We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and reasonably priced”

Apartamentos Astoria
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartamentos Astoria
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I just like to agree with all the positive reviews. We stayed 10-17 April 2014 and had a 4th floor apartment with sea views. The apartment is basic but has everything you need and is very clean (cleaned twice during our stay!). The little bakery is no longer there and parking outside was difficult, but our rental car was small enough for the apartment's underground parking. Lots of interesting architecture and history in and around Tattagona.

Room Tip: ask for room on 4th floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter101742014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed here for a week and can find no fault in the accommodation. It is conveniantly located between the old city and the beach. It is squeaky clean, with plenty of storage space, a large bedroom and a balcony off the living area. The kitchen is tight but is very well equipped. It is also in a very quiet location. The apartment does not supply a hairdryer so bring your own. Otherwise it is amazing value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katybarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Enjoyed a week here. Apartment was simple and stylish (Ikea) with a balcony (table and chairs) and views over Tarragona. Kitchen very small but well equipped. At the top of the 'Paseo' turn left to a small Spar and right to a large Mercadona supermarket. Next door to the Spar is a local bakery. Visited every morning for fresh bread (and sometimes cakes!). It's a short walk down to the beach and about a 15 minute walk to the old town. Apartment handy for the train station, but it felt like quite a hike to the bus station. Reception staff helpful. We arrived on Saturday and met Carmen the concierge, who gave us the keys. TIP - test the safe before leaving anything of value inside. After locking the safe, it would not open again with the key but 'Reception' managed to sort out the following day. We did feel for a week in March, out of season, it was a bit overpriced, but would still recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in September and had a great time. The apartment was basic but very clean and had everything you could want. We had a nice sea view, which we hadn't expected. The beds were comfortable, and the location pretty quiet until the Santa Tecla festival got going at the weekend. Even then, we were pretty well out of it. The apartments are around half a mile outside the main city but right near the beach (to access which, from the city, you'd have to pass the apartments). There aren't a lot of eating and drinking options in the immediate vicinity but I'd prefer to walk a little to get that, than to put up with the noise of it all night after I have gone to bed.
Free wifi was useful though it did keep going down.
The staff were really friendly and helpful. We had a couple of queries which were resolved quickly and efficiently.
At €400 for 5 nights in a 2 bed apartment I thought this was good value for money.
We will be going back.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a better sea view. There is a lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenatthefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We were greated by a lovely lady called Carmen who was the caretaker,she spoke no English and we spoke only a few words of spanish but we managed fine,she showed us around the apartment ( room 401). We were on the 4th floor which gave us great sea views from both sides as the apartment was double aspect. We were very surprised as we had thought it would be a studio from the price we paid which was 406 euros for 7 nights. There was a good sized living room with flat screen tv and small kitchen area with combi microwave,2 burner gas hob,large fridge/ freezer,kettle and coffee maker. Crockery enough for 6 people. There is a 2 seater sofa and table with 4 chairs. My husband worked out how to knock off the dubbed Spanish voiceovers on some of the English language programmes so we had plenty of choice. There is an air con unit which is included in the price. We actually had a double bed(I note a previous reviewer had had two single beds together). There is a balcony which is accessible from both the living and bedroom.There were plenty of towels provided. There is a concertina drying line outside the bedroom window which was very useful and a washer on a couple of the floors which you pay one euro to use. There is a small supermarket(spar),bakery and fruit and veg shop about a 10 minute walk in the direction of the town. At the end of our stay we asked ( with the help of a phrase book) for the lady in the office to call us a taxi,which she did,and all went very smoothly. We really enjoyed our trip to Tarragona and would stay at Astoria again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gladysleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Good location, between to the centre of Tarragona and the beaches, but I recomend to rent a car to be more free to visit the city and the beautiful beaches.
Gentle and available staff, apartment well furnished and first of all well cleaned.
Good price in August, €400 per week.
I recomend this apartments for couples or family with children.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pietro_Gasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed at Apartamentos Astoria for a week and really enjoyed ourselves. The building is clean as are the rooms (not modern but very comfortable) and very near the historical sites and Playa Rabassada. There are several markets (grocery, green grocer, and bakery) within a 10 minute walk. The main Rambla of Tarragona is an easy uphill walk. There is a bus stop at the top of the street that will take you into Tarragona. The kitchen is a bit small but well furnished (a really large refrigerator) and we were able to cook several meals during our stay. There is air conditioning and the windows have shutters to help keep the rooms cool. Each floor of the building has a washer and a clothes line is provided. Our balcony looked toward the Mediterranean so we were able to watch the passing ships and sailboats. There is lots of storage space and a safe.

The manager does not speak much English but we were able to communicate with our bad Spanish. She was very helpful and accommodating to our requests. She even asked if we wanted a taxi to take us to the bus station before we even thought about it, that is good service! The only negative would be the twin beds pushed together for a double but this is very common in Spain and most of Europe.

Would stay here again as this was one of our most relaxing stays in Spain.

Room Tip: The some rooms overlook a busy street with a sea view but you get the best views of the Med if you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wrldtrvlr596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
1.5 mi away
Nuria
Nuria
#9 of 20 in Tarragona
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catalunya Express
Catalunya Express
#12 of 20 in Tarragona
147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#5 of 20 in Tarragona
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#3 of 20 in Tarragona
591 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
4.6 mi away
Hotel Mas la Boella
Hotel Mas la Boella
#1 of 20 in Tarragona
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Astoria

Address: Paseo Maritimo Rafael de Casanovas 3, 43003 Tarragona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Tarragona
Price Range: £47 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apartamentos Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Astoria Tarragona, Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing