We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A basic clean hotel in a good location in Sitges.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Cid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel El Cid
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A basic clean hotel in a good location in Sitges.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

A basic clean hotel in a good location in Sitges. Rooms are clean and spacious but have no TV or air conditioning, which is fine when all you really need is a bed. For short term breaks of a week or less Hotel El Cid really does offer value for money if you manage to get a pool view room with balcony, which I was fortunate enough to get.

The service is friendly and breakfasts are more than basic with more than one option available - coffee, juice, toast, bread, cheese, ham etc.

I have always stayed with the same group of hotels in Sitges, El Galeon and Platjador are also part of the same group of Hotel El Cid, but this hotel is the most basic of the three but still offers some real value for the price.

Centrally located and easy walking distance from Sitges train station only 5 minutes away, a short 2 minute walk gets you in reach of the town center and 5 minutes from the nearest beach.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    299
    74
    23
    6
See reviews for
45
305
173
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

Stayed for 1 week B&B in 2 rooms.108 & 208. Both rooms small and overlooking a side street. walls are thin, noise travels easily. smallest bathroom in the world in dire need of a facelift, dirty tile grout etc but cleaners were very good. pool small and a total lack of sunbeds even in Sept ! breakfast basic but ok, served to 11am - so nice for a lie-in. Tony on Reception pleasant, always greeting guests. very gay hotel but not an issue for us,met 3 gay canadians- hi guys - drank too much but had a laugh. bar shut at end of August which was disappointing but not a big hassle - take supermarket drinks to pool or use Sweet & Glam cafe/bar right across street- great place/lovely staff. nothing cheap in Sitges except cigs 30euros 200, but very spanish resort - no lager louts/british pubs/english breakfasts about - perfect. best restraurant was the "Beach House" 25 euros for 4 course food which was stunning. Monbus from BCN airport drops you right at the hotel for 2,85 euros single. coming back walk under train track and get Monbus at the concrete Sitges sculpture - 4 min walk from hotel back to BCN airport. Taxi too dear/train too confusing with bags/line change etc. this hotel is in a fab location and was cheap thru travelrepublic great for 7 days but would not stay 14 nights due to small rooms/balcony/bathroom etc. best rooms on 4th floor overlooking pool but very few of these. get rooms at the right price for 7 days and go with an open mind and you will enjoy ! PS: all the beaches here were great/fine sand and clean plus nice bars around the marina.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

Well - after reading all the reviews on this hotel before leaving I thought it only fair to write something on my own experience. I was a little apprehensive before leaving because we were going in the height of summer and I knew that there was no air conditioning.

We arrived at 11.30pm at night and we were given a room facing the pool like we'd requested. It was on the ground floor which we were a little weary about because of security/privacy but there was a sort of wall with holes in in front of the balcony that gave you some privacy and some view of the pool. We couldn't work the fan and eventually the guy from reception got it working for us. The first three days I wasn't that happy with the room - it was very hot and I didn't like the fact I could hear people as though they were in the room in the morning - they were only gossiping next to the pool (which only opens at 11am) although once i'd got used to the heat - and was comfortable leaving the doors open I fell in love with the hotel.

It's extremely charming and very Spanish.. there is free wi fi in the bar and reception area which is good - although bring your own laptop etc. The breakfast is plentiful and the one lady working in the dining room is constantly ensuring that there is enough of everything. The cleaners are great and very trustworthy - Margarita had closed our doors for us one morning and when we got back she apologised but wanted to make sure our stuff was safe.

We never used the pool as there are so many nice beaches in Sitges but it seemed like a nice pool with a good mix of people.

To be honest, this hotel is great. I cannot recommend it enough. Once you get used to the fact that there is no air con (and we survived for thousands of years without it) you can have a very pleasant stay. Try having a cold shower just before bed - leave your doors open and the fan on (close the curtain) and there is enough of a cross wind to maintain a decent enough temperature. Take ear plugs in case you're on the road side of the hotel (although these rooms looked much more private and if you like people watching they will be perfect).

At the end of the day, Sitges and Barcelona have plenty of things to see and do and why would you want to stay in your hotel room for that long on holiday anyway? The train station is very close to the hotel so getting to and from Barcelona is a doddle! I'm sure if they put air con in the rooms the prices would go up and there would be no 'reasonable' priced hotels left in Sitges. Long live El Cid!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garethwestlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

This was my 4th and last visit to this hotel. We have stayed at this hotel 4 years running due to price, location and friendly staff. As in previous years I emailed ahead asking for a room facing the pool as I had read that the rooms on the outside of the building were noisy. Despite having booked for 10 nights on arrival we were allocated a room overlooking the busiest road in Sitges. From dawn til late at night cars, buses and scooters drove up and down the road which meant sleeping with the balcony doors shut. And with no aircon in the hotel, in the middle of summer, sleep was impossible.

When I asked to be moved I met with a very frosty reception at Reception. And was told that being a regular client counted for nothing. After 2 nights we were moved to a quieter room but not without scowls and mutterings from staff on duty. And they made us pack all our stuff, walk down 3 flights of stairs to Reception only to be given the room opposite our original. Punishment for daring to complain we assumed.

At £50 a night approx and with a room lottery and unfriendly staff this hotel no longer represents the bargain it once was in my opinion.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mrnlees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

We stayed at El Cid in June 2009. The hotel has a friendly spanish feel. The rooms are very basic and in this heat, a fridge and a fan should have been a must, however, this is a one star accommodation provider. We took a trip to reception to request an iron and ironing board which were provided (we had to carry it to the room ourselves). The lift was not working on arrival and there was no assistance with luggage.

The reception team are very friendly with perhaps the exception of Antonio who seems to have a different level of service for each guest. Check-in was not so impressive. The Night Receptionist 'Manuel' is an asset to the hotel - very freindly and fun to talk to even with the slight language barrier - we thank him for his fantastic restaurant recommendation La Fragata

The House-keeping staff are very friendly although the standard of service within your room is adequate, not fantastic. The bathroom is very small and somewhat in need of a refit. The shower curtain very annoying and it seems there used to be a shower screen. The balcony is a nice touch overlooking the pool but not very private. If you want a sun lounger by the pool, better st off after breakfast or forget it - its busy all day ! The hotel itself, especially the room is noisy from other guest rooms and from street noise !

Breakfast - the Continental Breakfast Buffet offers a limited choice of breakfast items but the presentation is very nice (one girl seemed to look after the breakfast room every morning and does not look too happy about it) We loved the coffee, the frsh fruit juice machine and the fact that we could prepare our own toast. There was no ambiance at breakfast which could perhaps be provided by some tasteful background music.....the breakfast room was very quiet....almost deathly !!

In general we liked the El Cid, although it was far too basic for our taste. The hotel bar was open infrequently and the lounge areas were used only by staff.

So, Sitges itself - a great place, lots of fantastic restaurants (and a few poor ones) but we recommend El Margallo at 92-94 Passeig Maritim and Santa Maria down by the seafront in the centre of Sitges. Start with pre-dinner drinks at The Hotel Romantic who offer great cocktails.

Watch out for the taxis from Reus Airport - they charge too much !! 110 Euros. On the way back, we got a train to St Vincent, then a connecting train to Reus and a taxi from there to Reus Airport (approx 30 Euros).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IlDestino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockholm
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

I've just returned from a great holiday in Sitges. The staff is more then great and the rooms are (though a bit "tired" and in need of some "tlc") good, but a little disturbing traffic from the street, so you should order a room above the reception or the pool. Only thing missing was some ac, the fan didn't do much to ease the heat at night. The breakfast is great, just what I need.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swethom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

We were in two minds about a holiday. Then we found this hotel, which was about half the price of other hotels. To cut a long story short, the best thing we've ever done. Ok, you don't get a telephone in your room, or a tv, or tea and coffee...but do you really need that? We asked for a quiet room overlooking the pool and we got it. Yes, the swimming pool had a few kids around etc but in all, the hotel was peaceful, despite the very central location. Everything is walking distance, even the playa de Balmins (which is the best nudist beach to go to) is less than 20 mins walk. All of the bars and cafes are 2 streets away, and there is an internet cafe opposite. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Some people mentioned the breakfast lady being grumpy....rubbish. She did a great job at keeping the very abundant buffet topped up and they never run out of anything. The room was cosy but spotlessly clean. The housekeepers got us an iron when we asked.
On our last day, we checked out, then went to the beach for the day and returned to collect our luggage....they said that we could have a dip in the pool and have a shower there before leaving. So we went to the airport all freshened up. The hotel also has a strong "old spanish" character...some people would call that "in need of modernisation" but that's exactly the kind of rustic thing we like. Although it is not a gay hotel, it is very gay friendly and many guys stay there, mostly couples. Considering that an exclusively gay hotel would have cost more than twice as much, we were extremely happy. In the end, we probably had our best holiday so far...thanks to El Cid's very reasonable rates, we had pleanty of cash left for restaurant meals. Highly recommended if you are on a budget, and want the central location. AND you get a massive breakfast included. We will return soon!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niceandhonestchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#12 of 40 in Sitges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#8 of 40 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#3 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Los Globos
Hotel Los Globos
#11 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cid

Property: Hotel El Cid
Address: C/ San Jose 39, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#5 Family Hotel in Sitges
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel El Cid 1*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing