroom at lower rate, little cramped with two beds but OK; airconditioning fitted and a small fridge due shortly. Always plenty of hot water and room cleaned well

Room Tip: You get what you pay for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinnerboyPinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

stayed here many times and every time the hotel has improved.The breakfast restaurant has a much larger buffet including hot english breakfast,several pastries,meats,bread,cheese,yoghurts and fruit.I had a poolview room with flat screen tv,refrigerator,very comfortable bed.Some sound proofing has been fitted to the walls and makes a big difference.Some people have said its a noisy hotel but i slept well all 10 nights.The cleaners do an excellent job and staff are very friendly all times and reception is superb.Toni will usually greet you on check in and is always a very warm welcome.The rooms all have free wifi.
enjoy

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Barrybrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you, for the lovely things you said.
I guess the highest compliment we can be paid as accommodation providers, is to have guests return and enjoy their stay for another time, thank you for that and for your company. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Back again to the El Cid for the first of many visits in 2014. Once again we have seen more improvements at the hotel. This time around they are in the process of sound proofing the bedrooms. We also welcomed the addition of some new power sockets in the room. Perfect for travellers these days that have too many gadgets to keep charged.

There were also some improvements with the selection at the Breakfast buffet.

Overall the hotel hits the right balance for a budget traveller with the facilities it offers. The staff are always welcoming and its great to see familiar faces working there again this year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you, for the lovely things you said.
I guess the highest compliment we can be paid as accommodation providers, is to have guests return and enjoy their stay for another time, thank you for that and for your company. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Not expecting to much I was pleasantly surprised . The rooms though not luxurious are adequate and very clean the bed very comfortable . What makes the hotel are the wonderful team who without exception were first class . The breakfast was more than adequate and the breakfast waiter Genuine and helpfull

Without doubt I would return to this hotel when visiting sitges

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments.
We are very pleased that we exceeded your expectations as that is our aim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 40 in Sitges
1,293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
1,894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 40 in Sitges
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 40 in Sitges
1,131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Capri
Hotel Capri
#4 of 40 in Sitges
322 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#6 of 40 in Sitges
2,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cid

Address: C/ San Jose 39, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#5 Family Hotel in Sitges
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range: £38 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel El Cid 1*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing