We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for us :-)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect for us :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Booked into these apartments after literally picking out this seaside resort off a map. Hotel was 8euro taxi from the train station. Upgraded to suite for free (219) as this was their quiet time. Suite was spotless, overlooking golf course from the balcony, seaview to the right and pool view straight down. We could not have been happier with the choice of room. The kitchenette was the most stocked i have ever seen with packets of dishclothes etc - everything was immaculate. Free wifi was an added bonus as to were the bicycles which our family throughly made use of and enjoyed greatly. The bike path into town so even the unfit like myself would have no problem with the trip along the stunning promenade. I have only 2 negatives about this hotel - one problem i had being allowed to get my child a kids seat on the bikes. I actually had to argue that my child was not too big for the seat and if they thought she was what did they have in place for a disabled child - a trolly , basket ?? Apparently nothing. So perhaps the hotel could look at something time of bike attachment for disabled children because at the minute they have nothing in place for this. Eventually after agreeing to pay "very expensive" levy "if" we broke the seat we were allowed to use it. The manager and receptionist made me feel very small during this discussion but i stood my ground.
The second issue was the pools - they were ice cold - some sort of heating could make these pools a great asset to the hotel. At the minute they are just ghost pools.
All in all we will be back to this hotel - we loved the area and the location of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room over looking golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aevans28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    192
    51
    18
    9
See reviews for
165
161
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaside
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

They had a glitch in their system, which I didn't know until after check-in, but I got the room for half the usual price. Would not have stayed there at the full price :). The room was great, right on the corner overlooking the sea and the golf course with a massive terrace and two large rooms.

Air-conditioning worked perfectly, the staff was more than pleasant and helpful and they have free wifi as well.

This hotel has like 10 different room types, most of which are apartments with kitchenettes, and many don't have wonderful sea views, so this review is based ONLY on their 4th floor corner suite.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seaside_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel as a family of 4 during October, the room was a junior suite with a seaview. This stay was a bit off season so the hotel was quiet. We loved the hotel as a base for tennis at the Barcelona Tennis Academy and for visits to Sitges and Barcelona. The hotel is clean, well run and well appointed.

The only downside was the unheated swimming pools.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
163 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

The hotel is located along the beach outside Sitges town. There is a golf course just next doors.
Upon arrival our booking was not found but as this was a bit outside the main season (Sep 30- Oct 1.st) there were plenty of rooms and we were given a free upgrade to a spacy apartment.
We had a big balcony overlooking the golf course.
The breakfast was very good in deed and this must be the only hotel I've visited where Cava was served free of charge for breakfast !!

Room Tip: Very nice and peaceful hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fjodolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our second stay at the sunway and we had a spacious well-equipped apartment with pool and sea view, with daily cleaning - really comfy and well maintained. Impressed with the pools and facilities and the bikes (essential at 2 miles from Sitges) were brilliant - it added to our evenings cycling along the prom down to the buzz that is the old town. A special mention to Ivan and ieasta (?) who were unfailingly helpful. The only real criticism is the vento service levels which we thought were very slow - although the food was pretty good - but for real dining atmosphere you need to go into old town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDavidKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Our second visit to this hotel, and will probably look for a new hotel next time. While the hotel sits nicely by a great beach and the golf club, it is still some distance from town (and more importantly, decent food). Although hotel guests usually have free bikes through their booking, not everyone would appreciate the 10 min ride to the city center.
Hotel has a couple of fair pools, although not great, and the pool areas are run down and do not have food/drink service. In fact, a lot of the hotel seems a little run down, from lobby area, to restaurants, rooms (most, not all), hallways, air conditioning, playroom and so forth. We complained about the a/c, and after a few days we were given a new room - a very good and stylish one, too, Much better than the first room in all ways.
Hotel restaurants (it has three) are mixed, with Aqua being the one of preference given a pretty good fish/sellfish grill service. The new-this-year outside late night lounge area was cool, but had no guests apart from us. Too bad, really, because that was a great place for a late drink. The Al Capone restaurant is not more than ok for pizzas/pastas if you can't be bothered going to town.
If you go to Sitges, make sure you visit Nem, a fantastic restaurant (small pintxos-style dishes) just behind the city center. Great food at an incredible value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scubatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Well located hotel at the quiet end of Sitges, and room had good views over the sea and golf course. Good pool area and we could always get sun loungers. Restaurant food ok and the mini market is well stocked and useful. The use of bikes for the duration of the stay is positive, and we cycled into the town many times. Hotel Staff and Service were good and friendly, although the air conditioning in our room did not work properly and the room was always too warm. We did report this but the hotel was unable to fix the problem. Overall a great stay and would definately recommend the hotel for families.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelmsfordonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#3 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#8 of 40 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Subur Maritim
Hotel Subur Maritim
#10 of 40 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges

Property: Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges
Address: Passeig Maritim 92 - 94 | (in front of the beach), 08870 Sitges, Spain (Formerly Sunway Playa Golf Hotel - Apartments & Spa)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#3 Spa Hotel in Sitges
#5 Business Hotel in Sitges
#6 Family Hotel in Sitges
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all the advantages of having an apartment (or a room if you prefer) in front of the sea and all the services of a 4-star-hotel: 2 swimming-pools, 24 h. front desk, mini-market, restaurant, bars, inside parking area, etc. Probably the best located facility in one of the nicest coastal towns in Spain: Sitges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel And Apartments
Sunway Playa Hotel Apartments
Sunway Playa Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing