We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel El Cid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Cid
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2010

just returned from the el cid hotel had a great time for 2 weeks
Hotel very clean and Tony and staff very friendly and helpfull
The pool area very good for a relaxing holiday
Overall very good value for money and cant wait to return
George and David Aberdeen Scotland

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aberdeenred123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2010

Fantastic! Went for 3 nights on my own (solo female) for sun, sea and relaxation. The most friendly and helpful staff I have ever met on my travels! Top rate pool, bedroom, (slept like a log), bar, breakfast (so much choice, good quality). Is this really a 1 star hotel? more like a 3-4 star with great price! Very clean and charming decor. Close to beach, shops and nightlife and safe location, 4 mins walk from station but didn't hear trains at all. One bed room had noisy plumbing so got moved to a triple bed room no extra cost. Only 3 Euros on train from Barcelona airport (30 mins, one change). Sitges great for all people. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spainsunwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I have stayed several times here quite simply because it suits all of my needs. It's a great friendly hotel in a superb location in town. Near the bus stop & railway station too. El Cid has charm & character. The rooms do vary but I always get a good one. The hotel has recently been refurbished - rooms redecorated, air con added, tvs in rooms & free wi-fi too. Breakfast has lots of choice, cereals, fruit, breads & pastries, meats, cheeses, toast etc etc..
The manager Toni is always helpful. The pool area is both fun & relaxed. Rooms that overlook the pool are slightly more expensive but worth it. Rooms on the 4th floor are the most spacious. You can get this hotel for a very reasonable price, and at the end of the day all you should use a hotel for in Sitges is somewhere to put your head in comfort at night! Thoroughly recommend this no frills but great hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gstarjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

So I've been spoiled in Sitges having paid more for much better or booking earlier and getting more for the same price. We booked this a week before we left so I can't complain overly.

The best thing about this place - the pool. Having sat on the beach in Sitges more or less every summer for the last few years, we barely left the pool this time.

The worst thing about this place - the room. Tiny, grotty, no light and a bathroom that looked like it belonged in a prison. The fan looked like it was going to fall off in the night and decapitate one of us. As with most hotels in Sitges during the summer, there was no chance of an upgrade or room change because it was packed.

Breakfast was a buffet and just about stomach-able.

The staff were friendly enough and the service was as you would expect. All in all, it was al that you might expect for a cheap last minute Spanish holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bermondsey_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Hotel is a real find and an all too rare gem.

Rooms basic but very pleasant and kept clean throughout our stay. Towels changed daily.

Staff always friendly, pleasant and more than willing to help and advise.

Pool a real bonus but be warned that it is not heated and not for the faint hearted.

This was our first visit to Sitges and Hotel El Cid but it certainly won't be our last.

Take the price into consideration and you will have a great holiday, we certainly did.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blowhorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

A basic clean hotel in a good location in Sitges. Rooms are clean and spacious but have no TV or air conditioning, which is fine when all you really need is a bed. For short term breaks of a week or less Hotel El Cid really does offer value for money if you manage to get a pool view room with balcony, which I was fortunate enough to get.

The service is friendly and breakfasts are more than basic with more than one option available - coffee, juice, toast, bread, cheese, ham etc.

I have always stayed with the same group of hotels in Sitges, El Galeon and Platjador are also part of the same group of Hotel El Cid, but this hotel is the most basic of the three but still offers some real value for the price.

Centrally located and easy walking distance from Sitges train station only 5 minutes away, a short 2 minute walk gets you in reach of the town center and 5 minutes from the nearest beach.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Stayed for 1 week B&B in 2 rooms.108 & 208. Both rooms small and overlooking a side street. walls are thin, noise travels easily. smallest bathroom in the world in dire need of a facelift, dirty tile grout etc but cleaners were very good. pool small and a total lack of sunbeds even in Sept ! breakfast basic but ok, served to 11am - so nice for a lie-in. Tony on Reception pleasant, always greeting guests. very gay hotel but not an issue for us,met 3 gay canadians- hi guys - drank too much but had a laugh. bar shut at end of August which was disappointing but not a big hassle - take supermarket drinks to pool or use Sweet & Glam cafe/bar right across street- great place/lovely staff. nothing cheap in Sitges except cigs 30euros 200, but very spanish resort - no lager louts/british pubs/english breakfasts about - perfect. best restraurant was the "Beach House" 25 euros for 4 course food which was stunning. Monbus from BCN airport drops you right at the hotel for 2,85 euros single. coming back walk under train track and get Monbus at the concrete Sitges sculpture - 4 min walk from hotel back to BCN airport. Taxi too dear/train too confusing with bags/line change etc. this hotel is in a fab location and was cheap thru travelrepublic great for 7 days but would not stay 14 nights due to small rooms/balcony/bathroom etc. best rooms on 4th floor overlooking pool but very few of these. get rooms at the right price for 7 days and go with an open mind and you will enjoy ! PS: all the beaches here were great/fine sand and clean plus nice bars around the marina.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 40 in Sitges
1,293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
1,894 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Capri
Hotel Capri
#4 of 40 in Sitges
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 40 in Sitges
806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 40 in Sitges
1,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cid

Address: C/ San Jose 39, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#5 Family Hotel in Sitges
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range: £36 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel El Cid 1*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing