We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its cute, traditional and ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Medium Romantic
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Its clean, water hot, bed linen fresh and the breakfast is ok. Its not that cheap but its traditional and the staff are ok. I would not stay here any longer than a few days but its in a good location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Medium Romantic
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

I understand this hotel has an old world appeal. I also understand it has a loyal, primarily gay fan base that goes year after year and probably puts up with anything. But that is not good enough. Yes some of the staff are friendly (the workers not the managers) and yes it is quaint and nicely decorated. BUT there is a lack of aircon in most of the rooms, including the public ones, a total lack of lifts which is a problem for the upper floors, and the breakfast is substantial but includes too much processed food and drink and the service is chaotic to say the least. I had several problems during my stay and to say the management were unhelpful would be the understatement of the century. It is relying on its small year in year out fan base, sufficient for a small hotel that never invests in anything to tick over, and will never improve unless people vote with their feet and stay away.

Room Tip: Get one with aircon unless going when cooler.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank CharleyboyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We have visited this Hotel several times over the years and it never fails to deliver on a wonderful atmosphere with friendly and charming staff. The rooms are small but adequate and are all different with antique furniture. There is no air-conditioning but there are electric ceiling fans in each room. The Garden rooms have terraces, which are very useful as space in the rooms is limited. The bathrooms are functional but basic. Breakfast is taken in the garden which is picturesque. Highly recommended, but the competition in the town means that it is not as busy as it used to be.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a garden room as the terraced is well needed extra space
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markieggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Extremely friendly hotel, me & my daughter were made to feel very welcome. The breakfast is functional and fresh if not brilliant. It's a very olde worlde hotel, so no air conditioning, but don't let that put you off. Good location, near to the train station, shops and beach, but not too noisy at night. We have enjoyed our stay here very much - thanks to all at the Romantic!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pablofingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Romantic.
We got a double room w/bathroom and a balcony on the street.
1st of all. Very calm,
very clean

Breakfast was good served in the garden.
The entire hotel is very romantic. and full of history.
The STAFF was excellent and very friendly. You really feel at home.
Even though it is a 2*, they really give you the feeling to be at home.

Be careful no lift, and no a/c in room but okay.

Room Tip: Even if you take a shared bathroom I guess is okay. It is only shared with 2 rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flycampari82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times over an 18 year period. I was concerned that the lack of air-conditioning could be a problem in July but it was not a major issue due to the high ceiling and french doors to my room.
The breakfast has not changed in 18 years and is poor in my opinion. Tinned fruit, too much pre-packed cake and bread and poor coffee resulted in me having breakfast on a daily basis at the cafe opposite which was excellent.
Many staff have worked at the hotel for a very long time and are helpfull polite and do everything possible to make your stay comfortable.
This hotel is atmospheric rather than high tech but the wi-fi worked very well.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden have nice terraces.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cymro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Go to this hotel - make up your own mind about it- you will be delighted and enchanted by it when you consider the alternative character-less hotels available.

It's true - there is no AirConditioning, but the building is from the 19th century and has thick walls and high ceilings (with fans) and A/C is just not necessary. The rooms are full of character and are just charming. We had a room at the back overlooking the garden, plenty of sun the entire day and sun loungers to enjoy it on. Breakfast is simple and fun in the same garden. Extra's are available if you require - just ask the waiter. In the evening a relaxing drink under the trees while waiting for dinner friends is worth more than money and all the other so-called luxuries other hotels offer.

It's home from home - something so rare these days - and the family which runs it are proud and happy that their guests are happy and looked after. It's good to know that quality hotels which look after their guests so well still exist!

Just go there when you're in town and see for yourself.

Better yet, book a room and stand some time there.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the garden side - first or second floor - overlooking the garden with roomy balcony...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
0.3 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 40 in Sitges
1,057 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#6 of 40 in Sitges
2,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 40 in Sitges
1,270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Cid
Hotel El Cid
#4 of 40 in Sitges
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medium Romantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medium Romantic

Address: Sant Isidre, 33, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Price Range: £51 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Medium Romantic 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel medium romantic occupies two modernist-style villas that preserve nineteenth-century decoration. In common areas and rooms it is possible to contemplate an extensive collection of artworks, consisting of paintings, ceramics and original sculptures. The garden is one of the most charming place of all Sitges: a dreamful space where to relax among palm trees, ivy and honeysuckle. The hotel is located in the historic center, five minutes from the beach, the entertainment centers and the train station. It has a bar and several lounges. It offers a delicious hot breakfast, served in one of the interior lounge or in the garden. The rooms are spacious and equipped with all facilities to live a comfortable stay. Some of them have a terrace overlooking the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Medium Romantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantic La Renaixenca Sitges
Romantic La Renaixenca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing