We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel El Cid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Cid
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Sitges
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

El CID is a Sitges institution, having stayed here many times over the last 6 years I have always had a great time. Rooms may be basic but have all you need and are continually being improved. Breakfast has also improved enormously and is now really good. The pool is large and a very sociable area to meet new friends. I have met many people here who have become good friends through the years and they all return. Location is great not to far from beach and stumbling distance from bars, and also great value for money. Keep it up!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you, for the lovely things you said.
I guess the highest compliment we can be paid as accommodation providers, is to have guests return and enjoy their stay for another time, thank you for that and for your company. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    300
    75
    23
    6
See reviews for
46
311
173
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed at the El Cid last Thursday and Friday . Great Hotel for the price the room was a little small but the a/c worked well . The hotel is very clean and the breakfast was outstanding . I Enjoyed the pool (very nice) and well maintained . The staff were nice and very helpful especially David . Every suggestion he gave us was right on target !!! Its in a perfect location as well ! I will certainly stay there again ! MY only complaint is that I didnt have time to stay for a few more days . Great hotel ! Thanks again David for all the help and suggestions !!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We wish you could have stayed longer too! We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic couple of days in El Cid in July. It's great value. You get what you pay for, good breakfast, air con in the bedroom, decent pool and very friendly and helpful reception staff. Okay the bathroom could do with a spruce up but for the limited time we spent in there it didn't bother us. Loved the little touches, such as homemade lemonade in reception to cool you down after a hot day out. We'll be back again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to post it on Tripadvisor.
Take care and we hope to see you next time you’re in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Well having stayed at Hotel El Cid since 2005,i have always been welcomed by the lovely 'Tony'( sadly now left El Cid,he will missed greatly by alot of the regular guests he was the heart of the Hotel) and all the staff! I have met some lovely members of staff over the years and made some great friends! The El Cid is the best place to stay in Sitges,for value,great facilities and location. I feel like when i return its like being 'my second home' if you have never stayed there,give it a go but one tip 'book early! Things change all the time but the El Cid only gets better,trust me ive stayed there nearly 10 times, although Tony has moved on,gone but never forgotten!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazzlingdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you, high praise indeed! And a big thanks you for taking the time to post a review. It´s great to see at guests again, we will work as hard as we can, to see you next year keeping up with the effort and illusion for making your stay in SITGES unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
407 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

spent three nights here in a superior pool room.glad we paid extra for this.air con .small fridge and very large double bed.well worth extra.staff very friendly and welcoming.little extras like chilled lemon juice in reception all day.the breakfast is even better than before with bacon eggs and sausages now.the hotel is a little dated but this is its charm and keeps the prices down and for sitges is very reasonable.very central .close to everything.cannot fault it really .dont excpect luxury and you will not be dissapointed.p.s the roof terrace at the hotel platjador was lovely as were the bar staff.best view in sitges.

Room Tip: pay extra for superior pool rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for posting a review, it's really appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The staff was great, very clean, confortable room and breakfast were excellent (until 12). The location is perfect to go to the beach, go to restaurants or nightlife.
El Cid is great value for money and shouldn't try to change a thing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lauragarcise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just came back from a week at this hotel and i have to agree with all the great reviews, how it's only 1 star i'll never know, maybe they refuse to bribe spanish hotel inspectors.

Central to everything, 5 minutes walk from Sitges train station with connections to Barcelona & Airport every 20 mins from early until late 7 days a week.

The hotel is what i would describe as "rustic" which just adds to it's appeal.
Rooms are cleaned daily, have air con but aren't huge. It's located in a quiet street so no noisey bars opposite and easy to find off the main road. The staff speak English (some better than others) are very friendly and helpful when asking questions.
The Free working Wi Fi was a god send if you don't want to rack up massive phone charges!

Breakfast was from 0700 - 1200 and exceptional given the hotel rating, i've had a worse selection in 4&5 star hotels!
This was my first time to Sitges and i'm glad i opted to stay here, i can't imagine you get much sleep before 0400 staying at any beach front hotel. Be warned Sitges is expensive in the tourist areas and especially on the beach. Buy your food & drink from supermarkets there and take it with you to the beach. It's also cheaper to buy a parasol from the chinese supermarket on the main road than pay 7 euros on the beach every day.

Sitges is poplular with gay tourists so don't be supprised to see same sex couples strolling arm in arm etc and the gay bars are exteamely vibrant. However be aware of pickpockets in bars and bag snatchers on the beach.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies. Rooms facing the pool and street have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 41 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 41 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#6 of 41 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 41 in Sitges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#4 of 41 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cid

Property: Hotel El Cid
Address: C/ San Jose 39, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#5 Family Hotel in Sitges
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel El Cid 1*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing