We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, quiet, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Galeon

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Galeon
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect location, quiet, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I echo much of what has already been said. This hotel was a real find, and we were very happy with our stay.

We stayed in a superior room, in the annex, the rooms were well portioned and well equipped. A very large safe, tea/coffee making facilities in the room, complimentary toiletries. There was also a coffee machine on the ground floor. Free high-speed wifi. Flat screen LCD TV with a good range of channels. Fridge with 2 bottles of water. Power shower. A well appointed balcony with 2 chairs and a small table.

The breakfast was expensive with lots to choose from, what made it even more enjoyable was it being open until 12 noon, which meant after a late night out we were still able to have the free breakfast! Perfect!

The location was on a quiet street and we slept very well. It is a 5-10 minute walk to the beach. The area seems to be well governed in terms of bars not being able to play loud music, the streets were empty at night with no noise from those leaving bars/clubs.

The main hotel, on the adjacent street has a swimming pool with loungers.

No complaints, will definitely return to this hotel, if it isn't already fully booked as I'm sure it will be!

Thank you to all staff for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ukukukuk1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
It was a pleasure to be able to host you and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here in Sitges.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor, it's certainly much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    329
    57
    18
    14
See reviews for
96
606
150
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

When I first arrived at the hotel it was as expected as I had stayed at the sister hotel 3 years ago. The room was fine all be it that I'd requested a balcony and this didn't have one. Friends were staying at the same hotel and had been there a few day before. The first day the breakfast was perfect but the next 3 days the sausages for breakfast got progressively more uncooked which I avoided. On the last day my friend came down with diarrhoea and sickness whilst I can't say this was the breakfast but it was the only food me and friend had as the same. As on the day of return I came down with the same, this bacteria is called 'SHIGELLA' which is cause by a lack of food hygiene.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank essexboi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you very much for your recent visit to our hotel and the time dedicated to comment your experiences on tripAdvisor.

It is true that, unfortunatelly, we are not able sometimes to fulfil our guest request of a room with a balcony but have to explain that only part of our standard rooms have a balcony and therefore this can not be guaranteed. However, if a guest thinks it adequate to change rooms later, we are always very happy to organize it as soon as possible. On the other hand, our superior rooms are all provided with this facility.

We also want to remind that our breakfast is presented in a buffet and is serviced by professional cooks and waiters. Food is cooked, eaten and replaced several times during the service every morning. If one of our guests wants his food prepared in a specific way, our waiters will be very happy to request it from the kitchen and make sure that it is done.

We are finally very sorry to read that you and your friend didn't feel well after your visit to Spain but can not accept your suggestion that our breakfast could be the cause for it.

Our company has a specific department dedicated to maintain the best standards of food quality and hygiene. It has had each one of our staff members involved to receive the necessary training on food handling and processing and has since long established the necessary protocols and periodic internal inspections to ensure them.
Besides, the whole system is regularly reviewed and tested by an specialized external company. The results of these tests have always been positive and are the guarantee of our adequate policy on food hygiene.

We are ready to send to your E-mail adress a copy of these results to rule out any doubt you might have concerning our food quality.

We want to express one more time how grateful we are to our guests for their words on trip advisor. They always help us to focuss on what are their concerns and interests and improve our services.

Please, do not hesitate to contact the hotel for any further question or suggestion.

Yours sincerely

The management
Hotel Galeón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

I have just come back from a nice week at the hotel, partly a solo stay then with my partner. Being visually impaired I am careful in my choice considering my enjoyment and safety. From my arrival, Cesar on reception was great offering assistance when needed and guiding me to the Pavillion annexe where I was booked, even offering to swap my room to the main building the following day. This level of service was maintained throughout the week but was not evident from his weekend evening colleague who clearly lacked those sme customer service skills. The room was of a good size and kept very clean even under the bed. The bathroom was a good size and well appointed but if you are less mobile or a larger build then the glass screen is tricky. The shower was good but the multi directional spray in my room, 503, sprayed over the screen and around the bathroom. The roof terrace, jacuzzi and pool area were all in pretty good condition with plenty of seating and sunbeds. On the whole the quality of food provided was good but it seemed regardless of comments from the Brits, the kitchen was eiTher unwilling or unable to serve the hot breakfast goods hot being mostly warm or basically cold. The variety of available breakfast goods was excellent especially the tortilla! The evening buffet was repeated several nights so after the first time I was uninspired to pay for it again but was good value for money on the whole I would recommend and stay at this hotel again. If it includes breakfast, take advantage but if room only, don't worry as there are plenty of places to eat. Finally, for those who like their wifi, the signal strength was very good wherever I used it. Definitely a good value for money stay with a gold star for service to Cesar.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy36ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you very much for posting such lovely comments, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

What a fantastic hotel. Great location! Friendly staff and great value. The bad thing about this hotel is how sunburnt I got in the jacuzzi on the roof terrace. A/C was quiet, Buffett was brilliant and so much to choose from. Security camera's in public areas so felt safe. First time in Sitges and will definitely will return and recommend friends. See you all again.

Room Tip: What a fantastic hotel. Great location! Friendly staff and great value. The bad thing about this hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrben34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to post it on Tripadvisor.
Take care and we hope to see you next time you’re in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our party visited here as part of a 50th birthday celebration and we found the hotel to be a perfectly good 3 star establishment. The reception staff are helpful, and its generally clean and pretty well kept. The dining room does have the look of a cheap café but the food (breakfast) is good and that is what counts. However, on the first morning of our stay we did hear of another guest having her handbag taken from the restaurant by a couple who walked in off the street during the breakfast. She was obviously very upset and from what we could tell the problem was reported to the police. We don't know what happened next and weren't aware of any other problems at the hotel. All-in-all we'd be more than happy to stop here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for posting a review, it's really appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for three nights in September 2013 as a stop over while waiting to go on a cruise from Barcelona. What a find a lovely hotel right in the centre of everything.

The staff were very friendly and went the extra mile to assist us in having a good time. The breakfast was great and plentiful with lots of choice. You could have a long lie in bed and have your breakfast till 12 noon and we found that the food was continually replenished.

The hotel is situated just round from the train station and a short walk from the Monbus stop which we used to come from the airport. The hotel is also close to the shops, restaurants and just a short walk to reach the beach.

The bed in our room was very comfortable and afforded a great nights sleep. I really don't know what else you would want from a hotel and for a great price.

I would recommend this hotel without reservation. There was a few little things that could have been better but to mention them would really be getting picky.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamesb907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wedmore, Somerset
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed in the Annexe and thought our room was excellent value for money. The room was quiet and had its own balcony the decoration was fine and everything was spotless.

The bathroom was lovely with a great shower.

Staff couldn't have been more helpful, polite and considerate.

And the breakfast was amazing. Everything you could think of was provided AND it was open until 12noon!

We LOVED it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chestnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, it's really appreciated.
We're very flattered that you ' highly recommended ' us, thank you. We seem to have really terrific people stay here and you are no exception! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Cid
Hotel El Cid
#5 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#4 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 40 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#12 of 40 in Sitges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galeon

Property: Hotel Galeon
Address: C/ San Francisco 46, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#7 Business Hotel in Sitges
#8 Family Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galeon 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your Hotel Galeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galeon Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing