We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive place for a simple stopover, near to a good beach”
Review of Hostal El Callejon

Hostal El Callejon
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal El Callejon
Reviewed 18 October 2012

As a family of four, we stayed for one night at the Hostal El Callejon in August 2012. It was a basic and inexpensive place for a simple stopover, just over 5 minutes walk to a great sandy beach (the popular L’Arrabassada), and there are restaurants nearby too. The hostal is in a fairly modern suburb, but feels quite traditional and unpretentious. It’s only a few miles from Reus airport, and about 45 minutes from Barcelona airport by car. We used it for the first night of our holiday, and we were very glad we did so – much more interesting and more fun than staying at an airport hotel. You could walk (maybe 25 minutes) or take a bus into town to look at the Roman Amphitheatre & Cathedral. The town has its own low-key Rambla where the locals take a stroll.

We used Booking.com, and paid approx. €100 for the “family room” option, which was actually two interconnecting rooms (Nos. 14 and 15) – one being a double, and the other a twin. This was an ideal arrangement, providing privacy for the parents but complete peace of mind. Both rooms were small, basic but clean. The air conditioning was centrally controlled by the hotel, keeping the rooms reasonably cool.

The staff were helpful and hard-working, and they will reserve your own off-road parking adjacent to the hotel. They serve basic breakfasts, which cost under €5 each I think. The access is via a tiny narrow street close to the Hotel Nuria – you’ll need to look carefully for the blue “Hostal” sign.

My ratings are based on simple good value for a short stay – it’s not a luxury hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 14 and 15 are joined and can be booked together for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masher_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

Not what I expected!! The hotel was a small private one and the reception was in what seemed like a converted garage. This area doubles as a breakfast room/lounge. Our room was very drab with low wattage lights and the wi-fi was slow. There was not hot water in the room for some reason so we had to use the communal bathroom which did have it. The towels were rough. Breakfast was ok as there was a choice, but there were two cats in the room trying to get titbits. Not hygenic and I dont like cats. Overall disappoionting and would never go there again or recommend it to anyone I liked.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank profbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: aucune et certainement pas celles qui donnent sur l'arrière du bâtiment à cause du chemin de fer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Francis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Inma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MartaSheenCreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank limburgmariaelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.0 mi away
Nuria
Nuria
#9 of 20 in Tarragona
264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#11 of 20 in Tarragona
548 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Urbis Centre
Hotel Urbis Centre
#15 of 20 in Tarragona
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pigal
Pigal
#7 of 20 in Tarragona
67 reviews
2.8 mi away
HotelMR
HotelMR
#16 of 20 in Tarragona
38 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cosmos
Hotel Cosmos
#17 of 20 in Tarragona
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Callejon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Callejon

Address: Via Augusta 141, 43007 Tarragona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Tarragona
Price Range: £34 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal El Callejon 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal El Callejon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal El Callejon Tarragona, Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing