We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Astari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astari Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Tarragona
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The standard of room and bathroom here was fantastic. The staff were very helpful, and the pool was great - nice peaceful atmosphere. The town centre was a bit of a walk but there was a bus into town from right outside the hotel, and the nearest beach was only a 5 minute walk away. Our room had a lovely sea view and was very spacious, with lots of storage facility and a fridge.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londoner_0988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    193
    78
    25
    10
See reviews for
80
203
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Very nice room with good food. Just stayed for a few nights, but very nice breakfast and dinner. My wife thought the food was amazing for a hotel, she had the duck breast with a fantastic sauce. Trip advisor wants more characters but I don't really have more to say.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gkirkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualicum beach
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

The pictures online of this property make it look somewhat decadent, upon arrival the lobby surpriced us with a rather unpleasant smell...not a deal breaker, but confirmation of the age of the property. As is normal in Europe, the elevators are small. My husband rode them with our luggage while I chose the stairs. Our room was fine for what we needed, simple with a small TV (no english channels if that is important to you). The bathroom left a little to be desired - an ancient shower curtain with the telltale signs of pinkish mold. But who cares right? you're on holiday BECAUSE the balcony was stunning. The views toward Barcelona are fantastic. The hotel location itself is down hill from the main points of interest; do not be detered, most hotels in Tarragona are. The service is excellent. Onsite parking is available. Pro: ease of access and the service, wonderful Con: even for a cup of coffee and croissant in the morning we were charged an un-comprehensable amount for full breakfast for two. Take your coffee somewhere else

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards or facing Barcelona. If a storm is coming in, it's an amazing thing to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hemlockcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

First of all the downsides, which are few and trivial. The fridge we had in the room did not work and when we changed rooms, the fridge did not work in there either. People who we travelled with had a fridge in their room and that worked so maybe we were unlucky. There was air conditioning but at times it did not seem very effective in the heat. The good sides however are the staff are incredibly friendly and moved our rooms with no hassle when we requested. The breakfast is amazing and cheap. The food in the hotel is delicious and the prices for drinks and food in the hotel are very reasonable. There were five of us who stayed in this hotel and all in all this is one of my favourite hotels I have stayed in. It is perfect for a quiet getaway. It probably would not suit younger people who might want a bit of life but Tarragona has lots of history and culture and we could not have been happier with this place. The pool was also very warm and the pool area clean and tidy.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandwellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We were looking for somewhere cheap close to Reus airport for our last night in Spain, I booked the Astari without any research just because it was the cheapest with a pool - €73/night for a triple room (Little girl did her first length in it! But I digress... ). Driving down Via Augusta my wife actually said "Well it won't be that one: Too nice!" Well it was and it is; very nice for a 3 star. We parked down the first side street on the right 100yds away with no issues so had an extra €8 to spend. The room was on the corner of the first floor at the front and more than big enough for three, had a large spotless bathroom, large balcony and was clean and well equipped with mini bar, free toiletries, hair dryer, TV,stereo and air con.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly, and the restaurant in the hotel was reasonably priced but we wanted to explore so ate out. The staff, who's English was hugely better than my Spanish, gave us good directions and a map. I must confess we hadn't a clue about Tarragona and were bowled over by the old town which is stunning and only a 10 minute walk away.
The pool was great and very safe for kids as the whole area has a felt-like non slip floor. My wife sunned herself on the poolside sofas with the waitress bringing the refreshments and we had to remind ourselves this was just an airport convenient, cheap three star! If I was being very picky the pool area could do with a lick of paint here and there but it certainly didn't take away from our experience. Wholeheartedly recommend both Tarragona and the Astari!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Flights to Reus (Ryanair- book early)- our flights had tripled in price within two weeks - transfer taxi - 32euro/bus 3euro to town centre (check timetables/infrequent)+ taxi to hotel approx 10 Euro. Hotel Astari in Tarragona is a very nice hotel - for a relaxed peaceful break - not for party goers. All areas/corridors very nice. Very civilised and tranquil. Pool area excellent - loungers plenty - dining/very comfy couch areas in the shade - candles at night on all tables. Really lovely. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Lifts to rooms/corridors/areas in hotel lovely. Food 7-12 euro/meal burgers,chicken,steak,salad,chips,pasta etc. Excellent waitress service for cold drinks- wine 2 euro/coffee 1.20. We changed to a sea view room and what a view from balcony.Rooms nice/maid service. Outside hotel turn left and head straight on to town centre approx 15 min easy walk - Spar/bakers/fruit shop 7 min walk. Or turn left & then 1st left at hotel to walk down to one of my top 10 beaches/coves/quiet areas/beach bars - we never heard a British accent the whole time we were there. Really amazing scenery. Town centre has all the historical things of Tarragona and plenty shops/restaurants etc - taxi 7 euro. Will definitely return. This hotel merits more than it's 3 star rating. Nice people staying at this place and reasonable price - £234/2 people 4 nights. Take a book/TV in Spanish/learn Spanish. On the way to town approx 5 min from hotel a garage place selling amazing paintings - got an oil painting for 10 euro - treasured memory. The frame will cost me more & try the bakers for the croissants - excellent - fruit cheap - spar cheap (1/3 cheaper than UK). Enjoy.

Room Tip: Allocation of sea view rooms on arrival but ask for a change if you particularly want this and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L-M666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Just back from a 4 night stay at this hotel. Very good standard for a 3 star hotel. Room comfortable and clean,good balcony with sea view (though not all rooms had this.) Breakfast was worth the 7.90 euros. The area is quiet but only a short walk from the town and there is a Spar halfway and also a tiny bar that will sell you sandwiches to take out.
Above all the staff were great,friendly and helpful. They even made chips and toasties for us when we arrived after the kitchen had officially closed for the night at 11p.m.
Reception staff spoke good English.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of sea. Was glad our room wasn't on 1st floor above the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
1.2 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#4 of 19 in Tarragona
561 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
1.6 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#2 of 19 in Tarragona
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#11 of 19 in Tarragona
529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nuria
Nuria
#8 of 19 in Tarragona
254 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Mas la Boella
Hotel Mas la Boella
#3 of 19 in Tarragona
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astari Hotel

Property: Astari Hotel
Address: Via Augusta 95 - 97, 43003 Tarragona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Astari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astari Hotel Tarragona, Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing