We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed here for only 3 nights bed & breakfast. A central hotel in Tarragona with good restaurants within walking distance this always a bonus staying at any hotel. We did not use the restaurant in hotel for evening meals other people staying there who did commented it was good value, The breakfasts were fine but the hot food bit on the cold side though plenty of choice if you prefer continental. Our front facing room overlooked the busy roundabout suppose traffic noise could bother lighter sleepers, we slept very well so we found it acceptable. Hotel in general kept to a high standard including large room given us. Handy coffee shop on ground floor that we used a couple of times during our stay. We would definately stay here again when in Tarragona. When booking in another couple who booked in just before us had the mans wallet taken from his shorts pocket outside their room thank goodness he managed to snatch it back before the bloke who was with a women did a runner with it. Can happen in any hotel I suppose.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bradshawbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

We arrived at 10.30pm and were glad we had eaten earlier as the restaurant closed at 10.30pm. We booked in and went for drink in the bar to discover it closed at 11pm. As this was a friday night we were a bit suprised. This was the only negative aspect of our stay in this hotel. We stayed 3 nights as part of a tour. The room was comfortable, clean and had a nice bathroom and separate area with washbasin etc. We ate breakfast which had a good selection of hot and cold dishes and was fine and had no other meals in the hotel. We enjoyed the 15/20 minute walk into the main town square where there were plenty of restaurants. We found the room to be quiet and slept well. The staff were freindly and helpful. We would stay again if we were in Tarragona.

Room Tip: ours was onto the street and was fine when the window was closed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed here with Riviera Travel for 3 nights. Nice quiet room with soundproofing;good bathroom with large shower.Bed was comfortable and the bedroom & linen & towels were spotless.
Pretty good breakfast,although the spanish bacon,scrambled eggs and sausages were not to english taste!! --the fried eggs were very good,though! The Dining Room on the first floor has loads of natural light and there is a Bar & coffee area on the ground floor. The Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gourmandise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Hotel in the centre of Tarragona opposite a square which is a mini Hyde Park, London. If you are a light sleeper do not have a room in the front as the traffic will keep you awake or if not, wake you up at the crack of dawn. Binmen start collecting rubbish at 2am, road sweepers start at 6am, need I say more. This hotel has been refurbished so our room was comfortable but triple glazing should have been installed in the front of the building.

Supermarket opposite across the square for essentials.

Surprisingly this is meant to be a 4 star but the breakfasts were very basic. First time in many years, we had to get our own tea/coffee out of a machine. Lack of selection of tasty food. Would not return.

Room Tip: Away from the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cambridgetravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The hotel is large and modern, with fairly standard but comfortable rooms. Situated behind (or in front - depends how you look at it!) of the bus station, well situated for shops (an 'open-all-hours' supermarket the other side of the square on which it is situated is very convenient), some twenty minutes one way for the beach (but less for the old town of interesting shops and restaurants) and twenty minutes to the docks and some seafood restaurants along an adjacent street.

The hotel has a cafe/bar, which looked comfortable enough if you like hotel bars (which I don't - I prefer older, more atmospheric local drinking places and restaurants). Breakfast OK with a good buffet selection (but unusually no hard-bolied eggs), although the hot selection was less good and repetitive (rubbery scrambled egg, soft fatty bacon and small sausages - no other hot items in the three nights we stayed).

Other than breakfast we didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment, but about 10 minutes down La Rambla towards the old town, turn left, across the smaller 'old' Rambla you will find a large square with lots of restaurants and bars with a more local atmosphere.

All in all we were very satisfied and it met all our requirements for facilities and location. We would certainly use it again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malabarfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

What a very welcome surprise this hotel was. Sat nav took us right to the front door, which is always a plus and the hotel itself was very well situated for Tarragona. The room was massive and brand new. Bath in the ensuite, settee in the middle section, small desk with 1 seat but excellent value for money. Our room was in a corner, so whether we gained a little extra space, who knows but by looking into the other open rooms as we walked past, they all looked spacious. Definitely go here if staying at this location.
Tarragona itself is on 2 levels. There is quite a walk down to the beach and remember the gradient for the return.
The hotel has a little bar next to the foyer. Same prices as the local bars. Great.

Room Tip: Go for a corner suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I will start by balancing out what I consider to be a very disappointing experience with the fact that the young man at the desk who appeared to be new was very friendly.

It is up to others to make up their minds as to the following:

Due to a French airport staff strike we booked two rooms to be able to pick up my family travelling in from England by plane to Reus airport (diverted from Toulouse). We arrived, paid and went up to the rooms. After 10 minutes I saw a text informing us that that flight had too been cancelled. We did not touch anything in the rooms (bathroom, beds etc), did not use the wi-fi since it was not working, the hotel was very quiet with plenty of excess capacity (no chance of room shortage) and within 20 minutes we were back down at the desk, informing them that we had to get back to France a.s.a.p to help my partner with a 6 month old and 3 year old arrange alternative travel plans whilst stranded in Luton airport.

There was absolutely no understanding shown, the rooms remained fully paid for after 20 minutes of virtual non usage and the manager misinformed us that it would be down to the cancellation policy of LATE ROOMS meaning it was out of her hands (whereas the LATE ROOMS site says that they go by the individual policies and decisions of the various hotels).

I will be forwarding this to the hotel management and will be happy to retract this review if the situation changes.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#3 of 20 in Tarragona
584 reviews
1.1 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#5 of 20 in Tarragona
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#4 of 20 in Tarragona
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Urbis Centre
Hotel Urbis Centre
#15 of 20 in Tarragona
259 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Mas la Boella
Hotel Mas la Boella
#1 of 20 in Tarragona
206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#11 of 20 in Tarragona
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona

Address: Plaza Imperial Tarraco 5, 43005 Tarragona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tarragona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tarragona
#4 Family Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range: £55 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciutat De Tarragona
Ciutat De Hotel Tarragona
Hotel SB Ciutat De Tarragona Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing