We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Reviewed 13 October 2009

The hotel is not located in the heart of the city but Tarragona is too small to take it as a disadvantage.

The staff is quite friendly. The breakfast is very good. Rooms are rather spacious and well-equipped. On the roof you can find a small pool (actually too small to swim), a small gym, a sauna and sunbeds.

So I would recommend this hotel to all types of travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
There are newer reviews for Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2009

This hotel was the 9th of 11 on an 18 day trip, so I had a lot to compare it to. This hotel is nice - modern. The room was very nice. The front-desk staff was very good. Spoke English, which I really like. The room was very comfortable. I think I was most unhappy with the dinner.

I think the drawbacks occurred because of "details." the TV didn't work. the front desk girl came and fixed it (something wasn't plugged in correctly) right away, which was wonderful.
The internet worked sporadically - even when I replaced wi-fi with a cable, it didn't consistently work - maybe my computer, I don't know.
Because this hotel is not near a tourist area, there were no restaurants close by, so we ate at the hotel. The meal (including a bottle of wine) was 67 euro - we didn't get bread with our meal or the rice/potatoes we ordered. Not near the food for the price we paid, so I wasn't happy with that. Breakfast was good, but pricey. Nice bar.
If I'd known more about the city, I'd have stayed in a hotel closer to the tourist area. this is more of a business hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSBBozeman_MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Thought the car park location might be a useful topic.
From the roundabout facing the hotel - take the road to the left of the hotel and stay in the far right hand lane. The car park is a few hundred meters from the roundabout. There is a car park sign pointing, for no obvious reason, in completely the wrong direction - ignore it. Just past this sign turn right up the walkway - their is a dip in the pavement which has yellow markings. You are looking to be in front of a set of metal shutters. Press the buzzer on the post out of your left hand window. The metal shutter raises and you can head down into the car park (Euro 13.20 a day). Exit is the same ramp - the shutters open automatically on the way out.
On the hotel: one of the receptionists is friendly - the other wasn't so we ended up with two rooms on different floors. Check-in is 2pm - not 12pm. The pool is refreshing but weenie. The sauna and gym are similarly compact . There is a fast food type breakfast place near to the car park entrance which is cheaper than the hotel version.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Baggies_Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Great location in the centre of Tarragona right on the new ramblas. About a 10 minute stroll to a fantastic viewing platform over the sea and beach, along the new ramblas with shops, restaurants etc on both sides. We were there on a Sunday evening and whole families were out promenading. Lovely atmosphere. Hotel is about 15 minutes walk to the Old city, well worth exploring and on Sunday morning there was a "table top" sale right outside the front entrance of the Cathedral - great fun. Lively Square in the Old City with plenty of bars and restaurants and a really good atmosphere, lots of young people, but absolutely no hassel. Hotel is situated over the bus station so easy access to surrounding areas. We took the bus to Reus as we were flying out from there, left our baggage at the Hotel Gaudi, and explored the town. Really nice, good shops, lovely buildings - a real gem! The hotel pool is very small, on the roof, but actually rather refresing after a busy day sightseeing. Hotel overall very clean, good location, staff friendly. Other half had breakfast one morning (11 Euros) but you could have red wine, cava, good selection of meats, cheeses, pastries etc. He thought it was good value.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkscatty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2009

We stayed three nights, and found the experience more than acceptable. The room was reasonably large (space for two chairs), and quite nicely furnished with blonde wood furniture and a comfortable bed. In the absence of air conditioning (not needed at the time of year), the window needed to be left open, with consequent traffic noise, as the hotel is on a square at the heart of the city.

Breakfast was buffet style, with both hot and cold food of a reasonable standard.

Location was OK - a little removed (20 minutes walk) from eg the harbour with its fish restaurants, but with acceptable local alternatives..

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

Correct hotel in a central place, walking distance from city center, on top of bus station, near a park and a comercial mall. About 80 eur per double per night b&b for two. Quiet rooms and well equiped. Good and plentiful buffet breakfast.

A pity the Tarragona train station is in the wrong place, a long way down hill by the beach (and people has to cross the rails to get to the beach!), and there is not a fair and frequent bus service to get you from the station to the city uphill.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Torremaules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2007

booked this hotel last minute,as there was nothing else available.I was a bit worried that it would be a disaster. Arrived at the hotel,no problems, room was clean and fresh.hotel was modern and staff were friendly.stayed for 6 nights would return again. only draw back, the swimming pool was tiny. (Large bath) but dont let that put you off

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Gramach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#3 of 20 in Tarragona
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#5 of 20 in Tarragona
575 reviews
1.1 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#4 of 20 in Tarragona
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#11 of 20 in Tarragona
538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Urbis Centre
Hotel Urbis Centre
#16 of 20 in Tarragona
246 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tarraco Park
Hotel Tarraco Park
#10 of 20 in Tarragona
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona

Address: Plaza Imperial Tarraco 5, 43005 Tarragona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tarragona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tarragona
#4 Family Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range: £60 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciutat De Tarragona
Ciutat De Hotel Tarragona
Hotel SB Ciutat De Tarragona Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing