We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Husa Imperial Tarraco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Husa Imperial Tarraco
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't go!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I never write comments on hotels, but this one deserves one.
It was not my first time in a 4* hotel, but it was the first time I got so badly welcomed. The guy at the front desk was wearing a t-shirt (fine in a guesthouse, but not in a 4* hotel). I had requested a room with double bed and sea view. When I arrived in the room, there were 2 single beds, the main light didn't work (hard to work with no light bulb..).
So I went back to the front desk to ask for a room with a double bed. I got told that all double bedrooms are booked. Come on! The hotel is half empty! They hardly even check on their computer, talking Spanish with a low voice so that I couldn't hear.. They clearly didn't care...
They told me I could change the day after.
The following day, I go to the front desk, and miracle! There is a room with a double bed available. I checked in into my new room. At least the lights worked properly, but still a very old style room, low quality mattress & sheets, scratches on the bathtub, radio from the 60's..
The 2 only good points were the sea view, and the TV.
Something more, I really like animals, but waking up with a small aunt on my pillow was a bit too much..
This hotel has the facilities of a 2*+, and the last renovation was clearly done before I was born...
There are clearly better hotels around, especially for 115€ a night..
It´s a no go!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franck_London51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial1960, Director General at Husa Imperial Tarraco, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We are sorry you didn.t enjoy your stay with us at all.
We are in a total renovation period and we hope to make your stay more enjoyable next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    157
    152
    122
    93
See reviews for
97
294
11
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Just returned from 10 night stay in room 528. Excellent view from balcony along the coast and part of the old city. Read lots of mixed reviews about this hotel so went with an open mind. Firstly, the staff were excellent from reception to maids a credit to this company. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them, so thankyou to them for making us so welcome. Ok the room was a little tired but was clean, freshly serviced to a high standard daily. Everything worked well including the air con.The pool area is excellent but for some reason, not overly used, had it to ourselves on occasion.Brilliant!! All communal areas are clean and bright with plenty of space.My only real criticism was the price of breakfast at 14 euros per person, however the restaurant menu and prices were very good. We will definately stay here on our next visit to Tarragona, which by the way is an absolute gem of a town. So much to see and do here, the old town is second to none.Fantastic bars, restaurants, shops and winding lanes to get lost in.

Room Tip: As high as you can with a sea view, room 528 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial1960, Assistant Manager at Husa Imperial Tarraco, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking time to write laudatory comments.
We are very excited to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thank you so much for kind words for our staff reception, who really appreciate your comments.
Thank you anew, and we look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to Tarragona again.

Best regards,

Sonia de Castro
Assistant Manager
Hotel Husa Imperial Tarraco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We got lucky with this place - we got the room on a very good deal and we reserved a room with a sea view online - we ended up overlooking the beach and the roman amphitheatre, which was a real delight! Make sure you reserve a room with a view.The hotel is located really well next to the beach/promenade and is within 5-10 mins walk from all the main streets where the tapas restaurants are. It's also a 15 min walk from the train station so nice and easy to get to. Parking is exorbitant - unless you are planning to travel outside of Tarragona don't bother renting a car - the city is easy to walk around. You can get a bus from just down the street (number 1 or number 9) to some beaches to the north which are all amazing. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were really pleased overall and Tarragona itself is a wonderful place to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alextheowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial1960, Assistant Manager at Husa Imperial Tarraco, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
It is our greatest pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We would like to also thank you for your inputs about our convenient location, and most of all our proud friendly staffs. We truly thank you for your nicest comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tarragona.

Best regards,

Sonia de Castro
Assistant Manager
Hotel Husa Imperial Tarraco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarragona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel was no way 4 star!!!! We got our room which was very shoddy. I opened the presses only to find plaster hanging off, a hole and dampness in one press. Called reception and they said the hotel was booked out and they had no other room. I said we could not sleep there and they sent somebody up to the room. They then changed their minds and said they did have another room. It was much bigger and better but still not up to standard. One door of the wardrobe was falling off.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial1960, Assistant Manager at Husa Imperial Tarraco, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. The Husa Imperial Tarraco Hotel is determined to deliver the service that you have come to expect from the Husa brand and I apologize and regret that you received such poor impression upon your arrival.
Tha hotel is under big renovations work and We hope to have it all finish soon.

My best regards,

Sonia de Castro
Assistant Manager
Hotel Husa Imperial Tarraco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tarragona hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Marseillette
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I'm writing this while still at the hotel. Very disappointed, room is smelly and when complained got told they cant smell anything. The Wi-Fi is crap (came for a business meeting so needed it) and when I phoned to book was told it was excellent. Staff at the front desk are not very helpful and tend to look at you like your mad. The only good thing we have found so far is the view from our very tired/dated room.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel, the view seems to be the only good thing about the place. Definitely no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazarooni2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial1960, Assistant Manager at Husa Imperial Tarraco, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Your unfortunate experience is certainly not the result from the many efforts that are made daily to provide excellence in service and our commitment in providing a positive memorable experience to our guest.

We are very sorry about your comments and be sure We take notel to meke sure it wont happen again.

Best regards,

Sonia de Castro
Assistant Manager
Hotel Husa Imperial Tarraco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Having booked online directly on the hotel website where all the rooms are new, and paid extra to have a room with a view, we ended up with clearly an old room overlooking the pool but mostly the city, rather than the front view. The hotel seriously needs renovating, not only all the rooms but also the common areas. The staff don't speak anything other than Spanish or Catalan and will definitely not go out of their way to provide any help or information. Having just stayed in a great 4 star in Portugal this was no comparison. Not even sure how they have the 4 star rating, apart from the location they are not worth more than a decent 3 star. Not surprisingly they are having problems and might be closing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dxbtraveller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial1960, Assistant Manager at Husa Imperial Tarraco, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comment. Feedback from our guests enables us to continuously improve our operation and guest service.

Please accept our sincerest apology for your disappointment brought about during your stay. Rest assured that we have addressed your comment on the service deficiency with the in-charge person of the Front Office.

On another hand it is weird that We make mistakes wiht the kind of rooms are booked because our reception staff is always very careful with that. Even and so We apologize for the inconveniences We may caused you.

My best regards,

Sonia de Castro
Assistant Manager
Hotel Husa Imperial Tarraco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Me and My friend stayed at Imperial Tarraco for 6 nights, the Hotel has a great location, between the old and new part of the city, walking distance to shopping streets and the small sight seeing train stops right next to the Hotel.
The room needed a renovation, but was cleaned everyday, the bathroom was clean and spacious, we had a partial sea view. Hotel has a small pool. Breakfast was normal. Wifi (30 min) was available free of charge at lobby. They charge for internet at room for 5 EUR per day.
The best this hotel has is a location!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SofiaGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial1960, Assistant Manager at Husa Imperial Tarraco, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Husa Imperial Tarraco Hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location opposite the old city and the sea.
Wifi at the lobby and at the rooms are now free of charge.

I thank you for having availed your time to provide your constructive feedback and we look forward welcoming you back on your future travels to Tarragona.

My best regards,

Sonia de Castro
Assistant Manager
Hotel Husa Imperial Tarraco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.5 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#7 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
1.2 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#1 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#4 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#8 of 20 in Tarragona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Tarraco Park
Hotel Tarraco Park
#6 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Husa Imperial Tarraco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Husa Imperial Tarraco

Property: Husa Imperial Tarraco
Address: Paseo de las Palmeres, s/n, 43003 Tarragona, Spain (Formerly Hotel Imperial Tarraco)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Husa Imperial Tarraco 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Husa Imperial Tarraco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Tarraco Hotel
Imperial Tarraco Tarragona
Husa Imperial Tarraco Tarragona, Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing