We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We didn't expect that it will be so good!
Due to some change in our vacation plans we booked this hotel only 2 weeks before the arrival, so we haven't a big variety of choices. But all was fine - nice clean quiet room, wifi, free parking (it was a special bonus for booking on-line). Breakfast was simple, but with fresh pastry. Hotel staff is really friendly and helpfull.
Thank you for a nice stay in Tarragona!

Room Tip: 9th floor rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KoYany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotels, Manager at Hotel SB Express Tarragona, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you very much ! Your opinion is very valuos for us.
We try to improve every day, with opinions from our guests, goods and not so goods, but when we read opinions like yours, we are happy, because we are in a right way to serve people and get that they have a nice stay in our hotel.

the information you give is true, if you book our hotel through our web site, you get free parking.

thank very much!
we hope to see you come back to Tarragona.

Sandra Salas (hotel manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    267
    100
    24
    13
See reviews for
209
148
14
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I don't like ranting but I have to be honest. We Didn't enjoy our stay.

Lets start with the negatives:

- Extremely noisy Maids, want to lie into 11am? - No hope with the sound of scraping beds being moved about from next door and the rooms above, while beds are being changed. I also had to ask reception for towels twice as the simply just took the old towels and forgot to replace them. The also forgot to give us toilet roll on 2 occasions.

- The Food was absolutely disgusting. My brother and I ordered a pizza and what we got served up to us was 2 pre-frozen 9" Pizza that where hard and burnt, all for an extortionate price of €9.00. Considering we walked into Tarrogona after that and a three course meal in a lovely Italian restaurant nearly every evening for €10 - the pizza at best was worth €3.00 and if the hotel don't realise that its not OK to serve frozen everything, then you need new management.

-Wifi, although free the signal on the 1st floor was rubbish and unusable.

-Location is somewhat watered down when advertised. Its 20-25mins on a bus to salou and at least a 10-15 min walk to the bus station. Which is an extremely cheap & reliable method of Transport.

The only reason I wouldn't give this one star is because the price for staying 2weeks was not bad. But I definitely won't be staying again, it honestly is not a hotel for staying in for more than 1 night or a stopover - Not as a tourist.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honest_Paddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotels, Manager at Hotel SB Express Tarragona, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
We want to apologize for all the inconvenience during your stay in our hotel.
We take note about all the themes explained in your review, and now we are taking decisions for improving in all our procedures and services.
We want to thank you for taking time in writing about us. If you considere in a future to visit us again, you will be a better experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A very clean hotel with friendly staff. Basic Restaurant food but good value. Free WiFi but was very slow. We found the air conditioning a bit noisy (constant hummm) which I was surprised about for a modern hotel. Underground car parking available but at €11 per day. Street parking is free and the hotel is in a quiet, clean area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotels, Manager at Hotel SB Express Tarragona, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you very much for writing your opinion about our hotel.
We try to improve day per day, and all opinions help us to get it.
About parking, it is true, it costs 11 euros per day, but if you book through our web site it is free!
About air conditioning, we are going to check room per room, and repair it if it is necessary (noisy).

thank very much, and we hope to see you again if you come back to Tarragona.

Sandra Salas-hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

A nice Hotel and a great location. No food served on hollydays, and all resturants in town closed. Reception staff helpful and ordered me a Pizza. My stay was during Easteren. Breakfast was ok, but the coffee to be in Spain . Free WiFi with ok speed, need to get code in reception. Recommend it to anyone and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OleBSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotels, Manager at Hotel SB Express Tarragona, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Than you very much for your comments about your stay in our hotel.
We appreaciate time you spent writting it.
Our hotel has a Café-snacks where you can have breakfast, lunch or dinner. We open EVERYDAY (eastern hollidays too) from 7:00 till 23:00. You can have lunch from 14:00 till 16:00, and dinner from 20:00 till 22:00.
Eastern hollidays, almost is open, because lots of tourist visit our beautiful city and roman ruins, but on Monday, is almost closed, because it is typicall that everybody goes to the country to have meal with family and friends.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I stayed here for New Year 2012. Got a great price on Trivago. About 10 minutes walk from the bus station and not too far from the bus station. Helpful staff, clean and comfortable room. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horsforthhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotels, Manager at Hotel SB Express Tarragona, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thak you for having taken the time to write about your experience in our Hotel.
As you mention, bus station is very near, and, just in front of hotel, there is a bus stop where you can tacke a bus every 5/10 minuts to go anywhere in our city.

But, let me say, that it is a nice walk to the centre, and it takes only just a 20 minuts.

We hope to see you very soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on Saturday 2nd February. Very nice modern hotel which was a pleasure to stay at. The staff were friendly and helpful the hotel bright and airy and clean. The rooms were large and comfortable with all mod cons you would expect. We didn't actually eat in the cafe but it looked very nice and seemed popular. There was an eating area outside which would be nice in warmer weather. There was either secure parking available in the underground car park or you could park outside which we did and the car seemed perfectly safe there. The whole area seemed safe too and was only a short walking distance from the main shopping area. I too walked at night as a previous reviewer did and felt perfectly safe. We were travelling with 2 dogs and the hotel was fine with this.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne1741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotels, Manager at Hotel SB Express Tarragona, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments about our hotel. We appreciate your time in writing them, and we are very satisfy that you felt so good during your stay.
As you say, we have an eating area ouside, and shortly we will renovate it, so you could have a nice time there, having a coffee, vermut... enjoying our nice weather.
We have a closed parking that costs 11 euros per nignt, but if you find some place in the street, it is a secure zone (local police is around).
We are a "Love pets" hotel. So, you can stay here with your dogs, and if you want, we have amenities for them (dog coat, eating bowl, dog blanket...).

thank you again for your comments, and we hope to see you very soon again. It would be a pleasure. Let us know it, if you do it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This hotel is very modern, the rooms are large, bathrooms are large as well. It is a little far from the center or beach, but there is a bus stop very close and I walked everywhere. There is a restaurant in the lobby with tables outside to get a good cappuccino and pastry, cheaper than the cafes. They also have beers and wines. There is a car rental place right in the lobby. If you want to be right in the center of town, do not stay here, otherwise a great place. There is a big market and several small ones very close to get some snacks or wine. Staff was fine and spoke English, very efficient. Free Wifi in the rooms, fast enough so I could watch streaming movies in English. El Cortes Ingles was very close, department store shopping and a market downstairs. I felt very safe as I walked alone after dark as a single female. I was on the 9th floor and did not hear any noise from any other rooms, the window opened and I was able to get a lovely breeze. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: I did not hear any noise from any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
1.6 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#6 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#4 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sant Jordi
Hotel Sant Jordi
#3 of 20 in Tarragona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#8 of 20 in Tarragona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tarraco Park
Hotel Tarraco Park
#7 of 20 in Tarragona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SB Express Tarragona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB Express Tarragona

Property: Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Address: Plaza de les Corts Catalanes 4, 43005 Tarragona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel SB Express Tarragona 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Tarragona’s modern district, this hotel offers soundproofed rooms with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. The A-7 motorway is just 200 metres away, while the historic centre is 10 minutes away. The rooms have air conditioning, hairdryer, safe and telephone. The hotel has a cafe open all day, serving coffee, breakfast and light meals. It also has a terrace. Tarragona’s famous Roman remains are just 900 metres away. The El Corte Ingles department store is just 450 metres away. PortAventura Theme Park is about 8 km away, and can be reached easily by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel SB Express Tarragona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sb Express Hotel Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing