We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Galeon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Galeon
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

I have just come back from a nice week at the hotel, partly a solo stay then with my partner. Being visually impaired I am careful in my choice considering my enjoyment and safety. From my arrival, Cesar on reception was great offering assistance when needed and guiding me to the Pavillion annexe where I was booked, even offering to swap my room to the main building the following day. This level of service was maintained throughout the week but was not evident from his weekend evening colleague who clearly lacked those sme customer service skills. The room was of a good size and kept very clean even under the bed. The bathroom was a good size and well appointed but if you are less mobile or a larger build then the glass screen is tricky. The shower was good but the multi directional spray in my room, 503, sprayed over the screen and around the bathroom. The roof terrace, jacuzzi and pool area were all in pretty good condition with plenty of seating and sunbeds. On the whole the quality of food provided was good but it seemed regardless of comments from the Brits, the kitchen was eiTher unwilling or unable to serve the hot breakfast goods hot being mostly warm or basically cold. The variety of available breakfast goods was excellent especially the tortilla! The evening buffet was repeated several nights so after the first time I was uninspired to pay for it again but was good value for money on the whole I would recommend and stay at this hotel again. If it includes breakfast, take advantage but if room only, don't worry as there are plenty of places to eat. Finally, for those who like their wifi, the signal strength was very good wherever I used it. Definitely a good value for money stay with a gold star for service to Cesar.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy36ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you very much for posting such lovely comments, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    344
    58
    19
    15
See reviews for
99
629
158
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

What a fantastic hotel. Great location! Friendly staff and great value. The bad thing about this hotel is how sunburnt I got in the jacuzzi on the roof terrace. A/C was quiet, Buffett was brilliant and so much to choose from. Security camera's in public areas so felt safe. First time in Sitges and will definitely will return and recommend friends. See you all again.

Room Tip: What a fantastic hotel. Great location! Friendly staff and great value. The bad thing about this hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrben34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to post it on Tripadvisor.
Take care and we hope to see you next time you’re in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our party visited here as part of a 50th birthday celebration and we found the hotel to be a perfectly good 3 star establishment. The reception staff are helpful, and its generally clean and pretty well kept. The dining room does have the look of a cheap café but the food (breakfast) is good and that is what counts. However, on the first morning of our stay we did hear of another guest having her handbag taken from the restaurant by a couple who walked in off the street during the breakfast. She was obviously very upset and from what we could tell the problem was reported to the police. We don't know what happened next and weren't aware of any other problems at the hotel. All-in-all we'd be more than happy to stop here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for posting a review, it's really appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for three nights in September 2013 as a stop over while waiting to go on a cruise from Barcelona. What a find a lovely hotel right in the centre of everything.

The staff were very friendly and went the extra mile to assist us in having a good time. The breakfast was great and plentiful with lots of choice. You could have a long lie in bed and have your breakfast till 12 noon and we found that the food was continually replenished.

The hotel is situated just round from the train station and a short walk from the Monbus stop which we used to come from the airport. The hotel is also close to the shops, restaurants and just a short walk to reach the beach.

The bed in our room was very comfortable and afforded a great nights sleep. I really don't know what else you would want from a hotel and for a great price.

I would recommend this hotel without reservation. There was a few little things that could have been better but to mention them would really be getting picky.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamesb907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wedmore, Somerset
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed in the Annexe and thought our room was excellent value for money. The room was quiet and had its own balcony the decoration was fine and everything was spotless.

The bathroom was lovely with a great shower.

Staff couldn't have been more helpful, polite and considerate.

And the breakfast was amazing. Everything you could think of was provided AND it was open until 12noon!

We LOVED it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chestnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, it's really appreciated.
We're very flattered that you ' highly recommended ' us, thank you. We seem to have really terrific people stay here and you are no exception! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I booked the hotel for the reviews and location. Location is good, perfect for the town and railway station and beaches but I was surprised to find that I was not in the main hotel but in another building (an annex) on another street and I was told my room was a superior room, My room was ok though there was a lack of hot water quite a lot of the time. My room overlooked a very noisy bar/beer garden and even with my balcony door closed the noise was an issue. The annex has no real facilities. I don't consider a drinks machine a real facility in a hotel. The breakfast was good and varied. So overall my stay was adequate but not excellent. I asked for an extra 1 hour on the sunday and was flatly refused.

Room Tip: Not facing the bar or the street and choose to stay in the main hotel not the annex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDUinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments on trip advisor and your choice to stay in our hotel during your stay in Sitges
We are very sorry that you have been somehow disappointed and want to kindly ask for your understanding for these points where our hotel didn’t fill your expectations .
The hotel Galeón is a complex of two separate buildings named respectively t he “Galeón” and the “Galeón Pavillón”. The “Galeón” building has got a slightly different equipment than the “Galeón Pavillón” building. Basically in the rooms. The rooms in the “Galeón Pavillón” have a guaranteed small balcony or terrace and are provided with a kettle and tea service, a shower massage and a parket floor that our Standard rooms in the Galeón do not have. Also, there is jacuzzi, a PC set and a free of charge caffee dispenser for our guests there.
It is true that sometimes some of our guests are confused about our two room categories “Standard” (all located in the Galeón) and “Superior” (all located in the Galeón Pavillón).
We think this may be the case: you possibly booked a superior room and you were allocated consequently in the Galeón Pavillón. As you did’nt expect to be allocated in a room there, this may be the cause of this misunderstanding
We want to apologize if the information previously provided has not beeing clear enough .
About your comment about some noise comming from the nighbourhood, the Sitges authorities do not allow unadequate late noise in town. If any noise would disturb our guests or other Sitges residents at unappropiate hours, we would call the local pólice to stop it. That is why we always insist with our guests to be informed of any inconvenience that would disturb them any time. Reception is open 24 hours and there is a direct reeption number to call from any room in The Galeón or in the Galeón Pavillón.
We want to finally apologize for not having been able to allow you to stay in your room one more hour. The hotel was full that day and new guests had already arrived and were waiting for their rooms. We can assure you that if it would have been posible, you’d had been allowed to stay. As a matter of fact this is the actual hotel Galeón policy.
Although it is a good thing for the hotel to have a very good occupancy most of the time it may oblige us to refuse this kind of requests sometimes. We understand that our guests may feel disappointed for such a small request not beeing fulfilled but ,if we did, the difficulties for new arrivals to get their rooms on time would be quite bigger.
Please, accept our most sincere apologies if your stay with us has not been as good as expected. We can only compromiso our best efforts to keep working in a way to avoid this kind of inconvenient situations from happening again.
Yours sincerely

Tha management
Hotel Galeón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Great hotel, from the receptionist's welcome all the way through to the end. Stayed here a few years ago and thought I would give it another visit. The man on reception was polite and informative, he gave us a room close to our friends room. The rooms are well appointed, everything you need; fridge with a complimentary water. Toiletries, and coffee/tea etc all there for you. A big bonus is the free safe. Beach towels are free (deposit 20E), so no need to bring any, you can change them when you want. Breakfast really good. We were in the Pavillion Hotel, set on the street behind the main hotel. On the roof there is a sun-deck with a Jacuzzi. Very central location and I can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you like a balcony (although small) book a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you very much for posting such lovely comments, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us! We enjoyed your company very much and would love to see you return in the future, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 38 in Sitges
1,794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Cid
Hotel El Cid
#5 of 38 in Sitges
888 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#4 of 38 in Sitges
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 38 in Sitges
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 38 in Sitges
906 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galeon

Property: Hotel Galeon
Address: C/ San Francisco 46, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#7 Business Hotel in Sitges
#8 Family Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galeon 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Galeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galeon Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing