We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel in excellent location”
Review of AC Hotel Tarragona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AC Hotel Tarragona
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb hotel in excellent location”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My Wife and I have just got back from this hotel and I must say that the hotel exceeded our expectations:

We asked for a room overlooking the park, this we were given with zero problems.
Room was modern and well layed out.
Price for the hotel was amazingly low for the quality.
Staff were very helpful
No dinner available in the hotel during August !!
Free bar in room (soft drinks)

The hotel is located three minutes from the main bus station and taxi rank.
It takes about 5-10 minutes to reach the Ramblas, and 10 more minutes to reach the seafront.

To get to the train station takes about 20 minutes (walking downhill) and 25 - 30 minutes on the return leg!.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room which backs onto the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rustigjongens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    284
    107
    23
    13
See reviews for
72
269
27
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We needed a hotel in Tarragona because we had an early flight home from Reus. So after some research I booked this hotel. We were happy until checkout.
When booking I had not noticed the car park charge. I went back afterwards to check how I missed it and yes it was there but not prominently. I was looking at two hotels and what swung it for me was that I thought parking was including. It was extra.
Then to make things worse, the car park is terrible. The spaces are tiny. When we arrived, the carpark was half full. When we went to leave it was full and I could not get my car out. Two other bigger cars had parked nearby and the size of the carpark was such that I could not manoeuvre out. One of the staff members must have realised we were taking too long and he came down to check. He looked at the car and the space and told us we could not get out but I persisted, and with the staff member watching one side and my partner watching the other, I managed to get out. Apparently, I had less than half an inch leeway on each side. The staff member advised that the car park is a problem and problems like this happen regularly. "Management know about it."
At one stage we actually considered abandoning the car and getting a taxi to the airport.
So to have to pay for that parking, being so stressed leaving the hotel and then arriving at the airport barely in time for the flight, was a joke.
I give an average review for the overall hotel but the carpark would get the lowest rating possible.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turaseoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stopped off here after reading the reviews; we were travelling through France and into southern Spain. The hotel is a short drive from the motorway, although a satnav is essential to locate it! Echo the other reviews - the car park is extremely small and you will need to be excellent at parking if you arrive after 5pm, when it fills up. Room was modern and functional - we looked out over the centre of the hotel so it was dark, but this could be because we were travelling with a baby. Although central, we couldn't find anywhere to eat within easy walking distance of the hotel and ended up with a bar snack as we couldn't wait for the restaurant to open (again, we had a baby with us!). Service was good though and the food was plentiful and cooked well. We didn't try breakfast after reading the other reviews - plenty of options close to the hotel itself.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lirac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Excellent value for money. Only 2 minutes walk from the main bus station. So if you are coming from the Airport you can walk to the hotel. I think the bus is the best option. From bracelona terminal 1 go to the platform 7-9 . The ticket is€ 12.35 per person and it takes about 1 hour 15 minutes to get to the Tarragona main station. If you want to go to PortAventura this is a good hotel to stay at. It is only 15 minutes walk to the train station and 1 stop to the PortAventura stop. It takes about 10 minutes to get there and 10 minutes walk to the park. Just one thing if you get the train watch your bags and your pockets. When we were coming back from the park as the train was very busy , my husband got mugged so his phone and wallet gone and we had t spend few hours in the police station to report this. Other than this we had a really good time and we will definitely come back to Ac Tarragona . 29th July 2011

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hodakhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietra Ligure (Sv) Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I was there on a business trip, hotel is not downtown, is 15 min walk from the heart of the city.

Room are the classical AC hotel style, all the same without soul. Small flat tv with poor choice of international tv channels, Minibar is free but almost empty (just one coke) wifi in the room is an extra 6euros 1h or 12euros 24hrs.

Wifi is free in the lobby, to use the pc in the lobby is also an extra.

The biggest disappointment was the breakfast buffet. Poor, i think one of the poorest i've seen in ages. No eggs, just one kind of brioches (just with chocolade), no one asking if i want a cappuccino or a tea.

Definitely not a 4star

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

This hotel was in a great location minutes from the sea. Rooms very comfortable with a fridge, bath, and balcony to oversee people on their evening stroll.
Staff were most helpful with great restaurant recommendations and tips. The foyer had a bijou bar and seating area where locals enjoyed a morning coffee or evening martini Rosso. An amazing heritage town with loads of charm. Would go back again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank classicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genova
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Been there one night in july 2011. Classic Marriot hotel, 15 minutes by walk from downtown and close to a nice park. Good service and clean rooms. Worth the price, but breakfast could be better.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nureldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
0.5 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#1 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.2 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#6 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#8 of 20 in Tarragona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Husa Imperial Tarraco
Husa Imperial Tarraco
#17 of 20 in Tarragona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sant Jordi
Hotel Sant Jordi
#3 of 20 in Tarragona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Tarragona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Tarragona

Property: AC Hotel Tarragona
Address: Avenida de Roma 8, 43005 Tarragona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Tarragona 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Tarragona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing