We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Husa Imperial Tarraco
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful view!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and I came here as part of our honeymoon to Spain, and we weren't disappointed at all! (especially for the price)

Pros:
VIEW=amazing (sea view)
Location (walking distance everywhere, including to trains and buses)

Cons:
Flattest pillows in the world

Room Tip: Definitely opt for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany_Wilson918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial1960, Director Comercial at Husa Imperial Tarraco, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for your comments.
We take note about the pillows and be sure We´ll solve the problem.
We are glad you liked the room and the views and had a nice honeymoon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    160
    154
    127
    97
See reviews for
98
299
11
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We chose the hotel because of its location, and decided to splurge for a "Superior room with the see view". The view was terrific, but there was nothing superior in the room. Besides the price, that is. The room was dated, the bathroom floor and bath tub had somebody's hair, the balcony was dirty and littered with the pistachio shells. Receptionists were busy chatting on the phone, and we had to wait for a while before they decided to pay attention to our reservation and check us in, without a greeting or even a simple smile. You would expect a bit friendlier service for the 4-star hotel. Arguing about the parking price (there was a mismatch in the reservation and the hotel's price) and getting a password for internet (additional extra charge) took another 10 minutes. Checkout next day was just as unpleasant. The parking ticket validation machine did not accept my credit card or large bills, but the hotel clerk refused to change the bill stating that hotel has nothing to do with the machine. All while staying on phone. Only when I complained about bad service hotel staff provide to the hotel residents, he finally agreed to change the 50 euros so I could pay for the overpriced parking fee and leave. Even with the nice view, I am not sure it was worth the price we paid and unfriendly service we found.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms offer a nice view, especially on top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanyaPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial1960, Director Comercial at Husa Imperial Tarraco, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your comments.
We are sorry you didn´t enjoy your stay with us due to the problems with the staff.
We´ll investigate the situation and make sure it won´t happen never again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tarragona hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We chose this hotel for 3 nights during our week trip in Spain, we had been to Valencia for 2 nights previous and were moving onto Barcelona after. We were going to the Moto GP in Aragon which is a 2 hour drive away.

Hotel staff were nice, nothing to say much on, just fairly standard. I queried about having a massage and was taken care of in a professional manner. The massage was around fifty Euro's for an hour and it was lovely.

The hotel location is fantastic, with the ruins just outside and a nice beach. As it was later in the season, we only managed to get on the beach on the first day as the second day it rained but having a sea view room was nice with a balcony.

As you cross the road from the hotel, there are some steps that look like they don't really go anywhere - this is not true! It is beside the ruins and as we found by walking through here, a few lovely quaint squares with bars and restaurants. It was just lovely and we would go back just for that location.

As it rained for a full day we were there, we found there wasn't a great deal to do in the hotel or in the town itself, this created a bit of cabin fever by the end of the day - but we did go at the end of September! The pool was empty s even that wasn't an option and the bar was a no-go.

Tarragona itself is very Spanish, you will not get by if you don't know some basics but the people there are so friendly.

If you are going for Moto GP or any other event at Aragon, this hotel is in a great location and you have the most beautiful ride through the mountains to get to your event.

We would go back and stay here.

Room Tip: Sea view - if not you are looking at bins I believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial1960, Director Comercial at Husa Imperial Tarraco, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
We are very glad to know you enjoyed our hotel and our city that much.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I am a frequent business traveller - and fairly tolerant, but this place was poor! I arrived, there were 3 or 4 people behind the front desk - I waited over 5 minutes while they chatted amongst themselves. When they eventually bothered to acknowledge me the service was poor, unsmiling, as if I was an inconvenience. This is so unusual in Catalunya where people are usually so friendly. Also the Hotel is not good value - wifi is extra and expensive, parking is extra and expensive, sea view is extra and expensive. Tennis court is a wreck, the swimming pool is okay but no more. I - like others - also found a cockroach in my room.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julian_loves_lobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial1960, Director Comercial at Husa Imperial Tarraco, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your comments.
We will talk with our reception staff about your complain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

On arrival we were behind a couple "changing hotels" they had a cockroach in their bathroom. This was not a good sign. We checked in and our room was to be 215. We opened the door to find it was occupied! (there was also a dead cockroach outside the door). Complained in a manner you would expect and were eventually given a room higher up, 507. This was fine and trust me I checked every nook and crevice for critters or anything to suggest they were around. The bathroom was newly fitted and the room recently decorated, also with a good view of the sea and the city. No complaints with this room. Breakfast was fine, the usual, but nobody there to cook omelettes/eggs so you make do with what's there, though the Iberian ham was very nice. Have stayed at better hotels but this was adequate for the price. The staff were at first not very helpful but improved the next day and were fine with us. Price to Reus airport by taxi was about 32 euros

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy14607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial1960, Subdireccion at Husa Imperial Tarraco, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
We are terrible sorry that your stay didn´t have the expectation you had on us.
Works renovation will take a little bit of time but We are happy you were changed to one of them.
Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Imperial Tarraco for one week and had a great time. We managed to get a really good deal by booking through a comparison site. The room we had was on the fourth floor at the back and had a lovely balcony. The staff were not always friendly but were helpful when you requested anything. The breakfast which was included in our deal was great with lots of fruit, meats and cheeses. We used the pool which small was deep and normally quite empty. That was one thing that we did find strange was how empty it was but we still had a great time. The bar was great and really handy and prices were not bad as long as you stuck to wines and beers. The nightclub was noisy but only on Saturday, the rest of the time the hotel was really peaceful.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel on the 4th floor upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial1960, Subdireccion at Husa Imperial Tarraco, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
We are glad to hear you have had a nice stay with us.
Thank you for letting us know your comments.
We hope to see you any other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I travelled here last wed night looking for 2 rooms, one disabled. After getting thru the barriers, good news was there was a wheel chair ramp, bad news was the the disabled parking space was tucked away in a corner, small blocked and inaccessible.
Putting that behind me entered what seemed to be a nice hotel, approached reception and the gent attending walked away and ignored me... then was "not greeted" by a less than pleasant and very ignorant receptionist.
I left... but for what could be a great hotel was very disappointing. Shame on the unhelpful staff and shameful management last Wed night. More of a 2 star and definitely not a "4 star".
Ended up in 3 star down the road which was excellent!!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else. Other 3 star down the road was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 365traveller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial1960, Director Comercial at Husa Imperial Tarraco, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for letting us know your comments.
We are sorry you didn´t enjoy your stay with us due to your problems with the staff. Be sure We will investigate the succes and arrive to the very final of the question.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.4 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#6 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
1.2 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#1 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#4 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#8 of 20 in Tarragona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Tarraco Park
Hotel Tarraco Park
#7 of 20 in Tarragona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Husa Imperial Tarraco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Husa Imperial Tarraco

Property: Husa Imperial Tarraco
Address: Paseo de las Palmeres, s/n, 43003 Tarragona, Spain (Formerly Hotel Imperial Tarraco)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Husa Imperial Tarraco 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Husa Imperial Tarraco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Tarraco Hotel
Imperial Tarraco Tarragona
Husa Imperial Tarraco Tarragona, Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing