We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely for a weekend”
Review of Astari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Astari Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Tarragona
Reviewed 5 July 2006

A very nice place to stay for a weekend.

The hotel itself is quite nice. The rooms are comfortable - decent size bed, tv, aircon, mini bar (quite reasonably priced) and ensuite. The staff are friendly and very helpful.

The pool is also really nice, quiet big and there are pool side showers. There are free sunlongers and tables and chairs by the pool to help you relax in the sun. There is a building site next to the hotel, but don't let this put you off. Unless your balcony looks directly over it (fortuately ours didn't) you hardly ever notice it. And you hear very little noise from it, I don't think we saw any movement all weekend.

The only compliant I would have as far as the hotel was concerned is that the bar closes for most of the day. As do most of the local shops. So unless you want to dehydrate I strongly recommend keeping a supply of water because at certain times of the day you cant buy a bottle for love nor money!!

Tarragona itself is really nice, but I would recommend that you have at least a basic knowledge of the Spanish language if you intend to stay here. Not many people spek English!!

The beach is gorgeous, and very spacious. Even at the weekend it wasn't very busy. The sea was warm and very clear. The views are stunning.

The town is very nice with a few resturants and a cute little irish bar (if you want to watch football, you'll have to find it because nowhere else in the town screens it!!). There are a few shops but it's a bit like any other town, not really geared up for tourists, although that's not always a bad thing.

You can get a taxi to near by waterparks for about 15 Euros, around these areas things are a lot more touristy. You can get buses there too, which would be a lot cheaper but after getting a bus from the hotel into the town centre we decided to give up and jus get a taxi!!!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vikkis82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
There are newer reviews for Astari Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 397 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin, Ireland
15
Reviewed 3 August 2005

Stayed in Hotel Astari, Tarragona for 3 nights last weekend. The hotel is basic clean and comfortable. Rooms are average size with a good size balcony. Staff where friendly and helpful. Tarragona is a small city and easy to walk around, the hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk from the centre but on the plus side it is close to the beach. For €65/night for a double room (i.e. 2 people, €32.50 each) during peak season (July) it is very good value. Tarragona is ideal for a weekend break, very close to Reus airport (cheap ryanair flights!), lots of culture and Roman ruins etc restaurants are very good and very affordable. City is not too Touristy either, Salou and Pedina (a few kilometers away) are your typical tacky holiday resorts (blackpool in the sun!) but Tarragona is quiet and relaxed, there are more locals here than tourists.
The hotels pool area is very nice... i didn't eat in the restaurant though. Too many nice restaruants in the city!
Only bad point would be that there is a construction site behind the hotel. Luckily the spainish don't work too much at the weekend so we where not effected by noise. Also our balcony did not face onto the construction site so it did not affect us.
If your looking for a nice weekend break that won't break the bank I'd highly recommed a trip to Hotel Astari, Tarragona

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bournemouth, UK
240
Reviewed 28 April 2004

We visited Tarragona in June 03 for the weekend. It is a good 10/15 min walk from the centre. Rooms comfortable but not exceptional. Our room looked out over an empty building plot, apparently soon to be developed - almost certainly by now, so the view may be even worse. Receptionist was very pleasant & helpful throughout our short stay, which is more than could be said for several of the waiters & bar staff who varied in attitude from disinterested to beligerent. Since we did not eat at the hotel I cannot vouch for the quality of the food. However I can thoroughly recommend the city which is both beautiful & interesting. The Roman ruins should not be missed!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nello219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sere76Torino_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Евгения П
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
1.2 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#5 of 19 in Tarragona
575 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
1.6 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#2 of 19 in Tarragona
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nuria
Nuria
#8 of 19 in Tarragona
259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#11 of 19 in Tarragona
535 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Mas la Boella
Hotel Mas la Boella
#1 of 19 in Tarragona
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astari Hotel

Address: Via Augusta 95 - 97, 43003 Tarragona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range: £51 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Astari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astari Hotel Tarragona, Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing