We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be excellent but need some improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mas la Boella
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Tarragona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Small inn in 100 hectares Olive grove. Old buildings with character. Good bedding, showers and breakfast, large standard rooms. Great potential but not run by pros. Good upscale breakfast.

Poor directions to find it, very remote so dinner choice limited to own pretentious restaurant. They were out of 2/4 meat choices at opening. No service before 8:30 pm, my husband took the menu at 40e, and I, a la carte. They mis- billed us for his more expensive first course, a la carte which was part of his menu. Only 6 extra e, but bad way to do business. Dinning room was extremely quiet with only 2 couples (now we know why). Food was very pretentious, very small appetizers, heavy entrees and no vegetables. 2 over-attentive staff for 2 tables pouring wine every 2 seconds. At reception, one of the ladies did not really speak English or French. The way from the parking is not paved so you have to drag your cases in gravel. Pool was not maintained.no hot-tub. Bar is in reception, so receptionist get us drinks while shouting directions to phone as if we were not there. They have no lemon on hand, nor ice, so she has to run to the kitchen across the yard while talking and talking.... The whole place is too deserted to feel comfortable. One should know that there was not tub, only a shower which we liked but at that price might be a surprise.
We booked through booking.com at 120 e. which is fair. you would not want to pay more. Booking.com did not publish this review, they must select only completely favorable reviews.

Room Tip: All good, no need to upgrade, but sometimes the suites are cheaper than the room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mas la Boella
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

After traveling for nearly 20 hours, and en route to the southern coast of Spain, my wife and I only wanted comfortable, and quiet accommodations. Since this is our vacation and only a stop over for us-we splurged on the gastronomic package that included dinner, breakfast, a bottle of cava and olive oil that were produced on the grounds of Mas la Boella, welcome snacks, and a tour of the olive farm and the winery (which unfortunately we did not have time to partake).

Located on the outskirts of Tarrogona, Mas la Boella is a working farm that includes a few historic buildings on her grounds. The venue is quiet, and her manicured gardens are truly second to none.

Our room was well appointed and we opted for the Arbequina Suite and we were not disappointed. The views from the terrace were fantastic, and we enjoyed watching the various birds nesting and playing in the trees located here.

As a bonus, the restaurant provided our best meal in Spain so far; in fact it was one of the best meals that we have ever had.

If you truly want an exceptional experience from venue, accommodations, to a perfect meal, Mas la Boella will not disappoint. It is rare these days to find such a trifecta in one location! Enjoy.

I will add that our large terrace had a few cigarette butts that were obviously missed during the previous cleaning as my wife and I do not smoke- though everything else appeared spotless.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciscospudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Hotel Mas la Boella was one of the loveliest experiences of our recent three week trip to Spain. The rooms are spacious with beautiful baths and patios. The grounds of the converted monastery were beautiful and the restuarant fabulous. If that isn't enough, the staff is accommodating, friendly and unintrusive. Overall, it not only lived up to our expectations but surpassed them.

Room Tip: Ask for room with patio on first level-
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night en route to Javea. Although just off the A7 it was a little difficult to find but certainly worth it! When we did eventually arrive the receptionist offered us a complimentary cool drink which we felt was a lovely touch.
Plenty of parking available. Our only regret was that we had only booked for 1 night!
Even though the A7 is so close it is extremely quiet and the grounds around the hotel are beautiful. Lovely quiet pool area.
Our room was quiet, clean and very spacious.
Our evening meal was just amazing and as it was a very warm evening it was served on the terrace.
Very good breakfast in the restaurant.
All, in all a fantastic experience with very friendly, helpful staff and we would certainly like to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SukySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The hotel is situated off the highway, nestled in olive and wine country. We used it as a base to drive to Tarragona and the many wineries in the area.
We stayed in the old part of the hotel, which was charming. The bed was quite comfortable. We enjoyed the pool, which is small but quiet. Wonderful, English-speaking staff.
But the highlight of Mas la Boella was the restaurant overlooking a fountain in the garden -- the food was absolutely delicious! Brilliant chef. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassidy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

La Boella is a lovely hotel surrounded by olive groves and situated near the A7 motorway. Our room was nicely decorated and the bed was large and comfortable. The pool area is small but nice and the restaurant is excellent. The restaurant serves affordable menu for hotel guests also in the evenings. The restaurant opens only at 9pm so be sure not to be too hungry before that. While it was a lovely summer evening we had our dinner in the garden and there was a small fountain in the middle of it. The breakfast costs 15e which is a relatively high price in Spain, but the quality of the breakfast was really good and the surroundings were amazing.
We spent only one night in La Boella on our way to south, but we were really pleased about our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurink0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed here the night before my nephew's wedding and although there was a booking cock up (Lastminute.com's) I could not fault the friendliness of the staff (who spoke much better English than I did Spanish). Room 2 is a beauty which looks over the pool and is spacious with a great en-suite bathroom. The old building is quite simply beautiful and I strongly recommend dining there in the restaurant. While you can look at the extensive wine list, you can actually go down to the vaults and see for yourself (bottles have hand written price labels - just in case you're worried about selecting one blind). Food is superb (and this is based on me turning up at 10pm). I echo other comments about taxi prices in and around Reus. I paid 20 euros to get from the airport to the hotel which is about 10-15 mins away.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Gibbsy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
5.1 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#4 of 19 in Tarragona
397 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
4.0 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#5 of 19 in Tarragona
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#2 of 19 in Tarragona
570 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Tarraco Park
Hotel Tarraco Park
#10 of 19 in Tarragona
336 reviews
5.6 mi away
Nuria
Nuria
#8 of 19 in Tarragona
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mas la Boella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mas la Boella

Address: Autovia Tarragona-Reus (T-11), Km. 12, 43110 Tarragona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tarragona
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range: £104 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Mas la Boella 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mas la Boella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mas La Boella Tarragona, Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing