We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great manager Alex!”
Review of Hotel El Xalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Xalet
Ranked #3 of 25 Sitges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great manager Alex!”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I booked two rooms for two nights at this hotel. Due to unforeseen circumstances, I had to cancel it. I had booked a two 'non-refundable rooms' on bookings.com.

The manager Alex kindly only charged me one night of 60 euro. It was a very nice of him and I think they dealt with the situation very well considering they could have kept the full amount I originally paid.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roche_kt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    57
    17
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
89
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

l'hotel is in a very good positions close to the railway station, the cover market, the main attractions of Sitges. Bars pubs and discos are very close too. The atrnophere is relaxing and confortable. The lady owner and her sons are very kinds, The breakfast is fine, I wanna return back very soon,

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincEgbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We booked to stay drawn by the appeal of the character and decor. We were unceremoniously then billeted to a local apartment block down the street to stay in a glorified bedsit in another building altogether. Breakfast was up the street with no on site facilities.
The bar,pool and hotel staff were off site. The room offered was furnished with modern MDF furniture with plastic garden chairs on a unsecured balcony.

Choose this hotel at your peril and specify, as a must , a room within the hotel only if the appeal of the decor is your attraction. Better still..... Look for another hotel with style and character.

Room Tip: Specify this building only
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Once again me and my wife visited Sitges stayed at hotel El Xalet for ten days.
We love the charming hotel with all its art nouveau style.
The owner and her two sons, gives us always, a first class service.
The breakfast at the pool in the old garden, is nice and a very good start of the day.
In the evening you can dine in their beautiful garden restaurant, which is one of the best in Sitges.
We are looking forward to come back, latest next spring.

Sys and Jan Olesen

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jao46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I would recommend to stay away from this hotel, as despite good location and lovely building, the overall experience was sub-standard.
Service is horrendous, no information provided, no effort to provide with basics.
Noisy - people outside the hotel until late hours in the night.
Facilities old and worn out and not clean.
Had to leave at 08:30, and as breakfast is served at 09:00, nothing was offered, not even coffee, although breakfast was fully paid for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Este hotel está emplazado en un palacete modernista del centro de Sitges, junto a la estación. Su principal atractivo es el edificio en sí. It has a small garden occupied by the swimming pool and the restaurant.

The setting of the restaurant (candle lit at night) is very nice and romantic, but food should improve a lot. So should beds and bedlinen. It's not advisable for beach fans because it's far from the beach but it is strategically located to walk about and discover this peculiar city.

Remember that parking is scarce and expensive in Sitges. Getting there by train is much more convenient. Otherwise, if you are lucky, you may find a free parking space (white slots) on the north side of the railway line.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room on the firs floor NOT overlooking the street. Room #103 (a suite) is an exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luohuanma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed at El Xalet for 4 days and think that property is quite good for 2* star hotel. Definitely meets expectations with no advance overvalue.
Hotel takes two really beautiful buildings and located very close to train station (less than 2 minutes walk) and at the same time you can walk to the beach quite fast too (7-8 minutes walking). Breakfast was just ok, but with good coffee all the time and not crowded open air space were it served. Would return there for short stay (2-4 days) for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor up rooms, they got balconies and less noise from street. Also if you want to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 38 in Sitges
1,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 38 in Sitges
1,793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Cid
Hotel El Cid
#5 of 38 in Sitges
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Medium Romantic
Hotel Medium Romantic
#19 of 38 in Sitges
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 38 in Sitges
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Xalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Xalet

Property: Hotel El Xalet
Address: Carrer Illa de Cuba, 35, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Xalet 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an impressive 19th-century building, Hotel El Xalet maintains original features such as floral stained-glass windows and mosaic floors. It offers an outdoor pool, cocktail bar and free Wi-Fi. Rooms at Hotel El Xalet are decorated with antique furniture. They include a private bathroom and flat-screen TV with satellite channels. El Xalet Restaurant serves traditional Spanish cuisine and an extensive wine list is also available. During summer guests can dine beside the pool. The beach in Sitges is less than 10 minutes' walk from the hotel. Barcelona is 40 minutes away by train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Xalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing