We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of Dolce Sitges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolce Sitges
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel in general is ok but we were expecting more from a 5* hotel. Things need to improve such as the external swimming pools are not warm, people rush to reserve the long chairs, prices are too high, and avoid room 269 as there is no view to the see, it is at the far end of the complex, the balcony opens to the ceiling of previous floor and disturbed by the noise of trains passing by. Expectations were not met.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Akin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJJimenez, General Manager at Dolce Sitges, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Writer:
We would like to thank you for trusting Dolce Sitges for your stay as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our Guest: despite we are happy to read your evaluation honouring our hotel, we are sorry to read that your stay did not reach your expectations, including not having warmed external pools, the bedroom terrace design and the views from your room, and we really and deeply apologize for it.
Again, we thank you for this visit and for sharing your comments with other future visitors and we look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you and providing you the right experiences that you would expect at Dolce Sitges.
Yours sincerely,
Francisco José Jiménez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 2,881 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We booked this hotel last minute, needing some sun in bad weather summer 2014. We do not regret it. The hotel was perfect. The rooms are clean, the service is perfect, all personnel is very friendly and helpful, the food in the restaurant has a big choice and the quality is very good. It is clear the hotel is having high quality standards,

Our 2 girls, 3 and 4 years old, really enjoyed the hotel. It is not designed as a kids hotel, but there are some really nice services for the kids: nice kids club, pools perfect for children, spa children opening hours, special kids menu in the restaurants. And by providing an extra 2 person bed we could all stay in the same room, for us a perfect solution.

I would really recommend this hotel to friends, both adults visiting Barcelona or families with children.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank KOE76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJJimenez, General Manager at Dolce Sitges, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Writer:
We would like to thank you for trusting Dolce Sitges for your stay as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our Guest: we are happy to read your evaluation honouring our hotel and the positive remarks regarding the cleanliness of our property, our rooms, the food and beverage choice, the special details and attention for children and the performance and courtesy of our Service Team. We really appreciate them!
Again, we thank you for this visit and for sharing your comments with other future visitors and we look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Dolce Sitges.
Yours sincerely,
Francisco José Jiménez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We visited recently with our daughter and friends for a 7 day trip. The setting of the hotel is gorgeous. We had pool view rooms which allowed easy access to pool but I think the Seaview rooms would be even nicer as views of golf course/ocean and Sitges were fabulous. The staff were welcoming and efficient. Mar in the main restaurant and at breakfast was exceptional. Very helpful. Very friendly. Always smiling. The Management team were very good also. The rooms were well maintained by housekeeping. Lots of towels and clean bed linen. Nothing too much trouble.

The downside.

The drink prices are ridiculously expensive. A fruit juice with soda purchased at the main bar was nearly 9 euros. Absolutely outrageous in my opinion. Claridges in London is half that price! A small Guinness was 8 euro. We have stayed in 5 star hotels worldwide and NEVER paid such high prices for drinks. The food was also overpriced (especially the BBQ)- it was nice food but not exceptional. All this was a shame as everything else was great. I think from chatting to other guests, many prefer to book bed and breakfast and eat out.

We had a great time and my observations did not detract from a very nice holiday.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bunny38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJJimenez, General Manager at Dolce Sitges, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Writer:
We would like to thank you for trusting Dolce Sitges for your stay as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our Guest: we are happy to read your evaluation honouring our hotel and the positive remarks regarding the setting of our property, our rooms, the breakfast and the efficiency and courtesy of our Service Team. We really appreciate them!
Again, we thank you for this visit and for sharing your comments with other future visitors and we look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Dolce Sitges.
Yours sincerely,
Francisco José Jiménez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had 9 nights in the Dolces Sitges - the facilities are lovely and the staff were simply fantastic - efficient, charming and helpful despite the fact the hotel was completely full. Well done to all the management and staff, this is probably the only hotel in Europe that we have experienced that is proper five star compared to other Asian hotels (our main experience) which are in a league of their own. This is really worth staying in and if you have older children, the spa pool is a lovely experience.
Food and beverages were relatively pricey but it is the usual scenario with most resort hotels like this that are set a little away from towns. The Sitges area is also generally more expensive than rest of Spain but this would not deter us from visiting again. Thank you to all the staff for a lovely time.

Room Tip: Room 627 has particularly lovely views and the sixth floor garden/sea is best for non-smokers and fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEAsianFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJJimenez, General Manager at Dolce Sitges, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Writer:
We would like to thank you for trusting Dolce Sitges for your stay as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our Guest: we are happy to read your evaluation honouring our hotel and the positive remarks regarding the property, our facilities, Dolce Vital Spa and our Service Team courtesy and performance. We really appreciate them!
Again, we thank you for this visit and for sharing your comments with other future visitors and we look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Dolce Sitges.
Yours sincerely,
Francisco José Jiménez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a very pleasant weekend in Dolce Sitges in April, it's a very modern building with parking and wonderful landscape all around. The staff is very gentle and polite and rooms are big and clean. The SPA inside the hotel is quite good, the indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi with the huge windows on the seaside is wonderful but also the outdoor one, with palms and the view of the hills around is delightful. It's a deluxe Hotel, expensive but it worths the money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierluigi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJJimenez, General Manager at Dolce Sitges, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Writer:
We would like to thank you for trusting Dolce Sitges for your stay as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our Guest: we are happy to read your evaluation honouring our hotel and the positive remarks regarding the property, our parking, the landscaping, our rooms, Dolce Vital Spa and our Service Team courtesy and performance. We really appreciate them!
Again, we thank you for this visit and for sharing your comments with other future visitors and we look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Dolce Sitges.
Yours sincerely,
Francisco José Ji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We're writing this review from our hotel room as we've already been blown away by how wonderful the hotel staff have looked after us. We're here celebrating our anniversary and are having a wonderful time. What a beautiful hotel! Thank you Dolce Sitges! We'll be back! :-D

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Antony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJJimenez, General Manager at Dolce Sitges, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Writer:
We would like to thank you for trusting Dolce Sitges for your stay as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our Guest: we are happy to read your evaluation honouring our hotel and such positive remarks of our property upon your arrival and your wish to return. We really appreciate both of them and we wish you all kind of happiness while celebrating your anniversary! Congratulations!
Again, we thank you for this visit and for sharing your comments with other future visitors and we look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Dolce Sitges.
Yours sincerely,
Francisco José Jiménez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Last year I stayed at a resort hotel (in a completely different part of the world): everything was super fancy and luxurious, but there were a bunch of small bugs with the service and things, and so I gave the hotel only 4 stars in my review. My family has been making fun of me ever since as the super-demanding hotel guest who is never satisfied.

So, as soon as we set foot at Dolce Sitges (with the same family group), I started looking for various things for which I could "take off a star." And the truth is, there really wasn't anything meaningful I could complain about. The service was excellent, I loved the food (both breakfast and dinner at Verema), and we even got to meet a famous celeb! Overall this hotel fully deserves its 5-star rating.

Two really minor things:
1) the view to the sea is somewhat ruined by some construction sites and big development projects.
2) The concierge was not too helpful in helping us with our dinner plans in Sitges or Barcelona.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms nicer (and more expensive) than poolside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MDP03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJJimenez, General Manager at Dolce Sitges, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Writer:
We would like to thank you for trusting Dolce Sitges for your stay as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our Guest: we are happy to read your evaluation honouring our hotel and the positive remarks related to the property, the food at our breakfast and the themed diners with buffet and barbeque and our Service Team performance and courtesy. We really appreciate them!
Also, we will follow up with our Concierge desk to improve the information to be provided around dining in Barcelona for creating best future guest experiences.
Again, we thank you for this visit and for sharing your comments with other future visitors and we look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Dolce Sitges.
Yours sincerely,
Francisco José Jiménez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 40 in Sitges
812 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel MIM Sitges
Hotel MIM Sitges
#8 of 40 in Sitges
583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Subur Maritim
Hotel Subur Maritim
#9 of 40 in Sitges
762 reviews
2.2 mi away
Urh Sitges Playa Hotel
Urh Sitges Playa Hotel
#18 of 40 in Sitges
433 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Sitges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Sitges

Address: Ave Cami de Miralpeix 12, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sitges
#2 Spa Hotel in Sitges
#2 Family Hotel in Sitges
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
Price Range: £92 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dolce Sitges 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dolce Sitges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Sitges Hotel Sitges
Dolce Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing