We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit in september 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Xalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Xalet
Ranked #3 of 25 Sitges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visit in september 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Once again me and my wife visited Sitges stayed at hotel El Xalet for ten days.
We love the charming hotel with all its art nouveau style.
The owner and her two sons, gives us always, a first class service.
The breakfast at the pool in the old garden, is nice and a very good start of the day.
In the evening you can dine in their beautiful garden restaurant, which is one of the best in Sitges.
We are looking forward to come back, latest next spring.

Sys and Jan Olesen

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jao46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    56
    17
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
86
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

I would recommend to stay away from this hotel, as despite good location and lovely building, the overall experience was sub-standard.
Service is horrendous, no information provided, no effort to provide with basics.
Noisy - people outside the hotel until late hours in the night.
Facilities old and worn out and not clean.
Had to leave at 08:30, and as breakfast is served at 09:00, nothing was offered, not even coffee, although breakfast was fully paid for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Este hotel está emplazado en un palacete modernista del centro de Sitges, junto a la estación. Su principal atractivo es el edificio en sí. It has a small garden occupied by the swimming pool and the restaurant.

The setting of the restaurant (candle lit at night) is very nice and romantic, but food should improve a lot. So should beds and bedlinen. It's not advisable for beach fans because it's far from the beach but it is strategically located to walk about and discover this peculiar city.

Remember that parking is scarce and expensive in Sitges. Getting there by train is much more convenient. Otherwise, if you are lucky, you may find a free parking space (white slots) on the north side of the railway line.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room on the firs floor NOT overlooking the street. Room #103 (a suite) is an exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luohuanma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed at El Xalet for 4 days and think that property is quite good for 2* star hotel. Definitely meets expectations with no advance overvalue.
Hotel takes two really beautiful buildings and located very close to train station (less than 2 minutes walk) and at the same time you can walk to the beach quite fast too (7-8 minutes walking). Breakfast was just ok, but with good coffee all the time and not crowded open air space were it served. Would return there for short stay (2-4 days) for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor up rooms, they got balconies and less noise from street. Also if you want to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Although I loved its architecture, I would not recommend staying here. We could hardly sleep from all the street noise even though we were on the top floor with the windows closed. The air conditioning could not be adjusted so we had to decide between being too hot (A/C off) or too cold. Finally, the bed was terrible -- a mattress on a spring bed that squeaked and shook with every slight movement. I don't think my husband and I were able to get more than a couple hours of sleep.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KTtravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

El Xalet was a gem to stay at in Sitges! It has been refurbished to reflect it's history and elegance complete with original stained glass windows and ornate trimwork. It is right in the heart of the town without being too close to the late night celebrations at bars and restaurants. The courtyard is an oasis, shaded and quiet, a small pool to refresh in or have the children play. The morning breakfasts are freshly amazing! Locally baked croissants are out of this world, fresh fruit, cereals, tea and coffee in this setting are enough to start each morning out right. Dinner at their restaurant was 4 Stars! Delicious and pleasing to the palate, a great representation of local food favorites. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The suite we shared with our family of 4 was perfect with it's own wrap around balcony and tourret. We would definitely return to El Xalet on our next visit to Sitges!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VKK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I've just returned from an 8 night stay and found it to be much as expected. Its a beautiful old building in a quiet side street, 5 mins walk from the station.My room was adjacent to the pavement, but I had no problems at all with street noise. Some of the fittings were a bit dated (the shower head spayed water all over the bathroom if you weren't careful) but there was a comfortable bed, wifi throughout the hotel, a free safe, a fridge and above all it was clean. Breakfast was the same every day but for me it was more than adequate. On arrival at the delightful poolside dining area, you were given your choice of tea or coffee, helped yourself to a bowl of muesli or the other cereal, some fresh fruit, a yoghurt and sometime a hard boiled egg. You were then served a small jug of orange juice and a dinner plate containing a croisant, 2 slices of toast, butter, marmalade and a small cheese or ham roll. Alex, the young man who greeted me was polite and helpful and if ever there was a problem it was soon fixed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Noucentista
Hotel Noucentista
#21 of 40 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#8 of 40 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Cid
Hotel El Cid
#5 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Xalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Xalet

Property: Hotel El Xalet
Address: Carrer Illa de Cuba, 35, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Xalet 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an impressive 19th-century building, Hotel El Xalet maintains original features such as floral stained-glass windows and mosaic floors. It offers an outdoor pool, cocktail bar and free Wi-Fi. Rooms at Hotel El Xalet are decorated with antique furniture. They include a private bathroom and flat-screen TV with satellite channels. El Xalet Restaurant serves traditional Spanish cuisine and an extensive wine list is also available. During summer guests can dine beside the pool. The beach in Sitges is less than 10 minutes' walk from the hotel. Barcelona is 40 minutes away by train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Xalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing