We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that we needed!”
Review of Montserrat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Montserrat Hotel
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The Hotel Montserrat was a fabulous choice for our needs; basic and cheap. The breakfast was more than I wished for, so that was a pleasent surprise. The location is perfect, just a few blocks from the beach and from the shopping streets. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for care-free accomodation and not expecting for luxury.

The only minus factor was that the television channels are only in spanish(or dubbed in spanish), but I guess that's what you get when in Spain :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EeviN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2010

Hotel has an extremely good location. Few minutes walk to the train station and to the airport bus stop. Reception staff was friendly, helped with my luggage to the room. Rooms are a bit dated, but clean and good size. Breakfast is very good for a two star hotel, lots of choice, good quality and you can sit on a nice terrace. There are room safes available as well as flatscreen television in the rooms. The only setback is, that there are only spanish and catalan language channels. Beach is max. 10 minutes walk from the hotel and there are lots of eateries nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BUD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We had booked in this hotel for a week and when I arrived I was asked to pay in full on registration! This was 'company policy' and as it was late at night (as in 21:00) and after a day's travel by trains from France, we were not really in a position to argue.

Despite some of the reviews stating that the hotel staff were not that friendly, I have to say that our experience of the staff was quite positive. We found them courteous and helpful. And the breakfast which also came in for a fair amount of criticism in reviews was as good as most hotels we have stayed in on this trip.

But there were some quite serious downsides.. There is NO soundproofing in the hotel so you get to hear everything that is going on in every room around you ... and I mean EVERYTHING!!! It really spoilt the stay for us, especially with other guests coming in from clubs/pubs early in the morning.

The second thing was the absence of a safe in the room which meant that we had concerns about money and documents when we were at the beach or out to dinner.

The hotel is very well located - literally in the centre of everything (which is not great taking the noise factor into account!) and the room was thoroughly cleaned every day. But for the money (E108 a day) it did not represent very good value.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finghin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Apart from the location, I would never recommed this hotel for several reasons
1. no Internet access except for the reception area where the computer is turned off 21.10 every day
2. not a gay friendly hotel even though 95% guests are gay
3. the staff is unfriendly and quarelsome
4. impossible to have friends over worse rules and regulations than in Tunisia or Egypt
5. not adequate for its price 75euros per night
6. the rooms very very small and not renewed for years
7. attitude of the staff must change if they want to stay in business

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
Thank cksobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2008

My husband and I spent two nights here at the end of September/beginning of October. We were looking for somewhere quiet and relaxing after heavy-duty sightseeing in Barcelona and elsewhere, and Sitges and the Hotel Montserrat fit the bill perfectly. Sitges is just half an hour by train from Barcelona, and the hotel is an easy walk from the railway station.

Our room was quite small - two beds, a nightstand, small table and two chairs packed into a fairly confined space - but it was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. The bathroom had a tub as well as a shower. There was plenty of hot water in the morning, but the water never seemed more than lukewarm as the day progressed. (Perhaps the hotel laundry on the roof was the reason.) The TV in our room had an English-language news channel, which we appreciated as we were getting a bit out of touch with what was going on in the world. In two weeks in Spain, this was the only place that provided an English channel. That includes stays in much more expensive hotels in Barcelona.

I've read other reviews here criticizing the breakfast, but we found it more than adequate. The self-serve table offers cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, cold cuts, cheese, tomato, bread and pastries. We ate on the dining room's cheery little balcony, where you can choose to sit in the sun or in shade. We also took advantage of the rooftop terrace, relaxing over a picnic lunch (there are tables and chairs) before taking a siesta on chaises longues.

The town of Sitges is pleasant to walk around. Its waterfront comprises a series of beaches connected by a paved walkway. The sand is clean, and even at that time of year, the water is warm enough for swimming. There are plenty of places to eat or to buy groceries and wine or beer.

The hotel has internet access in the lobby. The staff were helpful about recommending restaurants, locating the post office, etc., and they told us about the direct bus service to Barcelona airport, a faster and easier option than the train ride we'd been planning.

All in all, a good hotel at a good price. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tripsterchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We stayed for 2 nights and found the hotel easily. It turned out to be a great location, the street leads to the beach and is very close to more or less everything but quite quiet as it doesn't seem to be a main route for people walking back. The staff were very friendly and took us to our room via the small lift. The room was reasonably sized and beds were comfortable. Its fair to say it is clear that this is a 2 star hotel - paint was peeling all over and the shower was just an attachment from the tap - the holder on the wall would only hold the shower at an awkward angle so it wasn't much use. We opted for the room with balcony and it was worth the extra money. The air conditioner in the room was brilliant - very powerful and with a remote control. Breakfast wasn't that great but for a quick bite I suppose did the job. The main negative part I would say was the noise within the hotel. If you are unlucky enough to share an area of the hotel with a noisy couple you'll hear everything so perhaps not the place for a quiet getaway (not that you would come to Sitges for that anyway). Having said that we would definately stay again, but maybe just as much for the cute guy on the balcony in the next room as much as the hotel itself!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeke008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

Considering this is a 2-star hotel, it is an excellent choice if you are looking for a decent accomodation. Centrally located just 300 m from the beach, and even so on a quiet street, at a stone-throw from the gay scene, the bus stop for the airport is just 200m away and railway station at 500m. Plenty of shops, restaurants, eateries in the nearby, even a laundry room and a small supermarket a few meters away on the same block.
Staff is very friendly (and gayfriendly), several languages are spoken. There is an internet point in the lobby or free wi-fi access in the lobby only. Accommodation is basic with very clean, quite spacious and comfortable rooms, as well as the bathroom which has a bathtub. You can only receive telephone call in your room; to make telephone calls there is a public telephone at the ground floor. I haven't heard any noises at night as posted in another review. The only thing I did not like was breakfast, very poor indeed. All the rest was very pleasant. I strongly recommend this hotel if you do not want to spend a lot of money on accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Alexbaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medium Romantic
Hotel Medium Romantic
#18 of 40 in Sitges
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Termes
Hostal Termes
#25 of 40 in Sitges
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Celimar Playa
Hotel Celimar Playa
#31 of 40 in Sitges
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Cid
Hotel El Cid
#5 of 40 in Sitges
952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parrots Sitges Hotel
Parrots Sitges Hotel
#27 of 40 in Sitges
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medium Renaixenca
Hotel Medium Renaixenca
#29 of 40 in Sitges
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montserrat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montserrat Hotel

Address: Calle Joaquim Espalter 27, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Price Range: £59 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Montserrat Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Montserrat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montserrat Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing