We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay”
Review of Hotel Galeon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galeon
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We just returned from a 2 week stay. We had a great stay. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

We had superior rooms in the annex - Galeon Pavillion. This is a very short walk from the main hotel. It had everything you could want. The bed was very comfy. We had a large terrace/balcony. On the roof of this building is a sun deck with its own Jacuzzi.

The main hotel pool was not huge, but adequate. It had another Jacuzzi. There were enough sun loungers and chairs around with a fair amount of space so you were not too close to other guests.

We should have checked out where in relation to the train station the hotel was. After a rather taxing journey we decided to get a taxi there. The taxi driver refused to take us. We now realise this was because the hotel was in a pedestrianized area and very close to the station. He probably could not have got us much closer than we already were.

Breakfast - self service - from 8am to noon was a buffet and had an amazing range to suit all tastes and satisfy any appetite!

The free home made lemonade throughout the day was a great idea as were the free tea and cakes in the afternoon.

Dinner - self service - was great value at 10 Euros. It could be improved if the restaurant could lose the cafeteria feel. More subtle lighting and breaking the area up a bit perhaps.

We would happily go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
WOW, thank you, high praise indeed!
So glad you enjoyed your stay here, and a big thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We would love to have you stay with us again, sometime in the future.
In the meantime, take care of yourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    791
    342
    58
    18
    14
See reviews for
98
626
155
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Excellent stay early July 2014 for 4 nights. Excellent location, helpful and informative staff. Great condition and well maintained, clean. Bathroom and shower and shower pressure great. Comfortable bed, room quiet, good storage and high stud. Excellent mid range hotel, would recommend to others.

Very pleasant surprise was extensive buffet breakfast included in price - fantastic.Cold drinks, tea, coffee at reception lounge, and gratis beach towels.

Handy to station and buses, but located in nice street in central Sitges, with character but away from noisy nightlife.

Perfect, value for money. Comfortable.

Room Tip: Had room in inner part of hotel with natural light but no view. Was just fine as we were out most o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.
Thank you for your company and we would love to see you return sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

What sets a great hotel apart from the mediocre or mundane ? It's the little things , that can go a long way to make or break a holiday . The 3 star hotel Galeon , exceeds expectation and packs a punch . Clean , comfortable with a great breakfast buffet included . Lovely outdoor courtyard with pool and jacuzzi to relax by after a day out in Sitges. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a little more than just value for money .

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ADRIAN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your great review and for taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor, it's certainly appreciated!
We consider ourselves very fortunate for the fact that our guests are invariably very nice people, who deserve to be properly treated, it is very rewarding for us to have guests, such as yourselves, post such lovely opinions of their stay. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Excellent mid priced hotel in Sitges town, near the train station and 5mins to the beach.
The breakfast buffet is truly amazing!
Room in the Pavilion Annex was great, with a big bathroom, clean and modern. The pool area at the back of the main hotel is lovely

Room Tip: The superior rooms - ie in the Annex - are very quiet, have bigger modern bathrooms and fast free wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I have returned year after year to this splendid hotel - I keep going back because It is simply a great place to stay. Money wise it cannot be beaten and year on year they seem to somehow make things even better. The breakfasts are simply fantastic, the evening meal is nothing less than amazing - with a wonderful choice of food at prices than cannot be beaten anywhere in the town. 10,00 € for all you can eat????? It's crazy but true. However one word of caution - be prepared for pork almost every night (alongside masses of other lovely things besides) The rooms as usual are spotless, service second to none with a more than helpful team on reception always willing to offer a helping hand. Maybe the bathrooms are a little dated, but never the less spotlessly clean. Great hotel - and yes, I will be back again next year. And do take advantage of the free early evening drink at the Galeon's sister hotel Platjador, on the se front - some amazing views from the fifth floor bar. Its only July - I can't wait for summer 2015!!!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms can be noisy - back rooms, on upper floors offer views of the pool. I have neve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haydn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you, for the lovely things you said.
I guess the highest compliment we can be paid as accommodation providers, is to have guests return and enjoy their stay for another time, thank you for that and for your company. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from a 5 nights stay, we were greeted by reception on check in by a very friendly knowledgeable gentlemen who checked us in promptly. We were allocated a room in the main building which had a balcony which was very nice the bed was massive and very comfy slept well every night, we were on the roadside side of the hotel it was very nice as you could see up and down the high street, a little noisy at night but didn't really disturb us.The restaurant though is another story I'm afraid, I find it hard to believe all others who have said how good it is when actually it's total rubbish, poorly managed and a serious health risk.. breakfast is buffet style bacon beans toast, cakes the usual continental stuff etc, but eggs are not pre cooked you have to ask for these and you can have them in most forms. I asked the waiter on the first morning for four fried eggs but they never materialised so I had something else instead. I asked again on the second day and waited almost 25 minutes for them to arrive I almost gave up it wasn't even busy as we were at breakfast at 8 with only another couple eating. The third day I asked for poached eggs and was told I needed to wait, so I waited 30 minutes to be given one measly poached egg when I asked for four. I didn't bother on the forth day as it seemed to much hassle. On the fifth and final morning I asked for four poached eggs the waiter repeated four as if to say why do you want four eggs, it was clearly two each for me and my partner, these we given after 20 minutes...its almost feels like your asking for a golden egg...It's very odd they they don't have any form of eggs pre prepared for breakfast it's the first time I've every experienced this and suggest they change this method. Breakfast replenishment is also very slow. The restaurant issues didn't stop there, we opted to eat the evening meal for 10euros pp for guests, the first night was ok just very basic food, the second night we ate again in the evening and opted for pork cheek which was basically a pork chop, which when I went to cut into it , it was cooked on the outside but not on the inside it was completely raw and I mean raw just the outer surface toasted, my partners was also the same, we called the waitress who took it away but carried on letting people take the pork from the buffet...raw pork is a big no no serious illness will occur and I wouldn't mind betting some people were ill eating this. previous reviews warn of food poisoning at this hotel which the hotel dismiss when providing there comments to reviewers. We didn't eat in the the hotel again after the second night it was too risky, luckily for us we've stayed in sitges quite a few time so know where to go and eat out. You should also note the hotel opens up the restaurant to the public in the evening, both the nights we used it groups of 10 plus of the same people a group of girls stampede into the restaurant and literally empty the buffet starters, mains,and puddings and take it to there tables so nobody else can eat and everybody including hotel guests had to wait for replenishment which was extremely slow. By all means stay at the hotel as it's lovely but avoid the restaurant at all costs unless you want to be ill. Would I stay again yes probably but I would not eat there. Go to the sister hotel plat j adour and have breakfast we've stayed there before and it's far more superior and eat out in the evenings..Ive left three stars for this hotel purely for the restaurant issues as it lets it down I feel this is very fair for our experience and stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paulmark75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking your time to comment our hotel and services. Please, be sure that your words will be taken into serious consideration and all possible measures to correct any malfunction of our restaurant service will be taken.
From now on, our guests will have the option to have their eggs direct from the bouffet if they do not want to wait or to order them to the waiters if they do not mind waiting if necessary.
The hotel bouffet is only open to our guests, but all guests of hotel El Cid and hotel Platjador are also welcome. Actually, we had a group of 30 young people from hotel El Cid that came together for dinner five consecutive days. This might explain the bouffet getting empty so quickly. However, this is exceptional because we rarely have big groups of people for dinner.
We want to thank you as well for the mentioned possibility to welcome you as our guest in the future in spite of your present feelings of disappointment. Hopefully, we’ll be able to take this opportunity to confirm the opinion of the majority of our Restaurant service users and to convince you that your experience was only an exception that confirms the rule.
The only point we want to make is about the possibility of health risks you mention in your comments. Please, be reassured. There is no such possibility. The food is dealt with the maximum possible care and is constantly tested by our food department and a reputed independent Food safety company that provides the hotel and its guests with the corresponding certified guarantee.
Please, do not hesitate to contact us with any possible question in the future. We’ll be delighted to explain and clarify any doubt that might arise.
We look forward to welcoming you in our hotel soon and remain
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Arrived at the Hotel Galeon Sitges on the 4th July 2014 I have stayed at this Hotel every year since 1985 and never disappoints The manager and staff are always helpful and considerate nothing is too much trouble to them they want you to have a pleasant and enjoyable stay from check in to room allocation The rooms are large and spacious with a massive bed the rooms have a safety deposit box a small fridge ideal for cold drinks after a day on the beach air conditioned the rooms are spotlessly clean and are serviced daily. The breakfast buffet offers a substantial choice of freshly prepared food. The hotel offers complimentary afternoon tea or a cool drink. For a small refundable deposit fresh towels are available to take to the beach also parasols are available. The Hotel has a prime location short walk to the beach and to the railway station with excellent train timetable to visit Barcelona and beyond. An abundance of shops are all within walking distance the pool area is pleasant and cleaned serviced daily it also has a hot tub. I was sad to leave but will return again next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the Galeon are pleasant and quiet I prefer the rooms to the rear of the hotel overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We wish you could have stayed longer too! We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind remarks. All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Cid
Hotel El Cid
#4 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#5 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#6 of 40 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 40 in Sitges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galeon

Property: Hotel Galeon
Address: C/ San Francisco 46, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#7 Business Hotel in Sitges
#8 Family Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galeon 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galeon Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing