We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit too far from town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We have being at this hotel for 3 nights and we have enjoyed it.
The room was very big with a huge wardrobe and beds pretty comfortable. There’s an empty mini fridge (and a mini market to fill it in), iron facilities, proper hairdryer in the bathroom and coffee/tea facilities (no milk or cream so either you take a couple of cream pods from the breakfast restaurant or buy some milk)
We had a sea/golf course view balcony with a table and two chairs.

The website estates that the check in time is 17.00 but when we arrived by 13.30 our room was ready for us.

We were given some 10% discount vouchers for the restaurants in the hotel and a complimentary glass of cava (champagne).
Hotel guests get a discount in the golf course too.

Free wifi is available everywhere in the hotel (common areas and room)

Brakfast was included in our room rate so I can’t say if “it’s worth the money” but there was enough variety.
Coffee machines were a bit tricky. Once you find out how it works, it’s very easy but very confusing the first day really.
Croissants and some other pastries daily, plus different kind of bread, butter, jam, honey, nutella, some cereal, juices, cold meats and cheese and eggs/omelette, olive oil and tomatoes for “pa amb tomàquet” (tomato toast). You can see here how to make it: http://www.google.es/imgres?imgurl=http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_KOANLi2W44U/R4zhnBRAoJI/AAAAAAAAHFk/FIBldC0ilfM/s400/Pa%2BAmb%2BTom%C3%A0quet4%2Bsmall.JPG&imgrefurl=http://aidanbrooksrecipes.blogspot.com/2007/10/pa-amb-tomquet.html&h=194&w=261&sz=8&tbnid=QpYwtdEe9R1XIM:&tbnh=90&tbnw=121&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dpa%2Bamb%2Btom%25C3%25A0quet%2Brecipe%26tbm%3Disch%26tbo%3Du&zoom=1&q=pa+amb+tom%C3%A0quet+recipe&usg=__LZq4lWUfUUpFs2sN7Menrzi2sgU=&hl=en-ES&sa=X&ei=p7u5UeuDCcmt0QW2s4CIDw&ved=0CDwQ9QEwCQ

Swimming pools were ok but the area is not big so I guess it might be extremely busy during July-August.
Towels are provided for the swimming pool but you need to return them when you leave the area so you can’t take them to the beach. Unless previous reviews we didn’t have any problem with this and a person was there constantly)
They have balls, goggles and pool noodles for children

Regarding the location, it is next to the golf course so it is great if you intend to play, but it’s 3K away of the town. There’s a nice long promenade to walk, or run, or jog, or cycle, or skate but still it’s 3K and there’s almost nothing around but some nice properties.
There’s one of those tourist little trains which start at the hotel main door and ends at the town or the other way round (2€)

The beach right out of the hotel is small, narrow and stony but 200 or 300 metres away the small sandy beaches start.

There are three restaurants within the hotel. Some of our friends tried the Vento lunch menu and they said it was perfectly ok, with several options to choose for starters and mains and a fixed price.
We only tried the Aqua for lunch the day we left and it was good (they refused to accept Amex even when I had just checked out and paid with it at the front desk without problem).

I have read some complaints about staff in previous reviews and I must say we didn’t have a bad experience in that respect. They booked taxis for us, I had a quick and kind response when I phoned the front desk…)
I must agree about the noise in the mornings though but it didn’t annoy us that much

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

Our family of 2 teens and 2 adults had an amazing stay in this hotel! They were very, very clean, very spacious, comfortable beds, beautiful seaside view and a great price! The staff was very helpful with local restaurants and sites. Breakfast was extra but well worth the price, especially with 2 teens! The hotel also has a restaurant with very tasty food along with a mini market downstairs, which was helpful for water, snacks, etc. We liked it so much that when we returned to Spain at the end of the week, we cancelled our other hotel reservation and went back to this hotel! We highly recommend this hotel! It is well worth the price! The town was very quiet, clean, great restaurants and gorgeous views! The drive to Barcelona is only about 20-30 minutes, depending on traffic. You can take the toll highway which costs 6.42 Euro each way or the scenic coastal, windy road, no cost. We loved every minute!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Oskar S, Dep. Manager at Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Olga,

Just a couple of lines to thank you very much for the time you took to leave a review about our hotel for other people who want to stay some days in our beautiful town of Sitges.

I agree with you that the breakfast is not particularly cheap but, as you mention, we definitely try to make it worth the price, and we are constantly trying to improve it even if it's just a little bit more, as we do with the rest of our services and facilities. Anyway, I am glad that you enjoyed your time here, and that we could meet your expectations. I also hope that you don't mind that I forward your comments to our staff.

We look forward to seeing you back in Sitges soon!

Best regards,

J. Oskar Stöber Blázquez
Sunway, S.L. - Dep. Manager
Hotel Sunway Playa Golf Sitges
Sitges (Barcelona) - Spain
Tel.: +34 93 811 34 10
e-mail: info@sunway.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed here for a week during April and we will be visiting again in the summer. It is one of those places where if you dont want to leave your hotel then everything you need is there (spas,restaurants,minimarket, pool, lounge room, golf, coastal walk).
The hotel is an 8 euro cab ride to the town center but with such beautuful weather and scenery a walk is a much better option.
On one of the days I was waiting for my Barcelona FC ticket to arrive by UPS, once it arrived one of the hotel staff members drove to the town center to give it to me personally so that I didnt have to waste time coming back to the hotel. The staffa re friendly and the hotel itself is pristine and would highly recomend it.

Room Tip: Def recomend a sea view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nerdnihat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Oskar S, Dep. Manager at Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for taking some time to review our hotel and our service. I want also to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Sitges, which we hope that you enjoyed very much. I particularly appreciate your comment about our staff, since they work hard to fulfill to their best ability all wishes of our guests.

We look forward to seeing you back in Sitges, and we hope that you honor us with your confidence again.

Best regards,

J. Oskar Stöber Blázquez
Sunway, S.L. - Dep. Manager
Hotel Sunway Playa Golf Sitges
Sitges (Barcelona) - Spain
Tel.: +34 93 811 34 10
e-mail: info@sunway.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Hi!
Must admit , very few hotels in Europe will offer you asian service ..and Sunway was one of them ...quiet beach side location ( taxi charges 8 Euro for city center or Rly station ) ..big room size with balcony facing sea beach and golf course ...economically priced ...good choice of restaurent and most amazing was english speaking and very friendly staff ...( 24*7 ) service which is not common in europe...

cheers

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesyHitesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stayed for 1 week with family. Checked in by lovely and helpful Polish girl (sorry I can't remember your name). First room overlooked the pool and was a fantastic size, a real home from home. After two days they kindly facilitated a move to an ocean view room which was smaller but the ocean view made up for it.
First the small negatives: I think the hotel could really reach the next level if all the staff could just raise the friendliness stakes a little, there's nothing wrong with the service and they're not rude, it's just functional service.
Secondly one day I had a vodka & mixer in the patio bar, was charged an average amount for spirit and mixer. However another day, when I asked for same drink, I was served a premium vodka without being consulted and was charged close to €11 for it. This kind of thing drives me nuts however overall they were small inconveniences in what was a great holiday in a beautiful property in a gorgeous location

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms worth the extra
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendanK1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stayed in a lovely apartment room overlooking the pool area - only complaint was that there was never any sun on the balcony. However room was spotlessly clean, really nice kitchen area with fridge etc, lovely bathroom, comfortable bed and decent lounge area with TV - not that we ever watched it.
The hotel is a LONG walk from the town centre - although it's a pleasant walk long the sea front and of course it's flat. The hotel does bike loans and by bike it takes about 5-10 minutes to the town centre. Really impressed with Sitges - lovely town, nice shops, decent restaurants and bars, beautiful old buildings and fantastic beaches. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: If you want sun on the balcony, book a room with a sea view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Great hotel, very nice, clean, large rooms overlooking the Mediterranean (it's so worth paying the extra charge for ocean view than getting a room to the pool area!) - and nice staff.

We were a bit disappointed that the pool was not heated or cleaned (in late September), and that the restaurant was closed for winter. It was not something they had communicated beforehand. The food in the only open restaurant was quite bad, only hamburgers, french fries, that sort of thing. We chose the hotel because it was so close to the golf course, but you needed to take a taxi anyway since there was a river separating the hotel from the gold course.

Since the hotel is situated on the far end on the beach it's too far to walk to and from Sitges so we took taxis for 5-6 euros. Great for visitors who want to be alone! Not for the ones craving good food, restaurants and stores.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the ocean view, it's worth it!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bitterblondin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.6 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#6 of 40 in Sitges
2,683 reviews
1.8 mi away
Urh Sitges Playa Hotel
Urh Sitges Playa Hotel
#21 of 40 in Sitges
412 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Subur Maritim
Hotel Subur Maritim
#9 of 40 in Sitges
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
1.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 40 in Sitges
787 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 40 in Sitges
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa

Address: Paseo Maritimo 92 94, 08870 Sitges, Spain (Formerly Sunway Playa Golf Hotel - Apartments & Spa)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sitges
#5 Business Hotel in Sitges
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#6 Family Hotel in Sitges
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range: £67 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunway Playa Golf & SPA, inaugurated in June 2003, is located on the seafront promenade of Sitges, in the pedestrian area and close to the golf club, less than half an hour walk from the centre, where you will find bars and shops. It is the perfect place to stay and enjoy a holiday on the beach of Sitges, to play golf or simply to spend a few days of relaxation at any time of the year and enjoy the climate of this Mediterranean charming town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel And Apartments
Sunway Playa Hotel Apartments
Sunway Playa Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing