We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and friendly”
Review of Astari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astari Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Tarragona
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing and friendly”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel which was a lovely relaxing hotel with a pleasant pool area. The room tho small was clean and tidy and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. It was close to the old town of tarragona which was a fantastic area full of history and charm.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cath130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    193
    78
    25
    10
See reviews for
80
203
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the heart of the city and the beach. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms are basic but comfortable and roomy. Air con works. Outside area around pool is comfortable and relaxing.
Downsides include the dinner menu of the restaurant -- the food was plucked from the freezer and deep fried! There are many better eating spots nearby. The car garage is also very cramped and would be challenging for cars slightly larger.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have balconies overlooking the beach and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Staff very helpful at reception, at all times. Very willing to make the experience a pleasant one. Excellent room, linen changed every day, partial pool view. Higher rooms perhaps a better option. Vey comfortable bed. Air con effective, given 33 degree July days. Breakfast experience a little chaotic, but probably worth the additional cost. Will definitely return to Astari in future.

Room Tip: Need to be at least 2 floors up for decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honestopinion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the beginning of July 2013 in 2 rooms. My initial impressions were a bit unfavourable, the rooms were both very warm (it was very high 20s outside and mid 20s inside), the fridge didn't work and we had the same size room for 3 of us as the room for our fourth party member. The rate however was very good and in fact as our visit went on I came to appreciate the friendly hotel staff, and the hidden plus factors of staying at the Astari. We asked for our fridge to be fixed and it was swapped for one which worked a little bit better, tho still was not great. The air conditioning hadn't been working very well as the door onto the balcony was cracked open a bit. The a/c worked much better after the door was shut, and leaving it on all day brought the room temp down to around 20, still a bit warm but fine to sleep in. We were on the third floor and our rooms overlooked the main road, which initially did not seem as nice as a pool sea view. However there was no noise from this at all and the view was interesting and panoramic across to the old town. The pool was lovely, only used from about 10am until 8pm or so, so I don't think rooms overlooking the pool would be noisy. The cleaning staff were efficient polite and friendly and changed all the towels every day and I think also the bed linen every day too. The room was a bit tired looking but very clean. The breakfast was a little expensive (€8 per adult or child over 12, €4 for kids) but as you could eat breakfast up until 11am you could have a really generous helping as a brunch and then skip lunch. I didn't eat breakfast but our kids did and there was the usual range of everything you could want from fruit cereal cakes eggs toast etc. Pool service staff were very good, coffees etc very reasonable. The hotel was well positioned, just a very short walk to the nearest beach (7 mins max) and slightly more to a nicer one with more facilities. Close to the ampitheatre and old town, all easily walking. And just 2 mins out of the hotel a handy Spar and a lovely small local bakery. Felt very safe and our rooms lovely and quiet. So would definitely recommend, we had a lovely stay, the staff were all great and although the hotel is slightly tired in parts it ticks all the boxes, especially for staff, location, and value.

Room Tip: The rooms at the ends of the corridors have nobody going past them so would be quieter and have view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryanair_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed a week with a group. We were exceptionally looked after by all the staff who were well trained, very friendly & very good. We had a 3 course set menu each night with free wine which was always good. Rooms spotless & clean towels/sheets more often than needed. Spacious lounge areas & outdoor sofas by the pool were appreciated as was the option to have breakfast & lunch outside. Some of the outside of the building was showing signs of age & my balcony furniture was tatty but overall it was a lovely, good value, hotel in a quiet area of a town that is better than it first seems. Beach & old town 10 to 15 mins walk.

Room Tip: The hotel has 2 blocks of rooms. The newer ones are a bit better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hectoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostuni, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights, booked last minute, and I must say that we were pleasantly surprised.
Initial impression: façade is quite modern and it's on a large road with easy access to the highway to Barcelona.
Location: 10 minutes walk to the entrance of the old town and minutes from the main city beaches. There is also a large supermarket a few hundred metres away should you need to stock up on some items (mine was a log of chorizo and some jamon iberico to take home).
We were greeted by Roxa (spelling?) which was the most pleasant and informative receptionist I have ever encountered. She gave us good recommendations on places to go and to eat around town and called restaurants on our behalf.
We asked for a room with sea view, and was given to us. You can see the view from a large private balcony, which was ideal for taking some aperitif in the afternoon.
The decor was simple, but everything was spotless clean and well-maintained.
Pool also looked nice, but it wasn't heated, so a bit too cold to take a swim.
All in all, a pleasant surprise and will definitely consider this hotel should we go back to Tarragona (which was also a surprisingly nice city with lots to see and do).

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the new part of the hotel (where we stayed). The old part looked a bit run down from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

we stayed in this hotel about a month ago and we really loved everything about it. It is on the hill a few minutes walk from the old town and all the great restaurants and shops. Our room over looked the orange garden and Mediterranean sea in the back ground, what not to love here. The rooms are decent size with balconies, mini bars, TV, nice large bathrooms etc. and all in great shape. Floors are marble which keeps it very clean. We were also able to park out little rental car in the garage below for an additional small fee of 7 EU per night, (note don’t bring a big car as it will not fit in this garage – build in the 60ish for smaller vehicles). Breakfast is available at an additional cost as well. The front desk agent who helped us when we arrived was the best, so nice, polite and knowledgably and helped us in English, after us he helped a couple in German, clearly this man was able to master many languages and that is great because we certainly arrived with somewhat rusty Spanish. I would describe this hotel as un-pretentious, comfortable and a hidden gem really and we’d stay there again if in Tarragona.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank born4travelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
1.2 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#4 of 19 in Tarragona
561 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#11 of 19 in Tarragona
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#2 of 19 in Tarragona
552 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nuria
Nuria
#8 of 19 in Tarragona
254 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Mas la Boella
Hotel Mas la Boella
#1 of 19 in Tarragona
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astari Hotel

Property: Astari Hotel
Address: Via Augusta 95 - 97, 43003 Tarragona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Astari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astari Hotel Tarragona, Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing