We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try this one!”
Review of Restaurante La Borda - CLOSED

Restaurante La Borda
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try this one!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

This is a great restaurant off the beaten path that has really good food for the value. The Spanish-speaking owners operate the restaurant and are fun and friendly so take time to engage them. They provide great service. The house wine is a step above most other restaurants in Sitges. The have menus of the day with several choices for both lunch and dinner and desserts are good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently good experience”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My partner and I have eaten at this restaurant several times over the years. We enjoy the interaction with the owner who is always very attentive and interacts with all diners. We find the food to be consistently good and a good value. We almost always choose one of the menus of the day which they offer at different price levels. The wines that come with the set menus have been very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeraldWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This place was recommended by someone who lived in Sitges along with a number of other places that I then decided not to visit. We took their 14 Euro menu in the evening and had the place to ourselves. Not a bad thing considering we had small children with us. Very plain food that tasted fine. Chips for the kids were actually some of the best they had over our whole stay. Communication was tricky as staff didn't speak any English but they were very friendly and accommodating. The menu was billed as including wine but it was charged extra when the bill came. Being our first night in Sitges I couldn't be bothered to argue but left feeling rather irritated, especially as they had produced rose when I had ordered red. In fact it was a little more expensive than our meal at La Komokieras later in the week which is in a different class altogether.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harykert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Homely Catalan restaurant”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Yet another restaurant that we return to year after year. It always serves good homely food in a nice relaxed atmosphere. The house wines are local ones and are consistently good. We have eaten loads of different dishes off their menu and always leave happy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Disjoncteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not as good as their rating suggests”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We went here one evening as El Celler Vell was closed and the reviews seemed OK. The restaurant was empty and we soon understood why. I want to write a good review as the owner was very friendly, but the principal attraction of this place is that it is cheap.

The food is tired, as is the decor of the restaurant , and the owner too for that matter. The toilet is disgusting with dirt caked on the light switch which doesn't make you feel too confident in kitchen hygiene. If they can't be bothered to clean, the care will not extend to the food, and it doesn't.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oban-boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante La Borda also viewed

Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing