We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're skint, it's mint!”
Review of Montserrat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montserrat Hotel
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Sitges
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you're skint, it's mint!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Perfect location and a Warm welcome. We are regular visitors to Sitges but was a tad ' light' on this trip. If you are seriously skint, then you can't fault it for €40 a night. All hotel guests may as well sleep in one room as you hear everything. Breakfast was edible but sparse and definitely no frills. That said, I would stay again if my budget didn't allow me to spend an extra €20 a night at the Subur or Globos. To wrap up, stay here if you are skint, you get what you pay for. If you can and need to chill out, splash out the extra elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperdryGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    47
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
4
54
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

No sleeping au natural in this place because whether you like it or not the cleaners coming into your room at 8.30am, sometimes leaving your door wide open. Morning of check out I came out the shower to find the cleaners stripping my bed for the next guests, they wouldn’t leave until they'd finished, it didn’t seem to matter I was only in a towel.

Apart from the overzealous cleaning the hotel was fine considering the price.

Excellent location. Basic but functional rooms. Simple breakfast but one that still seemed to provide more than enough choice.

I wouldn’t stay again but it wasn’t terrible either.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slumbermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sitges hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is very good for the price, it is located very central but is in a reasonably quiet street. I stayed in September so cant say what area is like at height of season. rooms are comfortable and clean and staff are friendly and helpful. The Wi-Fi is only available in lobby area at reception not in rooms which is a drawback. Breakfast is very good ( buffet)Overall a good hotel to stay in .

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wairky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The location can't be better. This is walking distance to everywhere. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Helped me locate ATMs, and a pharmacy for an emergency. Rooms are basic but comfortable. Ensuite bathrooms adequate. Comfortable beds. Wifi worked well in the lobby. Would stay here again if looking for a comfortable, central place to stay in Sitges. Great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahaseebm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Excellent location. Very clean hotel; no nonsense and no frills. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms cleaned every day. Internet available in the lobby by using two desktop computers. Wifi also available on the ground and first floor but can sometimes get overloaded with the number of users.

Beds and towels are very basic. There is a lift but it is not always available so the hotel is not ideal for those who are less able bodied.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel is nice and central. It is very close to both the train station and the Mon-bus stops that pretty much everyone takes to get to Sitges from Barcelona. It's a close walk to the beach (5-10 minutes) and there are plenty of bars and restaurants close by. Although I was told it can be loud, I was on the backside of the property, so it was always very quiet. The room was simple and clean, and the a/c worked wonderfully..which you need in such a hot beachside town. The bedding isn't exactly to die for, and in fact is a bit old, but everything seemed very clean, which is what I find most important. There's a tv, but only 4 stations, none of which I understood, but you don't go to Sitges to watch tv. A simple breakfast is available every morning. The usual one might expect in a European hotel: croissants, meats, some fruit, cereals, coffee, juice...nothing mindblowing, but filling and included in the price. The staff was very nice with me, and always helpful. And they have wifi and two computers in the lobby. It was a good deal for the location, and unless you must have 5 star accommodations, I don't think this is bad at all. I'd definitely stay again if in Sitges.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jer2trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This Hotel is Centrally situated near all amenities.Eight minutes from The train station and five minutes from the bus stop for Barcelona and Airport monbus.
A small hotel with very helpful reception staff .Josep and the two Sisters who own the Hotel are very helpful and pleasant.
The continental breakfast is very good and the lady who works there in the morning is also a nice person to talk to.
The rooms and very clean and the towels are changed regular .The walls of the room are bit thin as you can hear a lot of conversation but that's not problem.Good value for the money
My wife and I just returned from a 10 day stay there and would have no hesitation in staying there.
Frank and Joan Scotland

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medium Romantic
Hotel Medium Romantic
#19 of 38 in Sitges
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Santa Maria
Hotel La Santa Maria
#21 of 38 in Sitges
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Termes
Hostal Termes
#25 of 38 in Sitges
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medium Renaixenca
Hotel Medium Renaixenca
#28 of 38 in Sitges
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 38 in Sitges
954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Celimar Playa
Hotel Celimar Playa
#30 of 38 in Sitges
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montserrat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montserrat Hotel

Property: Montserrat Hotel
Address: Calle Joaquim Espalter 27, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Montserrat Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Montserrat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montserrat Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing