We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment”
Review of Fragata

Fragata
Ranked #19 of 384 Restaurants in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$45
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Solihull
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This restaurant is in one of the best locations in Sitges, right on the sea front and near the church. This is why it is usually full - but I suspect that people go there once but do not return. The staff were indifferent and slow - to take our orders, serve us and clear away. They did not know who had ordered what and one simply arrived at our table and stood there and said "who ordered the fish"? - when there were several different types of fish on the menu and he did not even know what dish he was trying to serve. When we complained that, after waiting 15 minutes, no one had taken our order for food or drink, they simply shrugged. The food was adequate, but nothing out of the ordinary. What was meant to be a special meal out with friends turned into a disappointing evening. I will not be returning. All the finishing touches to make this an excellent restaurant were sadly missing. Even the lamps put on the tables had cords hanging down under chairs - an accident waiting to happen.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JILL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    326
    103
    47
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really exceptional evening”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We went to celebrate a friends birthday and had a truly memorable experience. The food and wine was exceptional matched with impeccable service and attention to detail

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMT_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Still The Best Dining Experience in Sitges !”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Back for the 7th year in a row and it still get's better. The restaurant has had a little makeover but nothing too far from the original style. We dined twice during our week long break and on both occasions the staff were extremely welcoming & professional and the food sublime ! The roasted piglet is food from the gods ! On one night we shared the chargrilled ribeye which was the best steak I've ever ordered ! Wines are sensibly priced so we could try a half bottle of white before a full red with our entree. You will not regret booking a table here ! Bravo Fragata !! You're still the best dining experience in Sitges (and the Costa Dorada I suspect !).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bushboy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
194 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Food 7 - service 4”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Lovely setting - nicely laid tables with trailing electric flex to the table lamps (need to watch that). The sloppy service was noticeable from the outset. Could we have a couple of caipirinhas. No. Wrong answer. Correct answer - no but we can offer you a x, y or z. 15 minutes before order was attempted. The reason "your menus were open we didn,t think you were ready." Er. Check.
The food was in the main very nice. THe steak was particularly flavoursome .
No one knew who had ordered what - waiters stretched over others at the table to pass plates.
I suppose they knew it was going t---s up and couldn't care. Sitges is always busy and there will be more along tomorrow.
Wrong bill was produced. I wish we had settled it. It was half the price of our bill.
Never mind we will not be giving them a second chance. There are plenty of others.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeDaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“5 star food + 5 star service”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We enjoyed dinner at Fragata last week as part of a large group of 14 people. The staff were friendly, attentive and informative. The meals were suburb - I enjoyed the tuna tartare for a starter and shared the beef steak for the main. Terrific selection of wines and the atmosphere on the terrace was perfect. Will return again on my next visit to Sitges.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MatthewS184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fragata also viewed

Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Fragata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing