We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel experience, highly recommend.”
Review of Hotel Lauria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lauria
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Tarragona
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel experience, highly recommend.”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at Hotel Lauria as our first holiday abroad together and loved every minute! The hotel is fantastic and this establishment definitely deserves more than 3 stars to its name. The staff members are so helpful and friendly and provided us with maps, information and directions that we needed during our stay. We were also able to buy tickets for theme parks such as Portaventura via the hotel which saved us the trouble of pre booking online before our stay and on money! The rooms are cleaned throughly everyday and are furnished lovely. The outdoor pool is available till 10pm which was great to end a long day walking around in the heat! I would highly recommend Hotel Lauria for any others planning to visit Tarragona and will be re-visiting there when next in spain :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbbbbbbbianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear bbbbbbbbianca,

Thanks a lot for your time and your comments. It's great to know that all guests are interested to share his great moments in Tarragona and, of course, in Hotel Lauria.
We hope to see you again when you visit again Tarragona.

Regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    214
    135
    51
    33
See reviews for
115
244
38
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
991 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I stayed in room 108, first floor which faced the side street with restaurants. Loud noise till at least 1:45AM. Guests next room could not sleep either and decided to have a mini party in their room. Walls are pretty thin. I liked the hotel by day. Location, staff, small pool were great. Good room size, though a little dated. But what Good is a Hotel if You CAN'T SLEEP!

Room Tip: Get an indoor facing room or get a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Mike N,

Thanks a lot for your comments and your opinions, all this kind of opinions are really important for us, we use their to improve ourselves everyday.

If I'm not wrong you stayed with us this last weekend. You're right when you say that your room was in a street with a bar and a restaurant and maybe was a bit noise. I don't know if you know it or not but during the last week from, wednesday until saturay, in Tarragona was an Anual International Firework Exhibition (this event is very important and all the city enjoy it a lot). Then, when the Tarragona's people finish to see the Fireworks they enjoy the city eating or drinking something with the friend in the city. Conclusion: The Fireworks Week Nights are a noise nights.
In dates as the Firework Exhibition, if we aren't absolutly full, we try to offer to our guests rooms with views to diferent zones, a quieter zones but in your case we hadn't more options.

If any time you come again to Tarragona and if you decide to choose us again I'm sure that we'll offer you a nicer room where you can enjoy from our hotel, our pool adn the staff who is working for you.

Best regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL LAURIA*** MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tarragona hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is a fantastic hotel in a great position in Tarragona. We had a room which overlooked the sea and also the city. The staff were fantastic and answered all our questions. We enjoyed it so much we have just booked to return on the 2nd August. Thanks Hotel Lauria.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Joanne G,

Thanks a lot for your comments, I can't add so much, just thanks a lot. I'm going to inform to all team from Hotel Lauria about your comments. I hope that you'll enjoy again your stay with us, I'm going to check your expedient and maybe, you would enjoy one of the renovated room that we're finishing in this moments because if everything is right in two days we'll finish the works to renovate more rooms in our hotel.

As I said you before, thanks a lot and we wait to see you again in August!!

Regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We spent a week in the Hotel Lauria, it's a great hotel. Our room had been beautifully redecorated and renovated, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom excellent. The staff were very helpful, immediately answering questions (including in emails before arrival !). Our room was on the third floor and overlooked the rest of the city and out to sea. The hotel is in just about the best location you could ask for; right on the Rambla Nova for restaurants and bars (which by the way is also one of the best boulevards we've seen), within easy walking distance of all the wonderful old Roman city, also only 5 mins walk from the train to Barcelona and 15 minutes walk to the seafood restaurants in the port.

Room Tip: it's worth asking for a sea view, costs a little more but when sitting on the balcony you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank chrislargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Chrislargs,

Thanks a lot for your comments and the time used to do it. As you say the situation of our hotel is perfect to visit Tarragona and the rooms of third floor are very calm and very nice views.
For the moment these rooms are the newest ones but now we're working to renew rooms from the second floor. Maybe if you decide to visit us again you will enjoy the newest rooms because all these room will be operative, if everything is ok, the next week.

Regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL LAURIA MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We visited Hotel Lauria on our first trip abroad together and had a fabulous holiday! We have booked again today and we are due to return on 09/07/2013 :) and we are hoping it will be just as good, the location is great and from what i remember a very good breakfast. The best part of all of this is that we have just got engaged and found out we are having a baby, hopefully the Hotel Laurie is just what we need.

Room Tip: You can get a train for very cheap to most places in costa dorada
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Wayne,

Thanks a lot for your nice comments. I'm also so happy that you enjoyed your last stay with us. Maybe you don't know it but now we're renewing some rooms and when we'll finish at the end of June or at beginning of July we'll get 10 renewed rooms to add to the 3th floor and the breakfast saloon.
I hope that when you'll be here you'll enjoy one of the newest rooms. I've checked your booking and I'll take care, for us is very important that all the guests, in special all that decide to come back.

Regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL LAURIA MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

An hour south of Barcelona.
Tarragona is a nice small city by the sea. Lots of nice restaurants and shops within a couple of minutes walk.
Nice comfortable hotel - on the Ramblas in Tarragona. Chose an executive room - for a few pounds extra. bathroom very nice - recently modernised - bedroom large but nothing stylish.
Pillows a bit hard.
Continental breakfast was basic but fine
In summer there is a small pool too.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Mr. Lawrence,

Thanks a lot for your time and your comments about Hotel Lauria, it's great to know that our guests have had a nice experience in our city and, of course, in our hotel.

Just to complement your comments about the executives rooms, just inform you that the last week we've started works in our hotel to improve more rooms. If everything work right during the month of June we'll have a ten new improved room to plus to the executive rooms. From Dormicum Hotels we're working hard to offer you the best option in Tarragona.

About the pillows just inform you, for the next time if you decide to visit us, that we've different kind of pillows, harder or softer. Then, if you ask in reception for a softer pillow I'm sure that we'll offer you the best option for you.

Just to finish, thanks for your comments.

Kind regards,


ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Just spent a few days in Tarragona on a work trip and stayed in Hotel Lauria. Rooms basic and tad dated, comfortable, clean and had all you need. I think they also all have balconies.
The hotel is quite cheap at 51 Euros a night but breakfast is an extra 8.70 Euro but not bad, usual buffet style with good selection of cold stuffs, cerials, toast and meats etc.
Hotel has a pool area but bit out of season when I was there.
My wife joined me on this trip so the cost on room basis suited well.
The staff were excellent, friendly and very helpful, will make you coffee even if the bar area is closed, I had packages delivered for the job I was on and nothing was any trouble to them.
The hotel is located near the end of the Rambla at the sea end and just a very short walk of a few hundred yards into the old town.
The area seemed clean, and safe with lots of bars and restaurants and some great buildings, so the hotel is in an excellent position. I was working in the port (maine marina) which is just a 10-15 walk.
Landed at Reus airport, a new and very quiet one, allow about 30 euros for taxi to or from the hotel to the airport but there is a bus service for about 3 euros that is open when planes arrive.
Good hotel excellent town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigblueboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Mr Bigblueboat,
Thanks a lot for your comments and the time used to write it. Well, I can't tell you so much because I agree with your description about the hotel, the breakfast, the city... I'm sure that you've travelled a lot and you've seen a lot of hotels and cities then you write responsible comments.
Just two questions, first just inform you that all our rooms are exterior rooms and the almost have balconies, just 15 rooms (the ground floor) don't have it. As second question, I'd like to inform you that Dormicum Hotels manage the Hotel Lauria since September 2009 and during these years until nowadays we've renovated the rooms from 3th floor, the breakfast saloon and the meeting rooms. Now, the next month, we're going to renovate also some rooms from 2nd floor. We're working hard to renovate all Hotel Lauria but, unfortunately, in the economical crisis times that we're living we can't do it as faster as we'd like to do it.
Just to finish tell you that all we'll be happy if any time you decided to visit us again or if we receive any news from you from any friend or colleague that decide to visit us.

Regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.6 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#5 of 19 in Tarragona
383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#4 of 19 in Tarragona
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#2 of 19 in Tarragona
553 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nuria
Nuria
#8 of 19 in Tarragona
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pigal
Pigal
#7 of 19 in Tarragona
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lauria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lauria

Property: Hotel Lauria
Address: Rambla Nova 20, 43004 Tarragona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lauria 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 100 metres from the "Balcón del Mediterráneo" Viewpoint, Hotel Lauria is located on Tarragona’s main street, Rambla Nova. It offers an outdoor pool and air-conditioned rooms with a balcony.The rooms at the Lauria feature parquet floors and dark wood furniture. Each one comes with flat-screen satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.The hotel serves a daily breakfast in the modern dining room, and there is also a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lauria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauria Hotel Tarragona
Hotel Lauria Tarragona, Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing