We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Hotel El Cid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Cid
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

just got back after a week there lovely hotel great staff comfortable rooms excellent breakfast very welcome air conditioning usefull free wi-fi welcoming glass of cava at it's sister hotel on the front with rooftop lounge going back in sept.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank joseph francis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, believe me when I say that it's really appreciated.
It was a pleasure to host you....all the very best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was our first time at El Cid, and it won't be the last. We can't fault this hotel. The staff, cleanliness, pool area, breakfast, were all excellent. El Cid is great value for money and shouldn't try to change a thing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rintintin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to post it on Tripadvisor.
Take care and we hope to see you next time you’re in Sitges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed for a week 5th to 12th July, everything about this 1* hotel is great, Friendly staff, great pool, clean towels and room cleaned every day and Breakfast served until midday, the hotel is a bit dated but spotlessly clean and and has free wifi throughout,have booked to go back in June 2015

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room, it worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel, along with it's sister hotels continues to improve their offerings to guests. We stayed for ten nights in mid July and the hotel remains popular and was nearly full most of the time and for good reason. The hotel is largely old fashioned in it's decor, but this adds to it's charm. Most of the rooms have been updated to some degree and air conditioning added, which was our only criticism from our last stay several years ago.
The rooms,public areas and pool are all extremely clean, the staff are friendly,helpful and cheerful.
Our room overlooked the swimming pool, with a balcony and had a huge bed and en-suite shower room inc toilet and bidet. A full set of clean towels was provided daily, safe ( small extra cost) and free wi-fi - others take note!!
We have stayed in many hotels of all star ratings and this one is now definitely at or near top of the list for value, comfort and facilities including breakfast. It really goes beyond what one would expect from a one star hotel. We will return next year.
Good job and a very big thank you to the staff and the owners!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are best, try to avoid the inward facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

It was a pleasure to be able to host you and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here in Sitges.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor, it's certainly much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The reviews on here led us to go to this hotel and we were NOT disappointed !
This was our very first time to Sitges and we were not disappointed.The staff are friendly, the rooms are large and have a most welcome AIR-CON and FREE WIFI!
The choices at breakfast were amazing:-
Fruit Juices/Tes/coffees/Cava (I kid you not)
Danish pastries,Fresh fruits,Yogurts , Cereals,Breads
Hot scrambled eggs,baked beans,bacon(English( and Sausages.
In fact SOMETHING FOR EVERYONE>
My only 3 small gripes about breakfast were:-
1.The toast machine takes forever--I would rcommend upgrading to a "Coneyor belt" machine.
2. The hot food needs to be a bit hotter
3.Don't allow men in without shirts

The maids cleaned every day, the beds was enormous and ever so comfortable.
The hotel is old but full of Spanish Charm and I really cannot believe it does not have a higher STAR rating!

I urge you to book here-you will NOT be disappointed.

We cannot wait to come back-it was that good !

THANK YOU HOTEL El-CID FOR MAKING OUR FIRST STAY A MEMORABLE ONE !

Room Tip: Balcony Rooms -front or back are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Wow!!!, thank you for your review and wonderful comments we're very appreciative.
We would love to see you back here again in the future.
Thank you again and take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here quite a few years ago and came back this year - brilliant all round - reception staff are all friendly and helpful (especially the lovely David) - room we had was incredible with enormous private roof terrace (sun loungers and table and chairs) - flat screen TV, room safe, and mini fridge - great shower with constant hot water at all times of day or night. Breakfast spread was very good - hot and cold - only thing to make it better would be to have perhaps fried eggs from time to time.

Really could not find a real fault at all - thanks for a great ten days we will be back.

Room Tip: Not telling our rooms a secret !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ExeterUKMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

We would love to have you come and stay with us again, thank you for your compliments and for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Good spot from the train station. short walk to the beach and anything else as is not such a large town. awesome complimentary desayuno(breakfast) informative guy at the help desk. balcony. clean. friendly to all definitions of family. if ever in sitges, we stay here again. oh, you also get a complimentary drink on the roof of a fancy hotel by the beach. more perks too. it s fun. book exchange too. and a good price for the night!

Room Tip: rooms facing the main street was a little noisy at times. but whatever
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for posting a review, it's really appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 40 in Sitges
1,294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
1,894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 40 in Sitges
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Subur Maritim
Hotel Subur Maritim
#9 of 40 in Sitges
744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 40 in Sitges
1,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Capri
Hotel Capri
#4 of 40 in Sitges
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cid

Address: C/ San Jose 39, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range: £36 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel El Cid 1*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel El Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing