We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Sitges, Sunway could do with an upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Great city, fantastic promenade, beaches, downtown restaurants, shops.

The hotel could do with a makeover; the restaurants weren't at all on par with some of the great ones downtown. Location is great, though, right there on the waterfront and with the best family beach ready for you.

Loved the bike rental at the hotel (included in fare) and the 5min ride along the half crowded promenade to the buzzing city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scubatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwaySitges, Dep. Manager at Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Dear Sir,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and our service. We are glad that you enjoyed being in Sitges, and that you and your family liked our location and had a good experience at our hotel.

Regarding our restaurants, you are right that unfortunately we had sporadic problems last Summer, mainly because of the fact that our terraces gets crowded with the good weather, and probably at some point we were not able to give the service as we are committed to giving. We worked to fix these issues, as well as to improve the quality of food, beverages, etc., so we hope you are able to experience these improvements next time you come back to Sitges!

Thanks again for your comments, which do help us improve our service, and best regards from Sitges.

J. Oskar Stöber Blázquez
Dep. Manager at Sunway Hotels & Apartments
Sitges (Barcelona) - Spain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

Unfortunately we only spent 1 night in this wonderful hotel! I would gladly spend a week and probably will someday!!
The staff made us feel very welcome at our arrival and during our short stay! The apartment was indeed beautiful! Very fresh and clean!!
The pool area was also very nice and we got to spend a little time there as well.
The location is beautiful allthough not very central. That is OK though. The hotel offers bikerental and also there is a bus going to the center every 30 minutes or so. Sitges is very charming and picturesque. Just the kind of place that we love so much! Will definately be back both to Sitges and the Sunway Playa Golf!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonicaAlfredsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel as we were unable to a reasonably priced hotel prior to our cruise. Turned out to be a bonus. Took a bus from the aiport- cheap and convenient but be advised the hotel is at the end of a LONG walk ( with suitcases in tow) from the bus drop . Wait for the town bus or get a cab. Bikes were easy to obtain and a great way to explore the town. The market on site had beer, wine and groceries comparible to that found in town so why bother unless you plan to eat all your meals in the apartments that were comfortable and reasonably well stocked. The washers were not user friendly and some of the cycles would not work. Get a fixed price for a van to the port ( ours came with a trailer) and you will pay only marginally more than a cab in Barcelona would cost. Would definitely return there again if in the Barcelona area as the fast train to the city was easy to use and Sitges itself is a gem to explore.

Room Tip: Would ask for a room on the beach side as the balconies on the side do not receive much sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travellingnewfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed two nights in a family suite with ocean view. It was a HUGE wuite with good mini-kitchen (hob, fridge, mcrowave/grill, all utensils etc.) washing machine worked great. View was spectacular, grounds were immaculate and the pool and lounge areas were really nice. Furntiure is more of a 2.5 or 3 star quality in the rooms but it was fine and well worth the price. Direct;y across the street from a stone/peble beach with a sand one about two minutes walk down. This place is at the end of the strip so it's nice and quiet but with the free bikes they lend you you can be in the middle of the action in Sitges within 10 minutes. Couple of large grocery stores about 4 blocks in from the beach if you turn down the second street after the main drag with the gay abrs. Overall had a really nice break and WILL return to this hotel again with my parents in tow next year :0)

Room Tip: The Sea view rooms ae WORTH IT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mlalahoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Although this hotel is 4 star rated, I would say more like 3+ star, check-in was efficient, however it would have helped if we had been given a little more information, about hotel facilities, cycle use, wifi use, pool towels etc. Room was an excellent size, with splendid sea views. However as the week progressed it became apparent that the housekeeping was certainly not to a 4 star standard. The glasses in the room were never washed up, although the room is quoted as being an apartment it is only a hotel room, with no sink to do your own washing up other than in the bathroom. The shower gels, shampoo, soaps etc were never replenished the whole week. Also the room floors were not very well cleaned. Breakfast offered a very good choice of both hot and cold food. We found the restaurant food to be very expensive for what small portion you got and the service very slow. A word of warning if you wish to use the WiFi you may find it very slow!

The hotel is on an excellent location right at the very edge of Sitges, so you need to be prepared for a walk(20-30 min), cycle ride, taxi ride, or bus ride to the centre. The hotel has two swimming pools, small toddler pool and a cold tub, combined with an excellent pool side terrace.

If you are seeking a hotel away from the main centre this is an excellent choice, although there were a few short comings for my choice, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you wish to have sun on the balcony for a long period, i would advise to have a room not overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Nice 4stars hotel with attentive staff. We got 2 rooms with kitchen. Ideal for 2 pairs ;-) Front desk man, called Benjamin was very kind and tell us about every needful things we asked, informed about events in Sitges and gave a lot of needful advices. So we spend a very nice week in Sitges! Recommended! Definitely :-)

Room Tip: See view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Romeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Loved this hotel- stayed in an apartment with husband and daughther for 5 days- spotlessly clean and tidy. it was fairly quiet while we were there and at times we had the pools to ourselves which was great.. There are plenty of sunbeds and loved not having to get up early to get one.
Staff very helpful. The hotel is a 20 -30 minute away from town but we enjoyed the walk along the promenade -loads of houses/people/ things going on. Stiges is a beautiful place and we were able to get to Barcelona by train very easily. Hotel offers free wifi also. We definitely would recommend this hotel and hope to return to Stiges and Sunway Playa Golf.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Subur Maritim
Hotel Subur Maritim
#9 of 40 in Sitges
780 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#6 of 40 in Sitges
2,938 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel MIM Sitges
Hotel MIM Sitges
#8 of 40 in Sitges
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 40 in Sitges
816 reviews
1.8 mi away
Urh Sitges Playa Hotel
Urh Sitges Playa Hotel
#18 of 40 in Sitges
435 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa

Address: Paseo Maritimo 92 94, 08870 Sitges, Spain (Formerly Sunway Playa Golf Hotel - Apartments & Spa)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sitges
#4 Spa Hotel in Sitges
#5 Business Hotel in Sitges
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range: £57 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunway Playa Golf & SPA, inaugurated in June 2003, is located on the seafront promenade of Sitges, in the pedestrian area and close to the golf club, less than half an hour walk from the centre, where you will find bars and shops. It is the perfect place to stay and enjoy a holiday on the beach of Sitges, to play golf or simply to spend a few days of relaxation at any time of the year and enjoy the climate of this Mediterranean charming town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel And Apartments
Sunway Playa Hotel Apartments
Sunway Playa Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing