We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place!”
Review of Hotel Liberty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Liberty
Ranked #5 of 25 Sitges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful place!”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

On a quiet street, but just steps from both the railway station and the MON Bus stop to the airport, plus two supermarkets. A few minutes walk to the centre of town and the seafront. Beautiful, clean and comfortable rooms with balconies (and an incredible penthouse with the best view in Sitges). A filling, tasty buffet breakfast--includes meat and cheese, variety of breads, etc., much better than just "continental"-- in a very pretty sunroom and garden. Hosts are friendly and helpful. Note that this is not a hotel, so you have to arrange for them being there when you arrive. Also, no elevator, one of the reasons why this place is such a good value. Everything about it met or exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Tell them what you want in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisVogel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    52
    11
    12
    9
See reviews for
10
117
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
exeter
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We are a lesbian family who stayed at Hotel Liberty. We found it to be a very relaxing environment which was really clean. The owners were genuinely warm, friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was lovely with a great range - we all enjoyed it. We would recommend it to any family, couple etc - it did not disappoint us in any way. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The Liberty was recommended to us by friends who live in Sitges. We were so glad that they did. We were lucky enough to have the penthouse suite which served as a fabulous home from home during our stay. The hotel is quiet, friendly, spotlessly clean and a short walk from the railway station. Add to that the proximity to the beaches and a huge range of restaurants and bars and it is hard to beat. We loved the interesting, characterful building and are looking for an excuse to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pearls007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Hotel Liberty is a chilled hotel situated near the train station and fairly close to where the airport bus drops you off. Although when we stayed we had a car, the owners explained where the free parking was as overwise you can spend 20 euros plus per day.
The hotel is in an ideal location, off a quiet street but very close to the centre of the action.
By the way the real action starts well after midnight so pace yourself especially with the delightful Liberty cocktails made in the bar otherwise you have peeked before everything kicks off, like we did ! The bedroom we had was spacious, clean, very comfortable bed and overlooked the shaded garden where breakfast was served. Breakfast was a cold buffet but certainly enjoyable. All in all a super little find, can't think of anything negative to say. Friendly and interesting owners.

Room Tip: Room with the balcony facing the garden was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martina_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Near railway station (Barcelona line) and local buses, but in a quiet side street
Good rooms - my top floor rear room had balcony. Well supplied with personal needs No lift
Television, wi-fi (free) etc.
Beach towels available
A warm welcome awaits you from the owner/staff - long time Sitges resident couple. Several languages spoken
Be aware that you should advise of arrival time as there is no 24 hour Reception. Leisurly paced establishment. with wide knowledge of what is on and where.
Excellent buffet breakfast taken in the rear garden when fine
Bar opens in evening for pre dinner drinks, and a chat with staff, owners, fellow guests,locals and expats alike
If you want a relaxing break in Sitges this hotel is for you - close to bars, beaches, restaurants, saunas and just to chill out or party !
Dont expect four star hotel services around the clock, fit in, you'll enjoy yourself and have a great time
My one off visit turned into a real desire to return. I'll be back

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious, I prefer one at the rear.. If you need help with luggage warn in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tankerton1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Friendly hosts running this great value, well appointed hotel in the heart of this lovely Spanish town with superb beaches in easy walking distance. Excellent restaurants abound in close vicinity offering a wide range of cuisine to suit all budgets. Cannot recommend this hotel enough!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 187147George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

A lovely clean and friendly hotel. Nice big clean rooms but if your a person who like to have a drink on holiday I would not recommend it. The bar was only open 2hour a day. And you had to go through the bar to use the hotel garden. So you only got to use the garden 2hours a day. A very posh spanish travelodge

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanadoo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
libertysitges, Owner at Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review us and I am pleased that overall you rated us highly. When we bought the hotel (some 12 years ago) we wanted to operate an honesty bar policy and enable guests to enjoy the garden and conservatory, help themselves to a drink and just leave a note so that we could charge their room. Unfortunately several guests drank but didn't pay and some even raided the refrigerator - so reluctantly we decided that we had to limit access to the garden to those times when we were on the premises (8am until 2pm and 6,30pm until 10pm, unless we know of guests arrival, 7 days per week.)
Sorry about this but most guests take to the beaches in the afternoon and we attend to shopping, maintenance issues and have a bit of downtime oursleves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 38 in Sitges
1,247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Cid
Hotel El Cid
#5 of 38 in Sitges
915 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 38 in Sitges
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 38 in Sitges
957 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Medium Romantic
Hotel Medium Romantic
#19 of 38 in Sitges
221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 38 in Sitges
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberty

Property: Hotel Liberty
Address: C. Isla de Cuba 45, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Liberty 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1886 as a Modernista or Cubana style house the Liberty enjoys its historical setting. Cool garden and conservatory doubles for bar and breakfast service. Central for the town and beach (4 minutes easy stroll away) restaurants and bars within 2 minutes. The accommodation is comfortable and well maintained. Spacious by Spanish standards with rooms from 106 to 126sq feet. All rooms have ensuite shower, a/c, refrigerator, sat TV and tea&coffee making facilities. Free wi-fi in public areas. Airport transfers available subject to booking and fee. Close to rail station. Beach towels available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing