We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Breakfast”
Review of Hotel Galeon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Galeon
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast”
Reviewed 2 May 2011

There were three of us in two double rooms. The beds are enormous and so comfortable, I slept so well. The rooms are cleaned daily but we were on the fourth floor so the maids wouldn't get there sometimes till 4pm to clean the room. Wifi is available in only one area and should be extended throughout. However, I loved my stay here. The reception staff were incredibly helpful and researched train timetables for us. But the best thing about this hotel is the fantastic breakfast. You can have Cava with smoked salmon, or even a Bloody Mary if you had a bit of a hangover. The selection of fruits, cakes, breads were incredible, or you can have simple breakfast. It is a short walk to the beach and I will certainly stay here when I return

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from noisy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank th0mgall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Thank you for taking your time to post your reviews about our hotel.We are pleased that you enjoy your stay in Sitges and we hope that we had contributed to that. About the cleaning service, we try that the maids beggining every day for different areas in order that not evey day the same rooms been cleaned late.We are very grateful that you mentioned our breakfast service because we make a lot of effort to improveit.If you decide to return in the future we will be very gratefull to hear your comments about the improvements we will made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    816
    349
    61
    19
    15
See reviews for
105
640
159
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Great rooms with extra king size beds, nice pool, super- friendly, helpful and welcoming staff, ideal location (very central but very quiet), mainly gay guests and the biggest choice of quality food at breakfast one would expect in a 5* hotel. The lack of a balcony is the only thing that isn't great but you're not going to Sitges to sit on a balcony. Ideal for the town centre and the beaches, all within 5-10 mins walking distance. Absolute value for money and we'll definitely come back when in Sitges the next time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk1378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that. Many thanks for your appreciation to the result of the efforts of workers in the Hotel, they worry that everything is to your liking and have a memorable stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

You can walk everywhere, central location. Some rooms they don't have shutters, so if you have lite sleep try to avoids those rooms.
Nice, simple and clean hotel with all mods.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotpedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 24 April 2011
Thank you very much for having found time to write a review of Hotel Galeón of Sitges. I really appreciate your feedback; we encouraged that our customers to have an unforgettable stay in Sitges.
This year we changed the shutters by curtains that block the light. We will review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno
Level 6 Contributor
546 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

- clean bathroom
- enough space in room
- balcony
- good breakfest buffet
- kindly recepcionist
- free internet on a computer in the hall
- in the center

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rbbrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gleiwitz, OS
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Nice hotel, in city center.. and Sitges itself is perfect place, if you want to rest from crowded Barcelona (and still you can get ther by train in 30 mins)

Sitges is a gay place, but if you have nothing against, it should be fine. Do not bother too much. Galeon hotel was 50% gays guests.

Rooms were quite small for family with kids, they provided a craddle for free.
Breakfest service was GREAT, free coffe and tea in the after noon (from automat)

I hope by next time, they finish constructions nearby the hotel (not very noisy, but sometimes only during the day, which we did not care)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpGleiwitz_OS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Very handy location with easy walking distance to/from railway station. A little 'dated' but comfortable and quiet, although thin walls. Wonderful extensive breakfast and friendly, helpful staff. Excellent value for money. No hesitation in recommending this to others at this rate.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

This hotel would have to have the most varied food available for breakfast out of all the hotels I have ever stayed in. The buffet choices range from savoury breads, meats and cheeses to whole fish, fruit, cakes, pastries, ice cream,juices, champagne, cocktails and a variety of hot foods such as eggs etc. The spread was just amazing. We could not believe what was available!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 38 in Sitges
1,840 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Cid
Hotel El Cid
#4 of 38 in Sitges
926 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#5 of 38 in Sitges
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#12 of 38 in Sitges
1,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 38 in Sitges
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galeon

Property: Hotel Galeon
Address: C/ San Francisco 46, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#7 Business Hotel in Sitges
#8 Family Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galeon 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Galeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galeon Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing