We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
158 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed 6 February 2007

Travelled here on a one-night business trip stay-over. When I arrived, it looked good enough. It was very easy to find in the car from the Barcelona road, as it's located right on a major roundabout at the edge of the city centre.

One of the roads leading off this roundabout is La Rambla, the main road with a central paved area, flanked by a long row of shops and restaurants. The old town area is just a couple of blocks off La Rambla, so it's hard to find fault with the hotel's location.

There is a fairly busy cafe attached to the hotel's lobby, and on the first floor there is a host of hair salons, nail studios and the like, but they're not really high-class places, and it gives you the feel of being in some kind of minor shopping mall.

The room was probably the best part of this stay. It was spacious and comfortable. But - it was not very clean, I'm afraid to say. Because it has a laminate floor, every splash and mark made by the last guest can be seen. What I found particularly revolting though was that one of the glasses by the minibar had clearly been used for beer, and been given just the briefest of rinses with water before being replaced for reuse. Yuck!

The gym is not only pointless, it's actually dangerous. First of all, you have to walk across the roof of this 8-story building to get there, and then when you reach it, there are 3 old pieces of broken equipment to greet you. I noticed what must have been a pool on the roof, but you could mistake it for a cat's water bowl. As it was January, it wasn't in use, but if you see "Pool" advertised in the property features and this is a main reason for your booking, you're going to be disappointed.

On the plus side, the reception staff were pleasant, and the breakfast was good.

However, I took a walk around Tarragona in the evening, and saw a clutch of infinitely more appealing hotels. If I were coming back this way, I'd go out of my way to try one of these instead.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank rybblevalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    362
    170
    45
    28
See reviews for
173
321
25
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Globe, Arizona
Level Contributor
129 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2006

I've stayed here three times in the past two years, a few days each time, the most recent being November 2006. I enjoy coming back again: the hotel is on par with many four star hotels in nearby Barcelona, although not with the nicest of those.

Location is central, but sub-optimal. Placa Imperial Tarraco is at the "wrong" end of Rambla Nova, the main artery of the city. It is still walking distance from the old city and the beach, but it can take some 20 minutes. The area is safe and there are plenty of bars and restaurants around. The main (intercity) bus station is in the same building, and a taxi stand is across the street.

Rooms are nice and reasonably spacious, with one queen or two twin beds (even single rooms), a small desk and a nice wardrobe. They are very clean and are made every day. Windows are soundproof so in spite of the central location, the rooms are not noisy. There's individually controlled heating and air conditioning. The bathron is spacious and amenities are nice. Huge towels and good water pressure.

Breakfast is a feast, with fresh fruit, cheese, meats, cereals, breads and pastries, eggs etc. Enough to keep me for the day.

Service is erratic: the reception people are usually very friendly, speak reasonable English but are sometimes uninformed. Wake up calls can be 10 minutes early or forgotten altogether.

All in all, a nice nondescript hotel, very consistent quality, no surprises.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — Try Lizzaran near the central market for great tapas
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2006

Good location for walking around the Roman remains....beach across the railway line !
We paid for extra room with late check out which is good if you have a late flight .
On our first night, we ate in the hotel restaurant and the food and service was great....highly recommended.

BUT the roof pool in this hotel is TINY.....about the size of a large Jacuzzi ! You wouldn't want to be in a huge party hoping for some pool fun / exercise ! Definately no room to swing the proverbial cat !!
Also, we were given an extra card key to leave in the room slot so the air conditioning would stay on while we were out........but, the air conditioning is firstly, ineffective (rooms were hot and uncomfortable at night ruining any sleep to recouperate from an exhausting sight seeing day) and secondly, while were out on the second day, the room maid kindly turned it off !!
Not sure why !!!!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcxz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2006

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights, paying about €80 per night B&B. It's a large modern hotel that's centrally located. Our room was very well equipped, spacious and spotless. Staff were friendly and helpful and spoke excellent english. The breakfast buffet was excellent. We would be very happy to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peteramolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2005

Good city centre location although car park hard to find (approx 12 euros per day). Rooms clean but compact. Breakfast good choice. On the minus side fairly noisy due to location (by roundabout). Very small roof top pool, more like jacuzzi. Very small gym. Bar expensive. The staff very helpful. Would use this hotel for an overnight stay only as lacking in facilities. Then again only cost me £35.00 per room.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank filbertsflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#1 of 20 in Tarragona
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#4 of 20 in Tarragona
545 reviews
1.1 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#6 of 20 in Tarragona
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#10 of 20 in Tarragona
507 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tarraco Park
Hotel Tarraco Park
#8 of 20 in Tarragona
302 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nuria
Nuria
#7 of 20 in Tarragona
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona

Property: Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
Address: Plaza Imperial Tarraco 5, 43005 Tarragona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tarragona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tarragona
#4 Family Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciutat De Tarragona
Ciutat De Hotel Tarragona
Hotel SB Ciutat De Tarragona Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing