We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location, the staff are really helpful and excellent price.”
Review of AC Hotel Tarragona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AC Hotel Tarragona
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Tarragona
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good location, the staff are really helpful and excellent price.”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Excellent value for money. Only 2 minutes walk from the main bus station. So if you are coming from the Airport you can walk to the hotel. I think the bus is the best option. From bracelona terminal 1 go to the platform 7-9 . The ticket is€ 12.35 per person and it takes about 1 hour 15 minutes to get to the Tarragona main station. If you want to go to PortAventura this is a good hotel to stay at. It is only 15 minutes walk to the train station and 1 stop to the PortAventura stop. It takes about 10 minutes to get there and 10 minutes walk to the park. Just one thing if you get the train watch your bags and your pockets. When we were coming back from the park as the train was very busy , my husband got mugged so his phone and wallet gone and we had t spend few hours in the police station to report this. Other than this we had a really good time and we will definitely come back to Ac Tarragona . 29th July 2011

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hodakhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    295
    108
    23
    14
See reviews for
77
278
27
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pietra Ligure (Sv) Italy
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I was there on a business trip, hotel is not downtown, is 15 min walk from the heart of the city.

Room are the classical AC hotel style, all the same without soul. Small flat tv with poor choice of international tv channels, Minibar is free but almost empty (just one coke) wifi in the room is an extra 6euros 1h or 12euros 24hrs.

Wifi is free in the lobby, to use the pc in the lobby is also an extra.

The biggest disappointment was the breakfast buffet. Poor, i think one of the poorest i've seen in ages. No eggs, just one kind of brioches (just with chocolade), no one asking if i want a cappuccino or a tea.

Definitely not a 4star

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

This hotel was in a great location minutes from the sea. Rooms very comfortable with a fridge, bath, and balcony to oversee people on their evening stroll.
Staff were most helpful with great restaurant recommendations and tips. The foyer had a bijou bar and seating area where locals enjoyed a morning coffee or evening martini Rosso. An amazing heritage town with loads of charm. Would go back again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank classicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genova
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Been there one night in july 2011. Classic Marriot hotel, 15 minutes by walk from downtown and close to a nice park. Good service and clean rooms. Worth the price, but breakfast could be better.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nureldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
audubon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Our daughter is living in Tarragona for the summer and her initial hotel experience at another hotel was poor - dirty rooms, poor service. We found this hotel on Tripadvisor and noted the excellent reviews but still doubted the information given the price. We were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is very clean, modern and comfortable. Two bonuses - we arrived from the Barcelona airport via bus and we were pleased to find that the bus station is less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The other is the staff - so very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Back rooms are noiseless with best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csaAudubon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed in the AC Tarragona for two nights in June 2011. We had booked through LateRooms and got the hotel for around 50 GBP per night for our seventh floor double room despite this being close to "high" season.

The hotel is not ideally situated, particularly for visitors to the Old Town, but it serves as a useful hub to other parts of Tarragona. However, the addition of a free mini bar, with soft drinks and water that other hotels would charge 10 EUR or more for, and reasonable parking charges of circa 12 EUR meant this was a budget stay in a very well appointed hotel. The only minor disappointment was a very average contintental breakfast for 12 EUR per person - this was particularly drab with a poor selection of food.

As you would expect, bar and restaurant charges are high but there are plenty alternatives on the same street. Wi-fi is free in the lobby but internet access in the rooms has to be purchased in 1 or 24 hour packages.

A word of advice for anyone travelling by car - the hotel car park is one of the smallest I've ever had the misfortune to try and park in. If you are bringing anything larger than a mid-sized car then prepare for lots of manoeuvring around pillars and walls.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichH6109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We were travelling through Spain and had had a few bad experiences so when my wife saw that it only cost 60-80 euros (from memory) I thought I would be in trouble again. But, we was very pleasantly surprised. It presents as a business/function hotel so it is 10-25 minutes walk to the old town, but its clean, modern, comfortable bed, the staff are friendly and even the drinks in the mini bar are free, yes no catches they are free :-) Other than the walk, def no negatives.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
0.5 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#1 of 19 in Tarragona
552 reviews
1.2 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#5 of 19 in Tarragona
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#11 of 19 in Tarragona
530 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tarraco Park
Hotel Tarraco Park
#10 of 19 in Tarragona
323 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nuria
Nuria
#8 of 19 in Tarragona
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Tarragona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Tarragona

Property: AC Hotel Tarragona
Address: Avenida de Roma 8, 43005 Tarragona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Tarragona 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your AC Hotel Tarragona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing