We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation, skip the food”
Review of Astari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astari Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the heart of the city and the beach. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms are basic but comfortable and roomy. Air con works. Outside area around pool is comfortable and relaxing.
Downsides include the dinner menu of the restaurant -- the food was plucked from the freezer and deep fried! There are many better eating spots nearby. The car garage is also very cramped and would be challenging for cars slightly larger.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have balconies overlooking the beach and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Staff very helpful at reception, at all times. Very willing to make the experience a pleasant one. Excellent room, linen changed every day, partial pool view. Higher rooms perhaps a better option. Vey comfortable bed. Air con effective, given 33 degree July days. Breakfast experience a little chaotic, but probably worth the additional cost. Will definitely return to Astari in future.

Room Tip: Need to be at least 2 floors up for decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honestopinion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the beginning of July 2013 in 2 rooms. My initial impressions were a bit unfavourable, the rooms were both very warm (it was very high 20s outside and mid 20s inside), the fridge didn't work and we had the same size room for 3 of us as the room for our fourth party member. The rate however was very good and in fact as our visit went on I came to appreciate the friendly hotel staff, and the hidden plus factors of staying at the Astari. We asked for our fridge to be fixed and it was swapped for one which worked a little bit better, tho still was not great. The air conditioning hadn't been working very well as the door onto the balcony was cracked open a bit. The a/c worked much better after the door was shut, and leaving it on all day brought the room temp down to around 20, still a bit warm but fine to sleep in. We were on the third floor and our rooms overlooked the main road, which initially did not seem as nice as a pool sea view. However there was no noise from this at all and the view was interesting and panoramic across to the old town. The pool was lovely, only used from about 10am until 8pm or so, so I don't think rooms overlooking the pool would be noisy. The cleaning staff were efficient polite and friendly and changed all the towels every day and I think also the bed linen every day too. The room was a bit tired looking but very clean. The breakfast was a little expensive (€8 per adult or child over 12, €4 for kids) but as you could eat breakfast up until 11am you could have a really generous helping as a brunch and then skip lunch. I didn't eat breakfast but our kids did and there was the usual range of everything you could want from fruit cereal cakes eggs toast etc. Pool service staff were very good, coffees etc very reasonable. The hotel was well positioned, just a very short walk to the nearest beach (7 mins max) and slightly more to a nicer one with more facilities. Close to the ampitheatre and old town, all easily walking. And just 2 mins out of the hotel a handy Spar and a lovely small local bakery. Felt very safe and our rooms lovely and quiet. So would definitely recommend, we had a lovely stay, the staff were all great and although the hotel is slightly tired in parts it ticks all the boxes, especially for staff, location, and value.

Room Tip: The rooms at the ends of the corridors have nobody going past them so would be quieter and have view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryanair_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed a week with a group. We were exceptionally looked after by all the staff who were well trained, very friendly & very good. We had a 3 course set menu each night with free wine which was always good. Rooms spotless & clean towels/sheets more often than needed. Spacious lounge areas & outdoor sofas by the pool were appreciated as was the option to have breakfast & lunch outside. Some of the outside of the building was showing signs of age & my balcony furniture was tatty but overall it was a lovely, good value, hotel in a quiet area of a town that is better than it first seems. Beach & old town 10 to 15 mins walk.

Room Tip: The hotel has 2 blocks of rooms. The newer ones are a bit better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hectoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights, booked last minute, and I must say that we were pleasantly surprised.
Initial impression: façade is quite modern and it's on a large road with easy access to the highway to Barcelona.
Location: 10 minutes walk to the entrance of the old town and minutes from the main city beaches. There is also a large supermarket a few hundred metres away should you need to stock up on some items (mine was a log of chorizo and some jamon iberico to take home).
We were greeted by Roxa (spelling?) which was the most pleasant and informative receptionist I have ever encountered. She gave us good recommendations on places to go and to eat around town and called restaurants on our behalf.
We asked for a room with sea view, and was given to us. You can see the view from a large private balcony, which was ideal for taking some aperitif in the afternoon.
The decor was simple, but everything was spotless clean and well-maintained.
Pool also looked nice, but it wasn't heated, so a bit too cold to take a swim.
All in all, a pleasant surprise and will definitely consider this hotel should we go back to Tarragona (which was also a surprisingly nice city with lots to see and do).

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the new part of the hotel (where we stayed). The old part looked a bit run down from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

we stayed in this hotel about a month ago and we really loved everything about it. It is on the hill a few minutes walk from the old town and all the great restaurants and shops. Our room over looked the orange garden and Mediterranean sea in the back ground, what not to love here. The rooms are decent size with balconies, mini bars, TV, nice large bathrooms etc. and all in great shape. Floors are marble which keeps it very clean. We were also able to park out little rental car in the garage below for an additional small fee of 7 EU per night, (note don’t bring a big car as it will not fit in this garage – build in the 60ish for smaller vehicles). Breakfast is available at an additional cost as well. The front desk agent who helped us when we arrived was the best, so nice, polite and knowledgably and helped us in English, after us he helped a couple in German, clearly this man was able to master many languages and that is great because we certainly arrived with somewhat rusty Spanish. I would describe this hotel as un-pretentious, comfortable and a hidden gem really and we’d stay there again if in Tarragona.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank born4travelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stayed here 2 nights midweek and found it perfectly adequate. The public areas are bright if a little tired and the room was spotlessly clean and everything worked. The decor was tired and the room lacked character, but for what it was and for the price it was good. Rooms was quiet and the beds were firm but comfy. It is not marketed as a destination hotel, but it does have a lovely pool and garden. Staff were lovely, wifi was free. breakfast was a buffet, there were a couple of chafing dishes but didn't appeal. There is underground secure parking at 7.90 euros which is a bargain in Tarragona and there is a place to park outside the hotel in the street which is, I suppose, free. Rooms would benefit from a mirror I think.

Room Tip: Room 309 has twin beds and a sea view. Quiet. Rooms on the other side of the hotel have no sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catllar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
1.2 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#5 of 20 in Tarragona
582 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
1.6 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#3 of 20 in Tarragona
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#11 of 20 in Tarragona
542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nuria
Nuria
#9 of 20 in Tarragona
262 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Mas la Boella
Hotel Mas la Boella
#2 of 20 in Tarragona
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astari Hotel

Address: Via Augusta 95 - 97, 43003 Tarragona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range: £51 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Astari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astari Hotel Tarragona, Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing