We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE PLACE”
Review of Astari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astari Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Tarragona
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“VERY NICE PLACE”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Flights to Reus (Ryanair- book early)- our flights had tripled in price within two weeks - transfer taxi - 32euro/bus 3euro to town centre (check timetables/infrequent)+ taxi to hotel approx 10 Euro. Hotel Astari in Tarragona is a very nice hotel - for a relaxed peaceful break - not for party goers. All areas/corridors very nice. Very civilised and tranquil. Pool area excellent - loungers plenty - dining/very comfy couch areas in the shade - candles at night on all tables. Really lovely. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Lifts to rooms/corridors/areas in hotel lovely. Food 7-12 euro/meal burgers,chicken,steak,salad,chips,pasta etc. Excellent waitress service for cold drinks- wine 2 euro/coffee 1.20. We changed to a sea view room and what a view from balcony.Rooms nice/maid service. Outside hotel turn left and head straight on to town centre approx 15 min easy walk - Spar/bakers/fruit shop 7 min walk. Or turn left & then 1st left at hotel to walk down to one of my top 10 beaches/coves/quiet areas/beach bars - we never heard a British accent the whole time we were there. Really amazing scenery. Town centre has all the historical things of Tarragona and plenty shops/restaurants etc - taxi 7 euro. Will definitely return. This hotel merits more than it's 3 star rating. Nice people staying at this place and reasonable price - £234/2 people 4 nights. Take a book/TV in Spanish/learn Spanish. On the way to town approx 5 min from hotel a garage place selling amazing paintings - got an oil painting for 10 euro - treasured memory. The frame will cost me more & try the bakers for the croissants - excellent - fruit cheap - spar cheap (1/3 cheaper than UK). Enjoy.

Room Tip: Allocation of sea view rooms on arrival but ask for a change if you particularly want this and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L-M666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    193
    78
    25
    10
See reviews for
80
203
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Just back from a 4 night stay at this hotel. Very good standard for a 3 star hotel. Room comfortable and clean,good balcony with sea view (though not all rooms had this.) Breakfast was worth the 7.90 euros. The area is quiet but only a short walk from the town and there is a Spar halfway and also a tiny bar that will sell you sandwiches to take out.
Above all the staff were great,friendly and helpful. They even made chips and toasties for us when we arrived after the kitchen had officially closed for the night at 11p.m.
Reception staff spoke good English.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of sea. Was glad our room wasn't on 1st floor above the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcossebre, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed here for one night to visit the historic sites of Tarragona- there is a very good
underground car park at 7.50 euros- this is a big bonus as parking in the centre is soooo
expensive, almost 40 euros for 24 hours- the staff were very helpful about where to go to
eat and places to visit- the room was clean and comfortable with a balcony to enjoy the
sunshine- it is a short walk to most of the Roman sites, even if a little uphill, not much

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliff1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We had'nt booked anyywhere to stay in Tarragona and found this via our sat nav. The outside and Reception look OK but unfortunately the rooms do not match! The rooms and bathrooms are in desperate need of updating and the only good thing I can say unfortunately is that our room had a nice big balcony with new furniture.

Location was good, near to old town and a short walk into the centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa ON
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed here for four days. Our room was fine and we appreciated the balcony overlooking the swimming pool. Wireless internet worked well. The pool was nice and refreshing and we spent some time in the lounge chairs, enjoying the sun. Overall I have no complaints about the hotel, the rooms or the staff who were friendly and spoke great English. However, I didn't realize how far the hotel was from the main centre of the city. It was a good 15 minute walk to anything. There were no restaurants nearby and no stores where we could pick up drinks or snacks outside of a grocery store with very limited hours which seemed to be closed the entire time of our stay. We generally like to have our meals and an evening drink outside of the hotel and next time we stay in Tarragona (and there will be a next time, it's a wonderful city to visit), we'll stay at one of the other popular choices, closer to the Plaza or Rambla.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stang1sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roermond, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Entrance nice,
Reception and employees kind and friendly.
Room 405 absolutely below all levels.
According the reception one of the better rooms because we intended going to stay longer than one week.
Wonder how the other rooms are!!!!
Bathroom absolutely terrible (pictures available) and on level of third world countries.
Tiles broken, mildews on the bath tiles, bidet lose on the floor. (pictures available)
Enamel in bath completely worn and black. (pictures available)
Hose of shower full of dirt and chalk. (pictures available)
Floor dirty (did not want to take my socks of) and floor (carpet) looked as if someone brought up on some spots. (pictures available)
Grills of air-conditioning clogged with dirt and dust , thermostat knob broken and temporarily repaired. (pictures available)
Beds of very cheap quality and mattresses sliding all over the place when only sitting on the bed.
Clouds of dust in the cupboard around the mini bar which seemed not to be cooling.
Television announced to be international., only local Spanish TV.
Chairs on balcony worn and broken impossible to sit in. (pictures available)
Beds around swimming pool are all broken on welds and hazardous to lay on.

A shame that a hotel with brilliant possibilities near the ramblas of a beautiful city like Tarragona does not use its potential.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacques C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We stayed at Astari for 2 nights in a triple room. The room was fine, with a spacious balcony. The hotel sits on the main road to the downtown, very convenient for arriving by car. There is an in-house garage, connected by the lift with the lobby. We came for sightseeing, and walking 20-30 min to the old town was fine with us. Beware, if you prefer to be closer to main attractions. The beaches are quite far away, but guests can use a swimming pool. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
1.2 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#4 of 19 in Tarragona
561 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
1.6 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#2 of 19 in Tarragona
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#11 of 19 in Tarragona
529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nuria
Nuria
#8 of 19 in Tarragona
254 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Mas la Boella
Hotel Mas la Boella
#3 of 19 in Tarragona
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astari Hotel

Property: Astari Hotel
Address: Via Augusta 95 - 97, 43003 Tarragona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Astari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astari Hotel Tarragona, Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing